We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pinecrest Gardens

Pinecrest Gardens
11000 Red Road, Miami, FL 33156
305.669.6990
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 204 things to do in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This is Definately a hidden treasure in the Greater Miami area. Recently added to the National Registry of Historic Places, Pinecrest Gardens evokes the feeling of walking through the Garden of Eden. Filled with winding paths that meander through a tropical forest with waterways full of coi, turtles and other fish that can be fed and offer a wonderful pass time for your little one. Stop at the petting zoo, playground and splash n play area with your children or bring a picnic basket and sit with your significant other while you watch the swan swim by.... Truly beautiful and unique. Super cheap when compared to some of the other area attractions... Just $3.
Can't beat that!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    47
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
492 reviews
134 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 374 helpful votes
“Amazing Gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This is the grounds of the old Parrot Jungle. It is a beautiful garden to walk around. There's plenty to do! There are lots of tables for a picnic, a big lake with beautiful water fowl, a playground, and a little water area for kids to play in (water sprays up from the ground). There are ponds with fish and turtles, tons of beautiful flowers, and plenty of shade and always a nice breeze. This is a fantastic place to visit - if you want to just walk around and admire the greenery, or if you want to let kids run around and enjoy themselves - there's something for everyone. There is a little petting zoo also, but I didn't go in it. I am not fond of petting zoos.

There's plenty of free parking. The cost to get in is only $3 - but, if you are a Pinecrest, Florida resident, entrance is free. I love the place - you get a lot for your 3-bucks!

p.s. I went on a weekday and saw a couple food stands; however, none of them were open. I would imagine those are open on the weekends.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Less like a park, more like a business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Yes, it's still pretty and unique and tropical, but sadly a little safer and well-groomed and commercialized. I guess that charging admission and staging events is the only way that they could think of keeping this place going, but I think $3 per adult and $2 per child (with additional fees for the Splash-n-Play) is a little steep, especially since most of the time we just went for a short walk and fed the fish after school, or rode our bikes over and had a picnic. Yes there are memberships, but I and some of my neighbors aren't sure whether we want to encourage the current regime. This is still a great vestige of old Miami; on your way here you'll be able to amuse yourself with some of the near-zero lot line Mediterranean Revival McMansions which have begun cropping up in this area over the last decade. If you have time, stop for a snow cone at the Wayside Fruit & Vegetable Market on Red Road, but you'll want to steer clear of the area during the posted school zone hours because traffic is heavy, and those Hummer driving Pinecrest moms won't yield for you!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago il
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Time well spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We were visiting Miami and decided to take our children out for some fun and exploring. We are glad we chose Pinecrest Garden for that. It was a beautiful walk through the grounds where you can feed the turtles and fish. They have bathrooms on site, playground, petting zoo, splash zone for the kids. The kids thoroughly enjoyed it. I highly recommend checking this place out.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This garden is 16 acres of paradise. It was the original Parrot Jungle that was established in the 1920's as a tourist attraction. It's got coral rock bridges over coy ponds, winding paths. There is a splash play area for toddlers. It has a $3 admission.The last Friday in February, there is a benefit concert for the garden. It includes a concert, silent auciton, dinner. Very swank! www.gardenfund.org for the more information on the party!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pinecrest Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinecrest Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.