We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really like this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kendall Hotel and Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kendall Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Kendall Hotel and Suites
9100 North Kendall Drive, Miami, FL 33176   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“I really like this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

I have had mixed results with motels in Florida over the years. This was a good choice. The facility is older, but it is well maintained. The room was great. It was very large. It was "L shaped" with a small dining table a sofa and a nice king sized bed.

The bathroom was nice sized also. And even more important, it was clean. Hot water? There was a hot water heater in the bathroom closet. Yep, the bathroom had a closet. There was plenty of hot water.

The grounds were nice and maintained well.

One night we were bushed and we wanted to get a drink without starting the car. We went to the bar on the property. It was a very nice facility, and the service was great, and quiet. The next night we debated going out for supper. We ate at the motel and it was very good.

The tennis court and pool were nice and right next to the restaurant.

The neighborhood was great! The motel is part of a campus for a hospital. Lots of folks walking and jogging around the ponds in front of the hospital. Shopping is right down the road. When were walking around the property we ran into the security guard every time. The adjoining neighborhood is made up of nice homes. We felt safe. Keep in mind that this facility is not next to the beach.

If you look hard, you can find some signs of aging but not in your room or the restaurant.

It's a nice place with nice people working there. I told the manager when I was checking out, "Try as I may, I couldn't find anything to complain about."

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallhotel, Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for drawing an entire picture of our property. I remember telling me that you couldn't find anything wrong, which makes us even prouder that we do our job right. Please let me know when you find something wrong. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    16
    29
    10
    23
See reviews for
28
29
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE WITH KIDS. This hotel was not up to par for it's price point. We were able to deal with lack of amenities such as no towels at pool, hair in bathroom and kitchen, couch that look liked someone threw up on it, no drink machines or place in lobyy to buy anything to drink and broken AC. But most upsetting was our 12 year son flipping through the TV looking for cartoons and stumbling upon gay porn. He immediately changed it but that 15 seconds cannot be returned. It was most disturbing to him and myself. When I inquired at the front desk about parental controls they said there was nothing they could do about it.

This exposure of a child to elicit materials is most upsetting. If the hotel cannot properly monitor these kinds of channels then don't have them. I wish I could turn back time and get mine and my son's weekend back.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallhotel, Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear guest, I thought we haved clarified this matter on the property whith your husband and through the emails we have exchanged, but I guess I was wrong.
First, I want to let everybody know that this review is because I did not agree to offer a free night as the husband claimed at the check out. The reasons that made me decide that were as follow:
- We have towels at the swimming pool 24/7. In case we run out of them, just notify the front desk and in max 5 min we will restock the towels. We have minibars in each room from where you can have beverages. Yes, we have upgraded to minibars instead of vending machines, each room has a minibar that can be used. Also, we have a bar and a restaurant on our property.

- Regarding A/C - we have responded right away and gave you a different room. The room change was made at 5:50pm (not in the middle of the night) - and offered compensation for the inconvenience (which you forgot to mention in your review).
- Regarding your son’s experience, your husband mentioned channel 47, our channel list ends at 41. I checked all the movies (on demand) that have been ordered from that room from April 1st to April 10th and there were no movies ordered whatsoever. All the channels we provide have appropriate content, there are regular TV channels provided by Direct TV. Also, we provide the "Parent Control" option, so you can block whatever channels you would like. I have my doubts that FOX, NBC, ESPN, TNT, CNN, MTV GOLF, etc will have porn movies on.
- I apologized for the hair in the bathroom, at the right time, I sent my housekeeper and took care of it.
All these from above made us conclude that a free night is a little too much and yes, I took my chances and as you promised you posted this review, but I strongly believe that an educated traveler will understand better the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

The hotel staff wasn't the easiest to understand and they had trouble understanding us sometimes, but the rooms were huge and perfectly clean, the beds were amazingly comfortable, the amenities were great except the hot tub was 'broken' which is typical of hotels/apartments in Miami. Pretty garden thing in between the buildings, could use some chairs down there, but it's really nice, air blows through the buildings and makes it really comfortable and relaxing.

Looks outside are deceiving, definitely stay here!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallhotel, Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and I hope you will be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

My girlfriend and I loved our 2-night stay at this Kendall property. One of the things I enjoyed most about it was the intimate feel. Even though there were a few kids on the premises -- the hotel, I noticed, is already offering summer camp activities -- the atmosphere remained quiet and relaxing throughout our entire stay. Sometimes it felt as if we had the entire property to ourselves. We enjoyed sunbathing poolside; however, when it came time to go for a dip in the pool, we nearly froze our buns off! Granted, it was fairly breezy outside, but I'm sure the hotel can do a better job of regulating the temperature of the water. I enjoyed the fact that the pool area was nearly empty -- only 2-3 people were there with us on both days.

The room was, for the most part, clean and comfortable. I noticed a curtain stain upon arrival, but no biggie. Also, it would have been nice to have a view of the pool from the balcony, but instead we had to settle for that of the parking lot. The bathroom was huge, which is always a plus.

