We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Hospitality Management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kendall Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kendall Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Kendall Hotel and Suites
9100 North Kendall Drive, Miami, FL 33176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Fayetteville, Georgia
1 review
“Poor Hospitality Management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Beware all of you who desire good hosptality management and service..
I'm sorry to say I did not find this at the Kenadall Hotel and Suites in Miami.
Before we arrived (late on Thanksgiving night 11/22/12) we called ahead to explain we would be checking in late on our scheduled day of arrivall. We were told by a person at the hotel that everthing was okay. We asked if we could have our room number, but were told not to worry they had a room.
Well, when we got there, between 11:00 and 12:00 that night, we were assigned to a non-smoking room with king bed for two adults as requested. We went to our room and found empty
cardboard boxers all over the floor. The blanketts on the bed were ruffled; someone had been on the bed, and by the way the towels in the bathroon were crumpled, someone had used them too.
We called the desk. A nice security guard came over an verified the condition of the room. In speaking to the person at the desk again, he said not to worry because he was going to assign
us to the "best room in the house". So we went to a two bed suite on the first floor (rm 110) with
the guard. However, we found light coming from a window and a do not disturb sign hung on the door handle. The guard knocked on the door; a female voice responded. The guard called the
desk. He related to us that he was told there was no record that the room was occupied.
We were referred to another 4th floor room. But, the person at the desk stated that this room was to be only for that nignt-we were to check out on the 27th.
The next morning we went to the desk and were given an option to stay in the room or go to another. We didn't want to move our luggage yet again, so we elected to stay. I then informed
the person behind the desk that the toilet ran continuously after flushing and that I had to remove
the cover of the tank to pull up on the float that shuts the valve and thus stops tha flow of water-there was no problem with the flap; it was not leaking. A plummer may have gone to the room,
but the problem was not fixed because it recurred the following nights. When we returned to
the room on the night of the 23rd, the TV remote was missing; we waited for a replacement.
On the night of the25th when we returned to the room, we could not get in; the keys lost the proper code. We had to go to the desk to get the keys re-coded. On the night of the 26th, when we got back to the room, we found it uncleaned. At 8:30 an on the 26th a cleaning person came
to clean, but we were not yet ready to to leave the room. We asked if they could come back later.
At 9:30 we went downstairs for breakfast. My wife put a do not disturb sign on the door because
she didn't want to find cleaning people there when we came bak up to brush our teeth. At 10:30
we came back up and removed the do not disturb sign. We left the room by 11:00 am..So between 11:00am and11:00pm on that 26th, no one could clean the room.
The worst part was when we brought complaint to the general manager Jennine. She immediately sought to explain and excuse everthing, except she was apologetic about the first night. She never called back when she said she would. In my last call to her she said she talked to the owner and they were not going to offer credit and basically didn't care if and to whom I would alert of this shabby service and hotel condition.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Guess
Thank you for the time that you used for this review, I am very glad to explain publicly what I was already told you by phone. Our hotel regulations and mostly every hotel don’t give a room number or do a check in process by phone to any one for security reasons. By law we need to have a picture ID at the registration time to verify the identity of our guess, and I explained that because that was one of your phone call complains.
The night of Thanksgiving we were sold out, I apologized for the times that you were change the rooms, we were looking for the best option available.
In reference to the toilet issue, it was reported and immediately was fixed when staff was in the facility.
By the reports of 3 different housekeeping supervisors in different times daily during your stay in the hotel showed that you have the “DO NOT DISTURB SIGN” on your door that is why any hotel rule respects and will not disturb a guest in their private time.
We care very much about the satisfaction of our guest that is why our standards are very high but we can not complement free nights when the records of our procedures were done adequately.
I apologize in behalf of the hotel if you feel otherwise.
Your offer for the free upgrade still stands for your next visit if you reconsider at any time.
Thank you for your review.
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    29
    10
    23
See reviews for
28
29
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barbados
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I sometimes wonder how unreasonable travellers can be. We have stayed at this property a number of times now and find it good value for dollar. Other hotels in the area may be a little more modern but this property has the advantage of very large rooms and a large footprint which means you are not hemmed in by shops or other forms of concrete. The hotel has a feeling of spacious grounds with swimming pool, tennis courts and green spaces which other area hotels do not possess. Having said that, I see a couple areas of cost saving, the breakfast no longer has an omelette station and sausages have been removed from the buffet. However there is a good choice of fruit, cereals and rubbery scrambled egg/bacon/hashbrowns and pancakes. All in all, it still represents good value for money and I will stay there again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, General Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
On behalf of the entire team, I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent visit at our Hotel ! We love your feedback! this is the only way we can become a better hotel! In anticipation of your return, we thank you for your patronage! Happy Holidays!
Jannina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Located next to Baptist Hospital, about one mile from Dadeland Mall (major shopping) and 2-3 miles from the University of Miami campus. About 12 miles to downtown.
We got s good deal via Hotels.com. $100, plus tax, vs the $120 quoted on the phone. It was the cheapest room, one king bed. The lobby/restaurant is separate from the two 4-story buildings where the rooms are. There is an open court with tropical plantings that each room doorway. faces. Very pleasant looking.
The room is very large. The king bed took up only about 40-45% of it, there was a two seater couch facing the TV, with an ottoman/coffee table the width of the sofa. There is a desk and a small round table with two chairs. The bathroom is townhouse Master Bedroom size, very generous. Loved the room.
Caveats: no wifi or refrigerator, although the Hotels.com printout indicated that there was wifi.. One of the two elevators didn't work. The ice machine was broken on the 2nd & 3rd floors. Couldn't get the TV to get out of the default pay TV screen.. After the second call, a security person showed up and explained that you had to point the remote directly at the box on the 0tp of the set, which was set high in an armoire to begin with. Lousy selection of channels. Only one movie channel -- HBO -- and no History, Learning, Discovery type channels. Lots of shopping channels.
The complimentary breakfast, which starts at 7 am, was impressively laid out. We arrived at 8:45 and just about everything was cold. xxcept for the eggs, which were warm, it seems that everything else had been there for almost two hours. It looked better than what it was, which was about the same as the average motel breakfast, except there was no waffle maker. Cold pancakes, instead.
They put a $50 daily charge on the credit card to cover incidentals. I had to call them 8 days later to get the refund.
Fix up these problems and this is a place you would always want to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, General Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We want to thank you for spending your valuable time in writing your recent experience at our Hotel - We know that you have a choice of hotels when you come into the area, and we love and cherish the opportunity to serve you every time! I will share your comments with my team in this week's managers meeting! Safe Travels and come back soon! Happy Holidays!

