We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold but fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigertail Airboat Tours

Tigertail Airboat Tours
17696 SW 8 St., Miami, FL 33194
305-439-2745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 176 activities in Miami
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At Tigertails we specialize in small guided airboat tours. We operate in the southern end of the Everglades on Tamiami trail in the Miccosukee reservation near Miami. You will experience the Everglades first hand as you handle young alligators and turtles while learning about the wildlife, the area and the proud people who live here from one of our experienced guides.
lutherville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Cold but fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went on a day when the weather was cold (60 degrees). flying around on that boat was cold. But the tour guide was great. We stopped at two islands and saw a variety of wildlife. aligators, turtles, birds, a boar, etc. The guide even got down and petted a 10 foot aligator. It was amazing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    1
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cool, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Don't Miss This”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

This is the way to experience the Everglades! It was fun and fascinating. I just wish the boat operator was more knowledgeable about the ecosystem. I love this up with a tour of the Big Cypress National Preserve and you really get the bigger picture of much of Florida's natural history.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We took a tour in november and were really surprised by the kindness
of our host and the quality of our tour! Definitely a 'must - do' when in Miami or surroundings.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglet, Aquitaine, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

I have never been on a better tour. Spending an hour on the Airboat excursion had the spontaneity and attitude of a close friend showing you their home. While their street façcade (opposite the Miccosukee Village, one mile west of Shark Valley Visitor Center) looks touristy the ride was anything but. If you are in the area you must ride with them.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellisville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“What a fascinating experience in the wild so close to Miami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This was an awesome 45 minute tour. A bargain with the trip advisor discount. It is past several others on tamiami but not crowded and our guide Fabian was great. We were up close and even touched some"big boys" out there. I've never been that close to a big gator that wasn't behind a fence or barrier. Fascinating how Fabian just called them to the boat with gator sounds. If you're in the area this is something not to miss!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tigertail Airboat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tigertail Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigertail Airboat Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tigertail Airboat Tours to your Saves list