We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“And They Call It A Gas Station?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Carajo

El Carajo
2465 S.W. 17th Avenue, Miami, FL 33145
305.856.2424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 3,514 Restaurants in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Homestead, Florida
Level Contributor
114 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“And They Call It A Gas Station?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

What can I say but I even sent in an invitation to Guy Fieri at Diners, Drive-Ins and Dives to come and enjoy a great little off the wall restaurant that offers great food, great wine (excellent value and only $10 corkage fee) and an atmosphere like no other. If you want to go on a weekend better make reservations. I suggest a weekday lunch or saturday or sunday lunch. When you drive into this BP gas station you wouldn't believe the wine selection and the food. Very cozy and just a great get away from the hustle and bustle of the city. A must see when in Miami

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oscar R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Spectacular wine selection and excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a hidden gem located in the back of a BP gas station convenience store. Huge and spectacular wine selection, very nice atmosphere and excellent tapas. One of the best Spanish restaurants in Miami. We went several times and every time is a pleasure! Very good quality of ingredients and real Spanish seasoning. Excellent service, friendly and professional.
It is a perfect place to go with friends and family but maybe not the best option for young kids or babies.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mah10000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unexpected and and amazing wine selection!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

It seems almost a shame to take away from the experience of driving up to a BP gas station for a great meal of spanish tapas... most people enjoy it more when they live the experience for themselves.... The food is tasty, and the menu is delightful. The wine selection is nothing short of spectacular, with incredibly affordable prices. Enjoy the experience, and give the gas station a chance to delight your senses. You will not be disappointed.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Excellent !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I am happy that we didn't backed up when we saw that the restaurant is inside a BP gas station!
The atmosphere is great, the spanish theme decor and spanish music create a very nice place to eat and have fun with friends.
The menu is pretty extensive and you whant to try everything :)
They also have wines from all over the world at a reasonable price, we had an Argentinean malbec delicious.
Defenetly Im coming back with more friends and family.
Remember to make a recervation firts.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Corina0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“AMAZING hidden GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I almost didnt write this because well, I don't want to spoil its "quaint hidden style"
FOOD = fantastic!
Service= on point!
definitely a very intimate place to bring a foodie friend

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Princess370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Carajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing