We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go here..!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Midtown Inn Miami

Save Saved
You added Midtown Inn Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Midtown Inn Miami
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3400 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL 33137   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 130 hotels in Miami
Auburn, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't go here..!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Alright, so last Saturday, November 9th 2013, my Mom and I checked in to this hotel. We were only staying for one night, because the next day we were headed to the port of Miami to get on a cruise-ship. I had been reading the reviews for this hotel prior to our trip, and it didn't look very good. But I thought 'Oh well maybe they were just pessimistic and maybe it isn't too bad.' But the reviews were right. My mom and I got our key, and one of them didn't even work. Once we got inside the room, I could just tell it was not clean nor safe. The shower head had mold, the corners of the walls had mildue, it smelt like moth-balls, and the shower had hair in it. Well, we were very tired from our flight, so we decided to get some rest; my mom woke up and she had a bug on her, I looked at it and I knew it was a bedbug, I looked up what they looked like, and sure enough, it was a bedbug. Enough was enough and we went to the front desk, and they gave us the most renovated room. This one was a lot nicer and cleaner, but the shower was still nasty. The staff was very helpful but that was probably the only highlight of this hotel. The pool might look 'beautiful' on the hotel's website, but it is more like a pool with pollen and dirt all through it, and the cabanas around the pool were not clean. You definitely get what you pay for. There was a few fast-food restaurants around the hotel, but they were very packed all the time. There were no crosswalks and you had to run across when it was clear. A few blocks away, there is an outside mall, and that was pretty nice to go to. But that hotel is not one I would be going back to; ever.

Room Tip: If you HAVE to come here.... try to get room 217. It is the cleanest room and the most renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    26
    64
    32
    46
See reviews for
49
54
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
George Town, Grand Cayman
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hi guys...never book there!!! Let me tell you my experience with this guys... wanted to go there for one night, i did a reservation in advanced (with my all information, credit card no. etc) i received an e-mail confirmation that everything is fine and they are waiting for me...and when i arrived there, guest what... sorry, no rooms available! They tried to convince me that i didn't booked it...luckily i had saved the "confirmation" e-mail on my phone and i showed them...but still "we don't have any room" VERY, VERY UNFRIENDLY...was 10 o'clock in the night and they really didn't care about my situation... In the end i just left to another hotel a little bit more expansive, but way much better... Buy the way, Midtown Inn is really dodgy so i don't think you will like to experience that... don't look for money, is really not that important than your comfort and safety...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The hotel is at a great location to get to miami beach, north beach and south beach quickly but the hotel itself is filthy. The staff is unfriendly. There was graffiti on the outside wall of our room. The only reason I gave 3 stars was for the location. I am hardly ever in my hotel as I am exploring the city and on the beach so was only there at night to sleep. If your looking for a cheaper motel and are hardly in your room, then the location makes up for everything else. This is the place for you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

The Midtown Inn is a motel, more than an "inn". Once you're past the (for me, anyway) negative connotations of that word it's possible to appreciate what the Midtown inn offers: a reasonably priced full-service venue in an ideal location. This place is for pro travelers.By that I mean the kind of traveler who knows the ropes and doesn't expect luxurious accommodation, the kind who gets out of their room into the city. The kind of traveler who benefits from having an iron (and an ironing board!) in the room, along with a fair-sized fridge, decent WIFI and washing/drying facilities on-site. The staff is uniformly friendly and helpful. I really liked the location: Biscayne Boulevard is a main artery into the heart of downtown Miami. It's only a few minutes by bus to the AA Arena and the Arsht Center. Going the other way, the 41 bus from NW 36th St (just 2 blocks up from the motel) takes you into Miami and South Beach. Even MIA International Airport is just a bus ride away. Best of all, the new Midtown mall and apartment complex at NW 36th St and NW 2nd Ave is very close, with excellent shops, restaurants and cafes, and (crucially for me) a friendly local gym.

Downside: yes, you may run into a cockroach or two: it's Miami, and you're in a tropical climate. But the Midtown Inn is well maintained, the rooms are clean and spacious, and you're unlikely to find a better deal so close to downtown Miami

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated rooms on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I travelled to downtown Miami for a special annual event. I've now stayed at three different hotels/motels in the area over the past five years, including the Holiday Inn (Best Western) Port of Miami and the (Riande) Continental Bayside hotels.

