We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very bad option” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kendall Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Kendall Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kendall Hotel and Suites
9100 North Kendall Drive, Miami, FL 33176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 130 hotels in Miami
Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very bad option”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel was a very bad option for staying. Very old, dirty, expensive. When we arrived the TV set did not worked, the safety box was closed and nobody could repair it until next day. Nobody answer at the front desk. Next day the tv was repaired, but it last only until night. We could not watch TV during our stay.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    31
    12
    23
See reviews for
28
29
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here over Christmas. If you are visiting friends/relatives in the Kendall area it's not a bad location. The prices are also pretty good. However, that's where it stops. The room we had was in desperate need of an update. The carpet was badly stained, the tub had large nicks in it, you couldn't open the mini bar or the safe. However, the size of the room was larger than most hotel rooms., The AC made a tapping noise throughout the night which kept me awake. You cannot park near your room so if you have any difficulty walking this would not be a great place to stay. There was no ice machine in our building - had to go to another one. I was told by a housekeeping staff member it was on the 2nd floor, got there & it wasn't working so had to go up to the 4th floor. Breakfast buffet was okay, but they keep the restaurant so cold that by the time you got the hot food to your table it had started to get cold. The staff at the front desk were pleasant and helpful whenever we dealt with them. However, we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

rooms are big and clean,
breakfast is average,
internet is available in the lobby only, or in the business center on the first floor.

if you are staying in miami for other purposes than relaxing at a hotel, it's good value.

we stayed there during thanksgiving and we had no problems at all.

Room Tip: I don't think there are better/worse rooms here, except that some may be closer to the main buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, General Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear guest; Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your review of our hotel. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We very much appreciate your comments and we can’t wait to welcome you back in the future. We are working now with the free WI-FI in every room.
Thank you again
Jannina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My wife and I had the misfortune to be accomodated here by American Airlines following a flight delay on 3rd November. I now understand why the hotel seemed completly devoid of guests and it was so easy for AA to book rooms at the drop of a hat!! Hotel is not well located and is devoid of any local aminities (apart from a hospital), rooms are dated and well worn (No WI-FI and TV's that are of the old fashioned non flat screen variety. Several times during the night we were unfortunate to be accomodated here, we were awoken several times by other guests attempting to enter our room, them also having been allocated our room by reception!! Breakfast was cold and overseen by the most miserable server I have ever encountered. Several guests actually missed breakfast as it was cleared away an hour early due to the hotel not being able to manage the clocks going back the night before.My main issue is that my credit card (which I presented to reception for ID purposes only) was subsequently charged $100.52 by the hotel on the day after I arrived back in the UK. This is despite the fact I confirmed on check out that I had no outstanding charges due. I have e mailed the hotel twice on this issue and have not even had the courtesy of an automated reply. (Thankfully my CC company is now persuing the issue). Overall a dreadful experience, to be avoided at all costs

