We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off 2 or More Nights!
Ranked #32 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Bolton
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2009

Arrived after long flight from U.K. Staff on reception lovely and very welcoming. Room nice, modern and clean, a little compact compared to other USA hotels we have stayed in,
Bed very comfortable, quiet and very good blinds so able to get a good njghts sleep.
Breakfast was quite extensive and had superb fruit selection, the orange juice was the best I've ever had. Staff in restaurant excellent and the view was stunning.
Hotel in a safe location and we were able to go for a walk from the hotel to the nearby Marina.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    279
    100
    44
    35
See reviews for
188
345
49
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2009

The Sonesta delivers excellent service from the valet to the waitstaff. I don't know that I would have chosen the Sonesta (or Coconut Grove for that matter) as a vacation destination unless it was a weekend getaway. We were there for a wedding, which was handled very well. Shop around online before booking. Some of my fellow wedding guests found prices that were less than half of what I paid (by booking each night individually). But, that was probably symptomatic of current economic climate. Deluxe rooms with two beds include Queen sized beds. Rooms are spacious. There is a kitchenette. Valet parking was $23 per day. Heated pool and hot tub.

  • Liked — Customer Service, Location, Comfortable Pillow Top Beds, Fitness Room
  • Disliked — Can't think of any negatives.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2009

We booked this hotel through hotelopia who gave us a fantastic deal for £35 per night - I couldn't believe it.

We stayed in Miami on a stopover to Belize on the way there and on the way back and thought that the hotel might reflect the cost we paid. We were so pleasantly surprised. The hotel is clean, friendly, in excellent condition and when we arrived we were upgraded to an ocean view both times. The beds are enormous (which was great for the jet-lag) and the bath was big enough to fit a 6ft rugby player in with ease!.

The breakfast was also included in our deal which I have to say was delicious. Fresh fruit and yogurt or pastries and cooked breakfast for the buffet with a starbucks tea or coffee included. The restaurant overlooks the harbour too which is lovely when you're dining.

Just round the corner is coco walk, a small shopping district with restaurants, clothe shops and even a cinema - not bad for being out of north/south beach.

We would totally recommend anyone staying here - and would absolutely stay here again when we next visit Miami.

  • Liked — the beds and the food
  • Disliked — the taxi costs
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2009

Stayed here for 3 nights when taking part in Miami Marathon. Got an amazing deal with Hotelopia for £58 a night. Was upgraded to a bay view room and would not have had a clue that there was a nightclub near the hotel. Lovely, spacious room, fantastic friendly staff, lovely warm swimming pool. Very close to restaurants, bars and Cocoa Row shopping Centre. Well connected via Coconut Grove Circulator bus from across the street which connected with Metro Rail for only a quarter. Cost of Metro Rail only 2 dollars. Brilliant!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

The only thing that I truly liked about this hotel was its restaurant....good service, great food, and beautiful views. However, the hotel's website makes it seem as though this place is much more elegant than it is. It is a nice place, but it was not what I was expecting. For example, the swimming pool was a huge let down. The website photos make it seem as though the area surrounding the pool is larger with more seating. There is actually not much seating at all, and the chairs have actual cushions on them that have become moldy due to people sitting in them in wet swimming suits. Even first thing in the morning, I could not find a dry chair to sit on. If you look at the pool area early in the morning, you can see dark, moldy spots where a person's rear end would be seated on the chair (see my photos). These wet spots are then covered up with towels, but you can still feel the wet spot if you sit on the chair. There is also no privacy near the pool because the outdoor restaurant seating is right next to the pool. Would you really want everyone who's in the restaurant to be able to watch you while you're trying to lay in the sun?! I also expected a bay view room but was given a partial bay view room where it was only possible to see the water if you went out onto the deck and turned your head. I had to ask for a different room. The hotel really needs to draw a distinction between a full versus a partial view bay room. The neighborhood is disappointing. There is not much to do within walking distance and the nearby shops were not what I was expecting. For me, the only perk was a nearby Starbucks. My goal was to lounge around by the pool of this hotel, so I would not choose to stay here again. I might recommend this hotel to someone who was on a business trip, but I would not recommend it to a tourist. I would highly recommend their restaurant.

  • Liked — Restaurant views
  • Disliked — Pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

I arranged for a 3-day stay for a group of 14 college classmates. It was an outstanding experience. The staff is one of the friendliest I have ever encountered. The service was excellent. We dined at the hotel the first evening we were there and it was outstanding. In fact when the chef walked out of the kitchen my group broke into spontaneous applause. We enjoyed lingering over breakfast in the charming dining room with the beautiful view, having lunch at the pool "in the sky" and in the evening the same dining room became a romantic setting.

My group loved the hotel's location that is in walking distance to shopping and other restaurants.

  • Liked — the beds
  • Disliked — Everything was excellent
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2009

First, let me say that I got an excellent deal (60 dollars a night or so) on Priceline...and since it was a business trip, I wasn't paying for it anyway.

Soon after arriving though, I could see I'd make an excellent choice. The location is awesome, in the Coconut Grove area, with the "CoCo Walk" nearby. In Miami, there are plenty of bad areas of town and one has to be rather careful about where they stay. This is in a good area of town. I'd still take precautions, but I never felt like I was in any danger.

The room I had was beautiful. The view was awesome....and the view was even better from their outdoor pool that's on the 8th floor. My room had a full kitchen in it...and just a lot of space to move around in. I know some hotels put people in small rooms if they get a bargain on Priceline but apparently not here.

Loved it!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#13 Business Hotel in Miami
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#42 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.