We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Room Means a Lot, but it Isn't Everything.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kendall Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Kendall Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kendall Hotel and Suites
9100 North Kendall Drive, Miami, FL 33176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 130 hotels in Miami
Falls Church, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Great Room Means a Lot, but it Isn't Everything.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Located next to Baptist Hospital, about one mile from Dadeland Mall (major shopping) and 2-3 miles from the University of Miami campus. About 12 miles to downtown.
We got s good deal via Hotels.com. $100, plus tax, vs the $120 quoted on the phone. It was the cheapest room, one king bed. The lobby/restaurant is separate from the two 4-story buildings where the rooms are. There is an open court with tropical plantings that each room doorway. faces. Very pleasant looking.
The room is very large. The king bed took up only about 40-45% of it, there was a two seater couch facing the TV, with an ottoman/coffee table the width of the sofa. There is a desk and a small round table with two chairs. The bathroom is townhouse Master Bedroom size, very generous. Loved the room.
Caveats: no wifi or refrigerator, although the Hotels.com printout indicated that there was wifi.. One of the two elevators didn't work. The ice machine was broken on the 2nd & 3rd floors. Couldn't get the TV to get out of the default pay TV screen.. After the second call, a security person showed up and explained that you had to point the remote directly at the box on the 0tp of the set, which was set high in an armoire to begin with. Lousy selection of channels. Only one movie channel -- HBO -- and no History, Learning, Discovery type channels. Lots of shopping channels.
The complimentary breakfast, which starts at 7 am, was impressively laid out. We arrived at 8:45 and just about everything was cold. xxcept for the eggs, which were warm, it seems that everything else had been there for almost two hours. It looked better than what it was, which was about the same as the average motel breakfast, except there was no waffle maker. Cold pancakes, instead.
They put a $50 daily charge on the credit card to cover incidentals. I had to call them 8 days later to get the refund.
Fix up these problems and this is a place you would always want to stay in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, General Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
We want to thank you for spending your valuable time in writing your recent experience at our Hotel - We know that you have a choice of hotels when you come into the area, and we love and cherish the opportunity to serve you every time! I will share your comments with my team in this week's managers meeting! Safe Travels and come back soon! Happy Holidays!

Jannina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    19
    31
    12
    23
See reviews for
28
29
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Not good option to stay!!!

It look like a hospital from the 60', NO INTERNET service. The rooms are almost 80 meters from the Lobby.

Not recommended at all!!!

The only reason that you should stay is if you have a relative in Baptist Hospital and wand to be very near.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, General Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Your effort and time in sharing your comments surrounding your experiences at our Hotel is most appreciated and something we take very seriously. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your last visit in our hotel.
Happy Holidays!

Jannina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

I liked the room here. The bed was comfortable and room was spacious. This hotel is right next to baptist hospital and sits on 88 th st which you can find plenty of restaurants and shopping. But the hotel itself has flaws- no wifi , no vending machines, elevators were not in the best shape and no ventilation fans in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, General Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback, we are sorry for the condition of the WI-FI, we are changing it now with a better quality. We hope we can have another chance to show you what our warm hospitality is all about here at our hotel, if your travels bring you back to the area, do not hesitate to give us another opportunity, you will be glad you did! Happy Holidays!
Jannina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I'm happy you love your pets, but the dander they release is toxic to me.

On a recent trip to Miami, the need for a hotel room became necessary as pets were added to all Family households. Because both my spouse and I suffer from Pet Allergies, for the first time ever, had no where to stay in Miami.

With a search on both my TripAdvisor and Hotels.com apps, we settled on the Kendall Hotel and Suites for both cost and central location.

Upon arrival we were slightly confused by the layout of the premises and the name. There was an additional sign - "Extended Stay" that was not a part of any other name. There were two buildings visible upon entrance into the parking area. We chose correctly were checked in and told of even a third building. There is a NO PET POLICY at the Hotel - Yayyy.

The rooms are separated from the Front Desk and main restaurant. The residential buildings are named after birds, Egret and Heron. We were checked into Egret.
There were two elevators but only one was in service for the totality of our stay. The room was large and well laid out with a king sized bed with bench, love seat, table with chairs and desk with chair. There was also a large balcony. For an Extended Stay I was surprised by lack of Fridge and Microwave. Fine for us though. There was a buffet breakfast daily, same selection everyday but good. Eggs, Potato, pancake, bacon, sausage, fruit, pastry, bread, bagel, juice, tea and coffee.

We ended up changing rooms to double beds on our third day, because of a personal issue (not a hotel problem) The Front desk was really helpful and changed rooms without a fee or explanation. That room was even bigger.

Yes, the hotel is a bit out dated but it was clean and very well kept by the staff who cleaned the rooms very quickly and not at all intrusive.
The pool was nice and the grounds are well kept.

I would stay there again, especially if the price stay at $85 per night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor of Egret was nice, and quiet. Right next to the very large Baptist Hospital...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jannina L, General Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
On behalf of the entire team, I want to thank you for taking the time to write this review about your recent visit at our Hotel ! We love your feedback! this is the only way we can become a better hotel! In anticipation of your return, we thank you for your patronage! Happy Holidays!

Jannina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had very negative experience in this supposedly good hotel. First, a copy of our room key was given to other guests! Second, the in-room safe was locked; it took over an hour for technicians to open and operate it for us. Third, The hotel restaurant is a ripoff - you should double the menu prices to find out what you gonna pay. Fourth, the aircodition was very noisy. We asked to talk to a manager on duty but this was impossible for some excuses.

To sum up - very disappoing. We feel we had ebbn cheathed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vero Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

This property, I am told, used to be a Radison, and I am sure that when it was, it was maintained, but no longer. The rooms, although large, were well worn and need upgrades. Old tv's and cracked lamp shades outweigh our clean and large room. The motel just seems old and worn, but the room was clean and comfortable. My rating should really show two and a half stars.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

This place is in dire need of updating.
The condition of the room would be shabby. Stains and burns in the rugs and furniture in run down condition.
Old TV's no wifi.
First "suite" we had.....one shower and one TV that did not work. They could not fix it and we had to move.
The second room stunk of tobacco...they sprayed it... still was awful. We would have left but we were there to visit very ill family member staying at the adjacent hospital.
We were there for a week and barely in the room.
After much complaining we received $100 credit toward our bill for the week.
The only plus was the free breakfast served in a lovely room and quite nice.
I had to return to the area a week later and stayed at the Marriot Dadeland which was a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: My tip is to check with TripAdvisor... I have found some great hotels and have been steered away fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kendall Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendall Hotel and Suites

Address: 9100 North Kendall Drive, Miami, FL 33176
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Baptist Hospital of Miami, 15 minutes from the Miami-Dade International Airport, 4 miles from the Convention Center and the University of Miami, and minutes to the Dadeland Mall, beaches, and downtown Miami is the Kendall Hotel and Suites. Guests will enjoy spacious rooms and suites, swimming in the outdoor pool, on site tennis courts, exercise facilities, FREE continental breakfast, free wireless internet access, and excellent business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Kendall Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendall Hotel Miami
Radisson Miami
Miami Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendall Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.