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Georgia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Beware all of you who desire good hosptality management and service..
I'm sorry to say I did not find this at the Kenadall Hotel and Suites in Miami.
Before we arrived (late on Thanksgiving night 11/22/12) we called ahead to explain we would be checking in late on our scheduled day of arrivall. We were told by a person at the hotel that everthing was okay. We asked if we could have our room number, but were told not to worry they had a room.
Well, when we got there, between 11:00 and 12:00 that night, we were assigned to a non-smoking room with king bed for two adults as requested. We went to our room and found empty
cardboard boxers all over the floor. The blanketts on the bed were ruffled; someone had been on the bed, and by the way the towels in the bathroon were crumpled, someone had used them too.
We called the desk. A nice security guard came over an verified the condition of the room. In speaking to the person at the desk again, he said not to worry because he was going to assign
us to the "best room in the house". So we went to a two bed suite on the first floor (rm 110) with
the guard. However, we found light coming from a window and a do not disturb sign hung on the door handle. The guard knocked on the door; a female voice responded. The guard called the
desk. He related to us that he was told there was no record that the room was occupied.
We were referred to another 4th floor room. But, the person at the desk stated that this room was to be only for that nignt-we were to check out on the 27th.
The next morning we went to the desk and were given an option to stay in the room or go to another. We didn't want to move our luggage yet again, so we elected to stay. I then informed
the person behind the desk that the toilet ran continuously after flushing and that I had to remove
the cover of the tank to pull up on the float that shuts the valve and thus stops tha flow of water-there was no problem with the flap; it was not leaking. A plummer may have gone to the room,
but the problem was not fixed because it recurred the following nights. When we returned to
the room on the night of the 23rd, the TV remote was missing; we waited for a replacement.
On the night of the25th when we returned to the room, we could not get in; the keys lost the proper code. We had to go to the desk to get the keys re-coded. On the night of the 26th, when we got back to the room, we found it uncleaned. At 8:30 an on the 26th a cleaning person came
to clean, but we were not yet ready to to leave the room. We asked if they could come back later.
At 9:30 we went downstairs for breakfast. My wife put a do not disturb sign on the door because
she didn't want to find cleaning people there when we came bak up to brush our teeth. At 10:30
we came back up and removed the do not disturb sign. We left the room by 11:00 am..So between 11:00am and11:00pm on that 26th, no one could clean the room.
The worst part was when we brought complaint to the general manager Jennine. She immediately sought to explain and excuse everthing, except she was apologetic about the first night. She never called back when she said she would. In my last call to her she said she talked to the owner and they were not going to offer credit and basically didn't care if and to whom I would alert of this shabby service and hotel condition.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guess
Thank you for the time that you used for this review, I am very glad to explain publicly what I was already told you by phone. Our hotel regulations and mostly every hotel don’t give a room number or do a check in process by phone to any one for security reasons. By law we need to have a picture ID at the registration time to verify the identity of our guess, and I explained that because that was one of your phone call complains.
The night of Thanksgiving we were sold out, I apologized for the times that you were change the rooms, we were looking for the best option available.
In reference to the toilet issue, it was reported and immediately was fixed when staff was in the facility.
By the reports of 3 different housekeeping supervisors in different times daily during your stay in the hotel showed that you have the “DO NOT DISTURB SIGN” on your door that is why any hotel rule respects and will not disturb a guest in their private time.
We care very much about the satisfaction of our guest that is why our standards are very high but we can not complement free nights when the records of our procedures were done adequately.
I apologize in behalf of the hotel if you feel otherwise.
Your offer for the free upgrade still stands for your next visit if you reconsider at any time.
Thank you for your review.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I sometimes wonder how unreasonable travellers can be. We have stayed at this property a number of times now and find it good value for dollar. Other hotels in the area may be a little more modern but this property has the advantage of very large rooms and a large footprint which means you are not hemmed in by shops or other forms of concrete. The hotel has a feeling of spacious grounds with swimming pool, tennis courts and green spaces which other area hotels do not possess. Having said that, I see a couple areas of cost saving, the breakfast no longer has an omelette station and sausages have been removed from the buffet. However there is a good choice of fruit, cereals and rubbery scrambled egg/bacon/hashbrowns and pancakes. All in all, it still represents good value for money and I will stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, General Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
On behalf of the entire team, I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent visit at our Hotel ! We love your feedback! this is the only way we can become a better hotel! In anticipation of your return, we thank you for your patronage! Happy Holidays!
Jannina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Located next to Baptist Hospital, about one mile from Dadeland Mall (major shopping) and 2-3 miles from the University of Miami campus. About 12 miles to downtown.
We got s good deal via Hotels.com. $100, plus tax, vs the $120 quoted on the phone. It was the cheapest room, one king bed. The lobby/restaurant is separate from the two 4-story buildings where the rooms are. There is an open court with tropical plantings that each room doorway. faces. Very pleasant looking.
The room is very large. The king bed took up only about 40-45% of it, there was a two seater couch facing the TV, with an ottoman/coffee table the width of the sofa. There is a desk and a small round table with two chairs. The bathroom is townhouse Master Bedroom size, very generous. Loved the room.
Caveats: no wifi or refrigerator, although the Hotels.com printout indicated that there was wifi.. One of the two elevators didn't work. The ice machine was broken on the 2nd & 3rd floors. Couldn't get the TV to get out of the default pay TV screen.. After the second call, a security person showed up and explained that you had to point the remote directly at the box on the 0tp of the set, which was set high in an armoire to begin with. Lousy selection of channels. Only one movie channel -- HBO -- and no History, Learning, Discovery type channels. Lots of shopping channels.
The complimentary breakfast, which starts at 7 am, was impressively laid out. We arrived at 8:45 and just about everything was cold. xxcept for the eggs, which were warm, it seems that everything else had been there for almost two hours. It looked better than what it was, which was about the same as the average motel breakfast, except there was no waffle maker. Cold pancakes, instead.
They put a $50 daily charge on the credit card to cover incidentals. I had to call them 8 days later to get the refund.
Fix up these problems and this is a place you would always want to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, General Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We want to thank you for spending your valuable time in writing your recent experience at our Hotel - We know that you have a choice of hotels when you come into the area, and we love and cherish the opportunity to serve you every time! I will share your comments with my team in this week's managers meeting! Safe Travels and come back soon! Happy Holidays!

Jannina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kendall Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendall Hotel and Suites

Address: 9100 North Kendall Drive, Miami, FL 33176
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Baptist Hospital of Miami, 15 minutes from the Miami-Dade International Airport, 4 miles from the Convention Center and the University of Miami, and minutes to the Dadeland Mall, beaches, and downtown Miami is the Kendall Hotel and Suites. Guests will enjoy spacious rooms and suites, swimming in the outdoor pool, on site tennis courts, exercise facilities, FREE continental breakfast, free wireless internet access, and excellent business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Kendall Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendall Hotel Miami
Radisson Miami
Miami Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendall Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.