We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, well-maintained, good features” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off 2 or More Nights!
Ranked #37 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Sao Paulo, Brazil
1 review
“Good location, well-maintained, good features”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

It's a very nice place to stay, the location is privileged (beautiful view, places you can go on foot, there is a nightlife and it's not noisy). The room is spacious and equipped with a very handy kitchenette, a good-sized safe, two supports to lay the bags. Parking: only valet, it's cheaper than Miami Beach, but still expensive (US$25 overnight). I preferred a public self-parking right next to the hotel at the price of US$12 per 24-hour (you can leave and return using the same ticket). The swimming pool and 8th floor restaurant have a nice view. The fitness center is well equipped. I could receive a shipment (from Amazon) without the need to pay a fee.
Downsides: the bed mattress is softer than usual; I expected it to be a little bit firmer. The swimming pool is not big, there are few chairs and it closes at the sunset. The fitness center officially closes at 10PM (though I managed to enter later). The price for the use of the business center computers is prohibitively high (it should be free, like most hotels).
Bottom-line: if you are looking for a hotel (not a resort), I recommend this one, either for families on vacation or for business trips.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Luiz R
Thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We offer complimentary Wi-Fi for all guests on their personal devices and also offer the business center as an alternative. Airline check-in and boarding pass printing are free at the business center. We are pleased you enjoyed the facilities at the hotel and hope you will return again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

954 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    486
    284
    103
    44
    37
See reviews for
189
349
50
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

If the laid back Grove vibe is what you like in Miami, and you have a hard time with colors in your decor, but want a nice, reliable, clean place to stay with a very good service staff, this fits the bill. It's kind of like a person whom you like but don't go out of your way to visit on a regular basis. The friend is very nice, keeps a clean home, but doesn't particularly add much to your life. Certainly there is nothing to DISlike about Sonesta. The views out across the oceanfront are beautiful. The pool on the 8th floor is small, pleasant but really benefits from being high up enough to look out across that same oceanfront. The restaurant by the pool is pretty good though a bit dull (this is late July, so keep that in mind). The staff there, though, was very attentive and nice despite the fact that they are required to wear long sleeve khaki tops with long black pants in the 90 degree + humidity. The manager, though, gets to wear a polo shirt. Hmmm. Do I hear a union rep grumbling?

The thing we noticed first is that everything is white or off-white....the lobby, the tile floors, the walls, the bathroom, the curtains, the hallways. We prefer a little decorative flourish, but then that's a taste thing. White everything suggests "clean" and that's not a bad trait for a hotel, just not special.

Room Tip: The pool is on the 8th floor, south end of the building. If you like to keep you balcony doors open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Chris D
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for posting your comments. We are pleased that your experience was good and that you were able to enjoy our pool deck and the great views. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This the 3rd time we stay at the Sonesta. But the hotel need a few adjustments:

1. rooms need some renovating
2. gym definitely needs a big work-out!
3; valet parking is very sloooow at times.

But: serivce is nice enough, wifi is free, and the location is perfect

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Jose C
Thank you for sharing your suggestions for improvement. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel for any inconveniences caused by any delays in retrieving your car. I have shared your feedback with our Valet Manager as the team is focused on safe and quick retrieval times. We look forward to your next stay.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

From check in to check out the Sonesta was first class all the way. Food is excellent, room is clean and comfy, pool area so nice. The employees at the pool were top notch. It's in a quiet neighborhood and we had a wonderful trip. Thank you Sonesta!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Diane C
We are glad you had a great stay at our hotel and thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to share your comments with our staff. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We've been to the Sonesta many times because we know we can always unwind in Coconut Grove. We went again this year for the fourth of July and it was a great holiday. The grove has just the right laid back, but fun atmosphere and the Sonesta is right in the heart of it. We know we can sleep late in the comfortable, clean, upscale rooms, go out and get a bite to eat anytime, lounge by the pool, walk along the bay, shop, take a quick foray into Miami or Miami Beach, then come back, sit on the balcony for hours, and take in the gorgeous view across the bay. On the fourth of July, if you get a room on the northeast corner of the building, you can see fireworks from Palm Beach County to Homestead, as well as right in front of you at Peacock Park. Even the panoramic view of the thunderstorm the next morning was spectacular! Have fun at your own pace and enjoy it in comfort at the Sonesta! PS: I'm not sure which front desk person seemed "tired and disinterested" in another review, but Nathan accommodated several requests for us immediately and cheerfully.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the deluxe rooms--worth the extra cost for the great balconies and views, and for the kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
CurliCute
Thank you for posting your comments about your stay during the July 4th holiday. We are glad you had such a great time and enjoyed the fireworks from Peacock Park. We will be sure to share your comments with Nathan. We hope to see you again next year.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

After a few years we went back to Sonesta. We got a great deal and booked 4 nights (then, while there, we got another one).
My wife and I were in desperate need to relax and take a break after 8 long months of work without a day off, and boy, Sonesta did it!

We were upgraded to the deluxe room with bay view at the 18th floor: just wonderful. You wake up in the morning and while still laying down in bed you can see the entire bay of the Grove.

Sonesta is a very clean hotel, modern concept, great staff, always pleasant. Room was great, spacious with a killer view!

We enjoyed the pool and the fitness center every day, at least in the morning before it started to rain. The pool is very nice, clean, large, great service all around (the guy that works at the pool is great). The fitness center has everything one needs, towels, a sauna, showers, and why not, a great view as well.

From Sonesta, if you don't feel like driving you can talk a walk around Coconut Grove, where you have plenty of places to eat or have a drink, from Peackock to Jaguar, from Vino in the Grove to the recently addition Strada.

Sonesta itself is also a great stop for the evening; at the eight floor, by the pool area, there's a Peruvian-inspired restaurant, Panorama. I liked to stop there for a scotch (closes at 11 p.m.), enjoying the breeze, the peace and the view.

We got exactly what we were looking for. Well, that's not right: thanks to Mrs. Dubon, the hotel manager, we got more than that.

Thank you Elizabeth for the great deal and stay, we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Moltaly
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. We will share your comments with Elizabeth. We are pleased that you had such a great experience and we look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The pool floor offers a great view and a perfect spot if you want to chill and relax. Ocean view rooms with a balcony is a perfect spot to enjoy the end of the day. The gym is well equipped and under good conditions. The staff is friendly and helpful. Will be back!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Leonel G
We are pleased you had such a great experience and that you will be back. Thank you for staying with us.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#40 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.