Jannina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Not good option to stay!!!

It look like a hospital from the 60', NO INTERNET service. The rooms are almost 80 meters from the Lobby.

Not recommended at all!!!

The only reason that you should stay is if you have a relative in Baptist Hospital and wand to be very near.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, General Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Your effort and time in sharing your comments surrounding your experiences at our Hotel is most appreciated and something we take very seriously. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your last visit in our hotel.
Happy Holidays!

Jannina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I liked the room here. The bed was comfortable and room was spacious. This hotel is right next to baptist hospital and sits on 88 th st which you can find plenty of restaurants and shopping. But the hotel itself has flaws- no wifi , no vending machines, elevators were not in the best shape and no ventilation fans in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, General Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of the WI-FI, we are changing it now with a better quality. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm hospitality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area, do not hesitate to give us another opportunity, you will be glad you did! Happy Holidays!
Jannina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I'm happy you love your pets, but the dander they release is toxic to me.

On a recent trip to Miami, the need for a hotel room became necessary as pets were added to all Family households. Because both my spouse and I suffer from Pet Allergies, for the first time ever, had no where to stay in Miami.

With a search on both my TripAdvisor and Hotels.com apps, we settled on the Kendall Hotel and Suites for both cost and central location.

Upon arrival we were slightly confused by the layout of the premises and the name. There was an additional sign - "Extended Stay" that was not a part of any other name. There were two buildings visible upon entrance into the parking area. We chose correctly were checked in and told of even a third building. There is a NO PET POLICY at the Hotel - Yayyy.

The rooms are separated from the Front Desk and main restaurant. The residential buildings are named after birds, Egret and Heron. We were checked into Egret.
There were two elevators but only one was in service for the totality of our stay. The room was large and well laid out with a king sized bed with bench, love seat, table with chairs and desk with chair. There was also a large balcony. For an Extended Stay I was surprised by lack of Fridge and Microwave. Fine for us though. There was a buffet breakfast daily, same selection everyday but good. Eggs, Potato, pancake, bacon, sausage, fruit, pastry, bread, bagel, juice, tea and coffee.

We ended up changing rooms to double beds on our third day, because of a personal issue (not a hotel problem) The Front desk was really helpful and changed rooms without a fee or explanation. That room was even bigger.

Yes, the hotel is a bit out dated but it was clean and very well kept by the staff who cleaned the rooms very quickly and not at all intrusive.
The pool was nice and the grounds are well kept.

I would stay there again, especially if the price stay at $85 per night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor of Egret was nice, and quiet. Right next to the very large Baptist Hospital...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, General Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
On behalf of the entire team, I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent visit at our Hotel ! We love your feedback! this is the only way we can become a better hotel! In anticipation of your return, we thank you for your patronage! Happy Holidays!

Jannina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had very negative experience in this supposedly good hotel. First, a copy of our room key was given to other guests! Second, the in-room safe was locked; it took over an hour for technicians to open and operate it for us. Third, The hotel restaurant is a ripoff - you should double the menu prices to find out what you gonna pay. Fourth, the aircodition was very noisy. We asked to talk to a manager on duty but this was impossible for some excuses.

To sum up - very disappoing. We feel we had ebbn cheathed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kendall Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendall Hotel and Suites

Address: 9100 North Kendall Drive, Miami, FL 33176
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Baptist Hospital of Miami, 15 minutes from the Miami-Dade International Airport, 4 miles from the Convention Center and the University of Miami, and minutes to the Dadeland Mall, beaches, and downtown Miami is the Kendall Hotel and Suites. Guests will enjoy spacious rooms and suites, swimming in the outdoor pool, on site tennis courts, exercise facilities, FREE continental breakfast, free wireless internet access, and excellent business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kendall Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendall Hotel Miami
Radisson Miami
Miami Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendall Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.