We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sonesta Coconut Grove / Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Sonesta Coconut Grove / Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have been staying at the Sonesta many times. Coming from Brazil (my flight comes in at 5am) the staff has always let me checked in early (of course depending on my reserved room availability). Very courteous staff. Beautiful view in the heart of Coconut Grove - close to everything... Great restaurant over viewing the bay... Rooms and suites are very comfortable and equipped. Always a great experience and stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 3 days ago
PJDI
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We are happy that our staff made such a positive impression and made you feel right at home. We appreciate your continued business and we await your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    274
    97
    41
    34
See reviews for
183
338
47
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The area was very nice and the hotel was pretty darn nice considering they are renovating. I would definitely go back and stay again. Walking distance to shops & restaurants. We enjoyed the night life, restaurants and park near the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 4 days ago
ADiStefano
We are pleased you had such a wonderful experience. We look forward to your next trip to Cooconut Grove.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

A brief stay at the Sonesta Coconut Grove has me wondering if the Sonesta brand sold its ideas on quality when the Sonnabend family sold business some time ago. If you are looking for the icon of hospitality that Sonesta once was, I do not recommend the Sonesta Coconut Grove.
The lobby is stark and, with only one person at the front desk, it felt vacant. The guest rooms are adequate in size and clean enough, but felt lackluster and dull. Where is the vibrant pulse of, not only Miami, but of a comfort giving high-end hotel? This place felt empty; abandoned.
The only restaurant, Panorama, is under construction and covered in scaffolding. We wanted to sit and enjoy the panoramic view the name implies, but we were given a choice of a tables indoors, down the hall, and in what felt like an old banquet room. The host/ waiter even reminded us a bit of Lurch - you know, from the Addams Family? We decided to go out into Coconut Grove to eat.
Maybe they are just horribly understaffed. Maybe all of the staff was too busy with the folks who have purchased residences here. Maybe, but the feeling is that of a hollow shell where the few people you do see just do not care. When you encounter a stray staff member who speaks English fluently, the apathy is apparent. One night was enough.
This is not typical of Sonesta ( see my review of their property in Ste. Maarten ). It is quite sad, though. The days of the exceptional, privately owned Sonesta are gone. This was once a world-class group of hotels - hospitality checked-out, it left the building.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear 42PalmTrees,
On behalf of the hotel please accept my apologies that your stay was not up to your expectations. Our Coconut Grove location is a boutique style hotel unlike our larger resort properties and as such offers a different guest experience. One of the unique features is our art collection which is displayed throughout the hotel. We offer our art brochure on request and you can take a private tour and enjoy some incredible art pieces. Unfortunately during your visit our pool was closed due to renovation which also impacted the view from our Panorama restaurant. The good news is that with the pool reopened you can once again enjoy the views and the amazing food. We hope that we might have another opportunity to provide you with the level of service you have come to expect from Sonesta. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your experience further.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Sonesta is tucked away from the main street of the Grove. When you walk into the lobby you are greeted by a wonderful fresh smell of candles, and the nice and bright decor of the main area. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the valets always on the ready for your car services. The hotel is undergoing some construction work, which is to be completed the first week of December and pool access will be open once again. The restaurant on the 8th floor is lovely. This location allows for you to walk rather than drive to the many restaurants and cafes, local boutiques and Coco Walk, which has several shops and a movie theater. On the main road to the left when you exit the hotel, a short stroll down the road finds you at the marina, and there is a Fresh Market store which has plenty of healthy options for meals. For a real Florida setting for drinks and meals head to Monty Trainers which is also near the market.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina from a higher level than the construction work:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Beth N
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed Coconut Grove and the Sonesta. We look forward to your next visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Grove
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I attended the Miami Device conference (technology in the classroom) from November 6-7, 2014 and the Sonesta Coconut Grove Hotel was recommended to us. The room was super clean and was comfortable. We stayed on the 11th floor and had a beautiful view of the city and Biscayne Bay. For the first time in my life I can say that the bed was way more comfortable than my own. Beautiful facility and very quiet. The price was perfect, but then again I was privy of a conference discount. The only thing I wish the hotel would have is a shuttle bus to and from the airport. Despite that, I would highly recommend this hotel if you plan to be in the area.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 4 days ago
30louiseo
We are pleased your meeting was a success and we look forward to hosting the device conference again in the future. We hope you will visit us again if your leisure travel plans bring you back to Miami.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

On the positive side the rooms was big and clean with a balcony and a decent view from the 14th floor location. A reasonable gym on the roof.

The aspect of the room was a little tired with no mini bar and minimal coffee provided with powdered milk sachet.

At the time of the visit the pool was closed for a refurb.

Location was a bit of disappointment. There was very little to see at the waterfront. The local village has a few nice restaurants a short walk away.

A decent business hotel but certainly not a recommendation for a tourist visit.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 4 days ago
ColinL675
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you found your accomodations clean and that the room size and balcony were enjoyed. Coconut Grove is a unique location which we feel offers a little something for all travellers. Although it was not the perfect spot for your recent trip, we hope you will be back to visit again if your travels permit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The construction work further beautifying this elegant and comfortable hotel was silenced by the amazing attention, delectable nouriture and delicious libations given by the fabulous trio...Frank, Jose & Manuel.
Thank you.
Gracias.
Merci.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret R, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, 4 days ago
MonteCarloResident
Thank you, thank you, thank you, on behalf of our wonderful banquet trio Frank, Jose and Manuel. Our Food and Beverage team takes great pride in their work and are thrilled when they are able to exceed your expectations. We appreciate the feedback and look forward to hosting your next event.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#44 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.