We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Pool” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #28 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Pool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Went for a birthday weekend in November and had a great time. You are not too far from the beach, and the hotel has a nice outdoor pool on the 8th floor with a restaurant next to it that was fabulous food. The rooms are nice, beds are comfortable and the staff was just fine when I was there. If you don't have a car, there is some shopping & restaurant choices within walking distance but that's about it, I probably wouldn't stay more than a day or 2.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Ckb830
Thank you for celebrating your birthday at our hotel. We are pleased your enjoyed your stay and that you found everything you needed in Coconut Grove for a weekend getaway. We look forward to celebrating with you again next year.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    466
    270
    97
    36
    32
See reviews for
177
333
45
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Love the Sonesta in Coconut Grove. Fabulous hotel - gorgeous views - comfortable spacious rooms - friendly helpful staff. The location is perfect for the Grove. Workout facility - top floor - amazing venue to workout

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
MatthewM
Thank you for staying with us again and for your confidence in us. We strive to be always fabulous and we are pleased we accomplished this during your recent visit. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Everything was great.. the pool was great and the views where amazing. Close to shops and restaurants, parks and the Marina. My room was very clean and room service was good and not too pricey. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
CDigloria
We are very glad that you had a wonderful experience at our hotel. Thank you for posting your comments. We look forward to your next visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Went for a wedding. A lot of family & friends where staying here. The staff was warn, helpful & nice. We enjoyed the pool, food & loved the location. Great area for food & shopping. Lots of things around to do. Love my room has a kitchen in it. Will go back. Great place.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
A Vinnie V
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that your wedding party enjoyed the hotel and had a great time. We hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

We were planning a wedding and finally received blocked rooms with alot of hesitation from the staff. Finally we wanted to arrange a for a rehearsal dinner and nobody even called me back. We had fifty people that were going to attend this wedding and go to the dinner with guest (100 people) and the hotel did not feel the need to accommodate us in any way not even as far as a call back in a timely manner. Banquet staff shoud all be fired.

After this we all switched over the Mutiny where we ended up staying and having the banquet. It was the best thing I ever did. The Mutiny was so much better than an ordinary hotel with staff that they were too good to give a call back. Management should know the money you are throwing away for being pompus ! Will never visit a Sonesta again....

Room Tip: Staff terrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Debkelley
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that we were unable to accommodate your wedding party and did not follow up in a timely manner with you. I have shared your comments with our Director of Sales and Marketing so we can use your feedback to improve our service. I am pleased that you were able to find alternate accommodations and that you had a successful event.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

It's a very nice place to stay, the location is privileged (beautiful view, places you can go on foot, there is a nightlife and it's not noisy). The room is spacious and equipped with a very handy kitchenette, a good-sized safe, two supports to lay the bags. Parking: only valet, it's cheaper than Miami Beach, but still expensive (US$25 overnight). I preferred a public self-parking right next to the hotel at the price of US$12 per 24-hour (you can leave and return using the same ticket). The swimming pool and 8th floor restaurant have a nice view. The fitness center is well equipped. I could receive a shipment (from Amazon) without the need to pay a fee.
Downsides: the bed mattress is softer than usual; I expected it to be a little bit firmer. The swimming pool is not big, there are few chairs and it closes at the sunset. The fitness center officially closes at 10PM (though I managed to enter later). The price for the use of the business center computers is prohibitively high (it should be free, like most hotels).
Bottom-line: if you are looking for a hotel (not a resort), I recommend this one, either for families on vacation or for business trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Luiz R
Thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests on their personal devices and also offer the business center as an alternative. Airline check-in and boarding pass printing are free at the business center. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities at the hotel and hope you will return again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

If the laid back Grove vibe is what you like in Miami, and you have a hard time with colors in your decor, but want a nice, reliable, clean place to stay with a very good service staff, this fits the bill. It's kind of like a person whom you like but don't go out of your way to visit on a regular basis. The friend is very nice, keeps a clean home, but doesn't particularly add much to your life. Certainly there is nothing to DISlike about Sonesta. The views out across the oceanfront are beautiful. The pool on the 8th floor is small, pleasant but really benefits from being high up enough to look out across that same oceanfront. The restaurant by the pool is pretty good though a bit dull (this is late July, so keep that in mind). The staff there, though, was very attentive and nice despite the fact that they are required to wear long sleeve khaki tops with long black pants in the 90 degree + humidity. The manager, though, gets to wear a polo shirt. Hmmm. Do I hear a union rep grumbling?

The thing we noticed first is that everything is white or off-white....the lobby, the tile floors, the walls, the bathroom, the curtains, the hallways. We prefer a little decorative flourish, but then that's a taste thing. White everything suggests "clean" and that's not a bad trait for a hotel, just not special.

Room Tip: The pool is on the 8th floor, south end of the building. If you like to keep you balcony doors open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Chris D
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for posting your comments. We are pleased that your experience was good and that you were able to enjoy our pool deck and the great views. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#40 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;