We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable introduction to wetlands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tigertail Airboat Tours

Tigertail Airboat Tours
17696 SW 8 St., Miami, FL 33194
305-439-2745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 180 Activities in Miami
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: At Tigertails we specialize in small guided airboat tours. We operate in the southern end of the Everglades on Tamiami trail in the Miccosukee reservation near Miami. You will experience the Everglades first hand as you handle young alligators and turtles while learning about the wildlife, the area and the proud people who live here from one of our experienced guides.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Memorable introduction to wetlands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had read the reviews of some of the other airboat tours and decided on Tigertails on a whim. We are glad we did, because it was excellent. Kenny, our guide, was very knowledgeable, and told us of the flora as well as the fauna of the Everglades. He stopped the boat a few times just to show us different species of plants, pointed out birds and explained about lifecycles in the area. We made two islands stops, the first had penned crocs, one of which was almost ready for release back into the Everglades, another was a rescue case who had lost a leg in a fight and now lived in semi-retirement. On the second island Kenny explained about the local Miccosukee Indian tribe who work with the local rangers to protect the ecology of the area.
Our original one hour was closer to two when we finally returned to the pick-up point. We also liked the fact that we were on a small boat (only the two of us) and that the price was very resonable. We felt we had more than our money's worth.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    1
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Avoid the crowds and set your own time ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Great choice; great experience. After doing some comparison shopping, and having a couple of previous experiences to compare to, I found that Tigertail was the best choice for an Everglades Airboat experience for me and my family. We were 7 people from 14 to 75 years old and we were the only ones on the awesome airboat. We were able to schedule our own day and time to have a private tour for about the same money as going to one of the crowded tourist attractions that are located along the road before getting to Tigertail.
Humberto was extremely informative, polite and patient with the family members and gave us a memorable experience out in the Florida Everglades. He is an experienced guide, airboat driver, and animal handler, showing us some interactions with big gators and letting us handle small gators and turtles. There was even hand sanitizer available at the end of the trip; a nice touch! I would highly recommend Tigertail Airboat Tours to any visitors or locals, like us.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Ride, Small Boats!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

What an excellent tour and reasonably priced! This company is owned by a family from the Indian Reservation allowing you to make stops at their old hunting camp and the "island" where they used to live. Loved the small boats compared to the bigger ones I have taken before. Much more intimate tour. The guide was very knowledgable about all the animals and plants in the area. A great tour if you have a curious child and they are full of information to share and have some baby alligators you get to touch!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Park, Ohio
1 review
“Unforgettable Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

The Everglades is beautiful, and an air boat is the only way to see it! Captain Bill lead my wife and I on an amazing tour through the everglades! He was very friendly, and had excellent skill handling the air boat in a fun and safe way. His knowledge of the flora and fauna was interesting and unparalleled. He also knew the area of swamp like it was his backyard, and was familiar with what was happening in the swamp at that time. This knowledge combined with his intuition for what we looking for made for a spectacular afternoon.
Thanks again Captain Bill
Keith and Nicci

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Gators, Turtles and whole lot of FUN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our family did this ride today and it was awesome. We left the dock area on the side of route 41 and we were right in the Everglades. It was really a great experience. We have done other airboat rides before. This one was more action packed.

Humberto was our guide. He was great. He seemed very knowledgeable. The really neat part of this tour as opposed to others we have done in the past is that we visited 2 islands in the Everglades. We we able to get off the boat and walk around and our guide showed us many animals that live in the area. We even had the opportunity to touch and hold a baby alligator. The second island there were cold drinks available to purchase.

This was a really cool experience, and a definite a must do. A tip there really is nowhere close by to eat so either bring snacks or eat before going and there is no restroom with running water. There is a port-a-potty. I will say it was quite clean for port-a-potty standards, but if this is not your thing find a restroom to use before coming and/or bring handsanitizer.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tigertail Airboat Tours also viewed

 

Been to Tigertail Airboat Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tigertail Airboat Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.