We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxation get-away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #31 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Pompano Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great relaxation get-away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We've been to the Sonesta many times because we know we can always unwind in Coconut Grove. We went again this year for the fourth of July and it was a great holiday. The grove has just the right laid back, but fun atmosphere and the Sonesta is right in the heart of it. We know we can sleep late in the comfortable, clean, upscale rooms, go out and get a bite to eat anytime, lounge by the pool, walk along the bay, shop, take a quick foray into Miami or Miami Beach, then come back, sit on the balcony for hours, and take in the gorgeous view across the bay. On the fourth of July, if you get a room on the northeast corner of the building, you can see fireworks from Palm Beach County to Homestead, as well as right in front of you at Peacock Park. Even the panoramic view of the thunderstorm the next morning was spectacular! Have fun at your own pace and enjoy it in comfort at the Sonesta! PS: I'm not sure which front desk person seemed "tired and disinterested" in another review, but Nathan accommodated several requests for us immediately and cheerfully.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the deluxe rooms--worth the extra cost for the great balconies and views, and for the kit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
CurliCute
Thank you for posting your comments about your stay during the July 4th holiday. We are glad you had such a great time and enjoyed the fireworks from Peacock Park. We will be sure to share your comments with Nathan. We hope to see you again next year.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    274
    97
    41
    34
See reviews for
182
338
47
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

After a few years we went back to Sonesta. We got a great deal and booked 4 nights (then, while there, we got another one).
My wife and I were in desperate need to relax and take a break after 8 long months of work without a day off, and boy, Sonesta did it!

We were upgraded to the deluxe room with bay view at the 18th floor: just wonderful. You wake up in the morning and while still laying down in bed you can see the entire bay of the Grove.

Sonesta is a very clean hotel, modern concept, great staff, always pleasant. Room was great, spacious with a killer view!

We enjoyed the pool and the fitness center every day, at least in the morning before it started to rain. The pool is very nice, clean, large, great service all around (the guy that works at the pool is great). The fitness center has everything one needs, towels, a sauna, showers, and why not, a great view as well.

From Sonesta, if you don't feel like driving you can talk a walk around Coconut Grove, where you have plenty of places to eat or have a drink, from Peackock to Jaguar, from Vino in the Grove to the recently addition Strada.

Sonesta itself is also a great stop for the evening; at the eight floor, by the pool area, there's a Peruvian-inspired restaurant, Panorama. I liked to stop there for a scotch (closes at 11 p.m.), enjoying the breeze, the peace and the view.

We got exactly what we were looking for. Well, that's not right: thanks to Mrs. Dubon, the hotel manager, we got more than that.

Thank you Elizabeth for the great deal and stay, we'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Moltaly
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. We will share your comments with Elizabeth. We are pleased that you had such a great experience and we look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartago, Costa Rica
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

The pool floor offers a great view and a perfect spot if you want to chill and relax. Ocean view rooms with a balcony is a perfect spot to enjoy the end of the day. The gym is well equipped and under good conditions. The staff is friendly and helpful. Will be back!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Leonel G
We are pleased you had such a great experience and that you will be back. Thank you for staying with us.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Nuvo clean and upgraded hotel near the center of town. It is close to shopping and has a nice view of the bay. Starbucks in the AM is 100 yards away. Large flat screen TV's and a nice room.
Very clean.

Room Tip: The best rooms view the bay. I would make the request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Drgreatoe
Thank you for staying with us. We are pleased you had a great stay. As you mentioned there are lots of options within walking distance of the hotel and we are also close to Coral Gables. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I recently worked with, and stayed at the Sonesta Hotel in Coconut Grove, FL. My school had a reunion in Miami, and we chose the Sonesta Hotel. I enjoyed working with my Sonesta contact, Malena Orihuela, on setting up reunion particulars, including getting the goodie bags to our reunion members, getting maps and guides for the goodie bags, and setting up the dinner menu for a dinner event. Also, during our stay, the reunion gang spent a lot of time by the Sonesta pool (very nice, with a spectacular view of Coconut Grove harbor). The Sonesta pool employees were very courteous and accommodating, in particular, Alex Dubon. The rooms were quite comfortable, and the food and drinks were delicious. All in all, I enjoyed my stay at the Sonesta, and found the staff to be especially welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
MonicaRates
We appreciate your feedback about your experience at the Sonesta Coconut Grove. We will be sure to share them with Alex. We hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

First time at the Sonesta Coconut Grove.
The location is an okay location. It's near the bay and close to shopping and restaurants. A little distant from gas stations or any grocery stores.
The view of the bay is a plus. It's breathtaking and relaxing. I did my morning readings on the balcony with the breeze blowing.
The restaurant is not as large as the pictures make it see. It's not a panoramic view. The food is good but not worth the prices they charge.
The kitchen is a nice size. Not equipped with enough utensils.
Cleanliness could be better. I found things like the dining seats having crumbs on them. Underneath the books on the coffee table had an old and used nail file. Otherwise, it was a clean room.
The bed was comfortable.
Both bathrooms were clean.
The staff responded quickly and are very helpful.
Overall, it was a good and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Tasha0913
Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your feedback. We are glad you had a great stay and we appreciate your business.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Grove
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed in this beautiful hotel and loved it! It is perfect for a business trip or relaxing vacation. The hotel is across the street from the bay with outstanding views. I loved the surrounding town too. A perfect place for those who like to take a morning run!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Laura H
Thank you for posting your comments about your visit to our hotel. We are happy you had such a great time and that you enjoyed the neighborhood. We look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#44 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.