We also raved about the bar/restaurant, which was modern in appearance and had a cozy, relaxed feel to it. We paid the bed and breakfast rate and wound up feeling glad we did -- it includes everything from delicious bacon and sausage to bagels to scrambled eggs and cereals. The restaurant also serves delicious -- and moderately priced -- food for dinner. The menu is somewhat limited but that's to be expected when you're at a small hotel. We ate there the first night and just had to go back the next day. I recommend the Churrasco steak and American burger! And I can't say enough about the service; the staff was very polite all throughout.

The hotel is near a host of shops and restaurants. I'd definitely recommend Kendall Hotel and Suites -- obviously not for a romantic/honeymoon getaway, but it is definitely worth a shot if you're interested in a short and relaxing stay in Miami.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallhotel, Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 15, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and for the time spent to share your experience at Kendall Hotel and Suites with us. I hope you will visit us again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

Once upon a time, you can tell this was a nice hotel. Not so nice any more. I would like to be fair in this review, but the place just looks like a worn out former chain property that was sold to a private buyer. It appears to cater to "extended stay" folks in need of a dry room for a low price. Lots of repair trucks, service vehicles etc. tucked away in the back, with an empty parking lot up front. All my wife had to see was the pick up truck parked half on the sidewalk and hanging over the curb (like a drunk had badly parked), the huge stick-on label affixed to the front of the TV that reads "equipped with GPS anti-theft device" and a few of our fellow "guests" and we realized we would be sleeping with our eyes open tonight. We checked out. Wish the experience could have been more positive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallhotel, Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear guest, with all the respect but your review has nothing to do with what we offer (service, rooms, restaurant, staff, etc). Your only complaint (and is not even yours) is about the pick up truck that was parked half way. Let me ask you this: Did that pick up truck bothered your sleep, because it was " parked half on the sidewalk"?. I don`t know why Tripadvisor posted this review because is not relevant. Nothing about the quality of the room, the service, the staff, the value paid. I appreaciate you took 5 min from your valuable time to let us know how your wife felt about the pick up truck.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sodus Point, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I was a little taken aback when the first thing I noticed when I walked in the room was a table (by the door) that had some sort of hole in it which had been globbily patched with plastic wood, but once I got past that, I found my room to be clean and comfortable.

This is a metaphor for the whole place, in that there are little minor but noticeable frays here and there around the edges of the physical plant, but no big deal, just minor foibles. Overall, and especially for the money, it's a nice, neat, clean, excellent-value place to stay.

It's also a little different that the usual cookie-cutter hotel. This hotel consists of a number of free-standing buildings with open atriums, so it has kind of a "campus" feel. Don't expect a view, but the grounds are nice, with jogging paths and nicely landscaped green spaces nearby, because this facility is actually located in and at the edge of the Baptist Hospital complex. This location is convenient to 826, the Turnpike, and U.S. 1, and a good place from which to "pop" into Miami (depending on the time of day as to whether Miami traffic will allow "popping"), amble over to nearby Dadeland or South Miami, or access the deeper Southwest suburbs and sites, such as the Zoo, the Rail Museum, the Redlands, Everglades, & etc.

The staff was courteous and helpful, the maid service was diligent and effective, and the pool, bar, and lobby were very nice. This is definitely NOT a beach hotel. It's not a glitzy hotel. It's not the place to indulge your lover or new bride in a romantic getaway, but if you need a clean, decent place to bivouac while visiting the Kendall area, this is a darn good place. I'll stay there again.

One ODD note: This facility offers ONLY WIRED internet access IN THE ROOM(s). They have wireLESS internet access ONLY in the lobby / bar. SO, if you"re bringing a laptop, bring an (RJ-45) ethernet cable. If you want to use it in bed or on the couch, bring a LONG cable, and if you want to use your ipad or wireless-only device, bring your own wireless access point (or plan on spending a lot of time in the lobby / bar).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallhotel, Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I had to come to Miami on business and my travel agent picked the Kendall Hotel and Suites for me as a place to stay. When I got there, I was sure I had the wrong place, because for the price I paid per night, the rooms were SPECTACULAR! When I asked for assistance with finding good places to eat, the staff had so many good suggestions. I would stay here again IN A HEARTBEAT!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendallhotel, Manager at Kendall Hotel and Suites, responded to this review, April 7, 2011
Dear guest, it is a pleasure to hear that your stay was "SPECTACULAR". Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kendall Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendall Hotel and Suites

Address: 9100 North Kendall Drive, Miami, FL 33176
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Baptist Hospital of Miami, 15 minutes from the Miami-Dade International Airport, 4 miles from the Convention Center and the University of Miami, and minutes to the Dadeland Mall, beaches, and downtown Miami is the Kendall Hotel and Suites. Guests will enjoy spacious rooms and suites, swimming in the outdoor pool, on site tennis courts, exercise facilities, FREE continental breakfast, free wireless internet access, and excellent business services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Kendall Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendall Hotel Miami
Radisson Miami
Miami Radisson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kendall Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.