We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it is in the building that previously housed gas station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Carajo

El Carajo
2465 S.W. 17th Avenue, Miami, FL 33145
305.856.2424
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #110 of 3,576 restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Hopkinton, NH
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Yes, it is in the building that previously housed gas station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Excellent service and food. We had the chorizo, fried chickpeas and meat platter. The skirt steak was excellent.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    43
    26
    6
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lousiville, KY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in a BP Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and had lunch at El Carajo after visiting Vizcaya. First, the tapas were delicious. The place is very nice and the people were friendly and the service was great! Second, finding it was a little difficult. The GPS said we passed it. We returned and didn't see it. I called and the person who answered said we are in the BP. They are and they also have what looks like a great wine shop. Try it! You will like it. It may also be a good place to get gas.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“And They Call It A Gas Station?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What can I say but I even sent in an invitation to Guy Fieri at Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives to come and enjoy a great little off the wall restaurant that offers great food, great wine (excellent value and only $10 corkage fee) and an atmosphere like no other. If you want to go on a weekend better make reservations. I suggest a weekday lunch or saturday or sunday lunch. When you drive into this BP gas station you wouldn't believe the wine selection and the food. Very cozy and just a great get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. A must see when in Miami

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Spectacular wine selection and excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a hidden gem located in the back of a BP gas station convenience store. Huge and spectacular wine selection, very nice atmosphere and excellent tapas. One of the best Spanish restaurants in Miami. We went several times and every time is a pleasure! Very good quality of ingredients and real Spanish seasoning. Excellent service, friendly and professional.
It is a perfect place to go with friends and family but maybe not the best option for young kids or babies.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected and and amazing wine selection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

It seems almost a shame to take away from the experience of driving up to a BP gas station for a great meal of spanish tapas... most people enjoy it more when they live the experience for themselves.... The food is tasty, and the menu is delightful. The wine selection is nothing short of spectacular, with incredibly affordable prices. Enjoy the experience, and give the gas station a chance to delight your senses. You will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Carajo also viewed

 

Been to El Carajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Carajo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.