We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“funny and unexpected behind a gasstation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Carajo

El Carajo
2465 S.W. 17th Avenue, Miami, FL 33145
305.856.2424
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 3,648 Restaurants in Miami
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“funny and unexpected behind a gasstation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

nice spanish tapas food in a beautiful atmosphere (even when inside a gasstation). servers a little stiff and too expensive

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    40
    8
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
miami
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice for Tapas and Wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Haven't been to El Carajo in a while, since last time they had changed chef and food was not up to previous standards. But still is a great place to go and enjoy great wines and incredible reasonable prices. You get what you want from the walls and pay a $10 corkage fee, and pair with cheeses and tapas and you'll have a great time.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food and service in a funny place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Loved the tapas and the mixed tabla (meat and fish). Good sangría. Very good service. Previous reservation is a must

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Tapas in a Gas Station? We're Not in Kansas Anymore.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Our family was starting a vacation and looking for a place to eat before we got on the road. I suddenly here was a restaurant in a BP Gas station nearby, so we headed over and went in. As soon as you walk into this BP, you know you are in for a different experince. There are no slim jims, hard boiled eggs in a jar or hot dogs constantly rotating on metal skewer to be found. Instead, you have desserts presented in immaculate glass cases and, instead of slushees or Big Gulps, you have wine. Lots and lots of wine. We entered the restaurant part in the back, decorated with over the top mural and I felt transported to a Bodega in Spain (or Italy), cozy and intimate. We got a table in the back for our family of five, and perused the menu, presented on rolled parchment sheets tied with twine. We sampled many tapas- tortilla espanola, fried calamari with aioli, shrimp with garlic, ceviche, croquettas and chirizo cooked in wine. Since we were driving, we didn't have wine, but apparently the prices are very reasonable and it seems they have a nice wine list, although I didn't check it out. I found all the dishes to be tasty and fresh. I liked the calamari- crispy, crunchy rings served with garlic mayo, although my husband thought it was a little over fried. The tortilla espanola was the standard, potatoes and onions in an omlette, but into a huge wedge. The youngest ordered the cevich-, bright, white fresh tasting fish, in the traditional lemon juice with thinly sliced red onion and cilantro atop and served in a pastry base. She pronounced this tapa as her favorite. The shrimp in garlic was good,served with sliced bread, but I found the chirizo in wine sauce a little bitter tasting. The middle child got croquettas, which she said were good. Although it was quite crowded at lunchtime, service was efficient and we ran into a friend who comes here often for lunch. I asked him what was good on the menu and he said "Everything". All the dishes were thoughtfully and nicely presented. Although my husband had a bit of sticker shock with the bill- $100 for lunch for five of us, we had ordered 8 tapas, plus sodas, so I didn't think it was that bad for a delightful meal that got us off to a good start for our vacation. Next time, I will try some wine and leave room for dessert. And the best part is you can fill up after you fill up!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best tapas restaurant ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

First: the service (javier) was not just perfect but amazing!! Second: food was exquisite. You should try the crab crepe and sardines! Drinks: sangria was 10 pts. Overall just perfect: plus the ingredient of being unside a gas station was a plus!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed El Carajo also viewed

 

Been to El Carajo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Carajo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.