We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“evening Chistmas lighting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinecrest Gardens

Pinecrest Gardens
10000 Red Road, Miami, FL 33156
305.669.6990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 123 attractions in Miami
Type: Gardens
Attraction Details
Alphen aan den Rijn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“evening Chistmas lighting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

What a tremendous beautiful show. The park lit by thousands of little lamd forming all kind of little animals. Worth a visit

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    22
    8
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Tropical, shady, lovely walkways, easy strolling. Even the stairs were manageable if you have mobility issues as my partner does.Went this past weekend for an art festival and was not disappointed. Entrance was free, too, during the festival, can't beat that. Of course, spent $450 on artwork...The bench by the little Koi pond is so peaceful, plan on returning with nieces.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“A Tropical Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I enjoyed this place very much when I was a little girl and it was Parrot Jungle - so coming here as a grown up with my own kids (ages 5 and 7) was a nostalgic experience. It is very clean although much of it looks as it did I was a kid in the 1980's, just more lush with taller trees and plants. We went one Monday during the December holiday break and we practically had the whole place to ourselves. The kids enjoyed walking on the path though the botanical garden, under the shade of the tall cypress trees. We also enjoyed:

• Feeding the fish - many koi in the stream. Fish food available at the splash & play attendant
• Playing on the playground - mosquito repellant helpful to have
• The Splash & Play - It's $1 extra per child, but well worth it. My kids had a blast here. There's no change area, you have to use the bathroom but most parents just hold the towels up while the kids change.

By the way, there are picnic tables and one small concession stand, so bring your own snacks. We also didn't do the petting zoo as the animals are out only at certain times but it's next to the playground, so you can see the animals sleeping in their pens.

My local friends tell me that they used to bring their kids here when the admission was free, but now that there is an admission, they don't come anymore. (It is $2 a person, $3 if you include the Splash & Play). I feel like this is such a small price to pay in order to maintain this gem. Also, it is a steal compared to many of the other family attractions in Miami which are incredibly expensive and usually very crowded - for example, adult ticket prices are $35 at Jungle Island, $25 at Fairchild Botanical Gardens, $41 at Miami Seaquarium... so $10 total for our whole family for a lovely, crowd-free afternoon in a tropical atmosphere was money well spent.

Local tip: before or after your visit, you need to stop by the Pinecrest Wayside Market for fruit milkshakes (just north of Pinecrest Gardens on 57th Avenue).

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saga bay,florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Pinecrest is a beautiful city in Miami dade, the garden often have art displayed around the landscape . Relaxing place to go with the whole family. Very safe place

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice for Concert Events Otherwise Admission Over Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is the former Parrot Jungle Gardens started in the 1930s.

The Parrot Jungle owner sold out and moved to Watson Island after the neighbors complained about wedding and party events, which was a way for the Jungle to stay alive.

The garden was better kept and better groomed when it was owned by the Parrot Jungle. The Village of Pinecrest has been slow to keep the garden looking pristine. The garden is situated on a Cypress Hammock and there are several very large Bald Cypress trees that are natural as well as sink holes. Some of these Cypress trees can be seen across the street at the church when this area was not inhabited and civilized for modern man. This includes the canal along 57th Ave to drain the land for building roads and houses.

The garden does provide a nice venue for parties, a visit and attending one of the scheduled ticketed events.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinecrest Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Pinecrest Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinecrest Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Pinecrest Gardens to your Saves list