This room was spacious, containing a more-than-double bed, table and two chairs, armchair, tv, mini-fridge and microwave. The carpet, bathroom, bed, and dressing area counter were clean, although I did find a dead (longtime dead) baby cockroach in the fridge. Based on some other reviews (bedbugs, roaches, airport flight path noise, etc.) I was a little hesitant about staying here, but the price was unbeatable for this location. I called three weeks in advance and asked if all or any of the rooms had stall showers (This being a motel, I thought it more likely than a hotel). There was only one, and it was reserved for me.

When I arrived at 8:30am on Nov. 17, I of course could not check in yet, but the desk clerk locked in the room for me, and I left. When I actually checked in at about 7:30pm, all was well (almost). The light switch by the door did not work (the lamp was unplugged, it turned out), and the smoke alarm was beeping (battery going bad). These problems were resolved immediately. There were no bedbugs or live roaches, and the noise of the planes was more than camouflaged by the constant noise (just like all motels from the 50s and 60s that I remember) from the large room air conditioner. The compressor switched quietly on and off, but the motor ran non-stop. My wake-up call rang precisely at the time I requested. The staff could not have been more attentive or friendly. The tv had over 40 channels, which is twice as many as I've ever had before, the fridge cooled my food quickly, and I slept wonderfully. I understand a free breakfast of coffee and doughnuts is provided, and I was told that it was tasty, but I didn't stay for it. All in all, it was well worth the money, and I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 101 has the stall shower, and is next door to the office, near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

There's a reason why this hotel is so cheap! I pre-paid through priceline, for a four night stay at Midtown Inn. We got to Miami around 10pm on a friday night. As soon as we checked-in, I was scoping around our room and found a CoCkRoaCH when I opened the fridge! EeWwWw.. The room we got had that dirty feel to it and a damp smell. I complained to whoever it was at the front desk, he didn't really care much and just handed us a different key to another room. The second room we got looked a little bit better than the first. BuT as I was checking the room, I flipped the comforter away from the bed and saw BeD StAiNS and BeD BuGS! GrOsS! We even took a photo of the bugs! AT this point I was not comfortable staying at this Inn but we had no choice since it was already close to midnight. We got transferred to another room ( for the 3rd time!) and decided to stay for the night and just check-out the next day.
We checked out on saturday morning, I told the person on the front desk that I prepaid for my stay for 4 nights, he said I just need to contact priceline about this and inform them my situation. I thought my ordeal with this place is over.. NoOtTt! Turns out, priceline will not give me a refund for my stay, since Midtown Inn is not giving them a refund as well. AAHH! I called Midtown Inn's manager and complained. She gave me an attitude! Never returned any calls from me. I had to keep on calling them regarding my status (almosst everyday for a couple of weeks!). In the end, She said she's not giving me my refund since they "reserved" 4 nights for me and I told them I checked out the next day!! I only stayed for OnE night and I'm paying for 4 nights??! She said they're loosing money if they will give me a refund!! StillL DiDn'T GeT My MoNeY BacK! I DoN'T KnoW WhaT To Do AnYmOrE!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poznan, Poland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Great location to both down town and South/Miami Beaches. For traveling on a budget, this place was everything my group needed and more. We walked to down town every day and night, and baring traffic to south beach it was only a brief cab ride. The day staff was great and very helpful, but at night the guy who worked the desk was a real jerk. He would yell at us for being outside of the room, even if we weren't making any noise. All in all, a great value stay, especially if your looking for fun for a certain 3 day long concert that takes place downtown ;-). Check out must be timely, because the surcharge. Very poor breakfast (Eating standing up).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Midtown Inn Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midtown Inn Miami

Address: 3400 Biscayne Blvd, Miami, FL 33137
Location: United States > Florida > Miami
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 130 hotels in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Midtown Inn Miami 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Midtown Inn Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midtown Inn Miami Hotel Miami
Midtown Hotel Miami
Midtown Motel Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Midtown Inn Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.