We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #28 of 130 Hotels in Miami
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice location and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Sonesta is very conveniently located. During our 3-night stay we never moved the car. We walked to shopping, restaurants, even movies. Pool was nice but noisy due to nearby construction and traffic.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Deinse917
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your business. We are glad that you were able to find everything you needed in Coconut Grove and did not need your car to enjoy the city. We hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    270
    97
    36
    32
See reviews for
177
333
45
195
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coconut Grove
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My wife and I were treated like royalty. Our stay was very pleasant. No problems whatsoever. The room on the 12th floor was exceptionaly quiet and very confortable. Vallet parking was very efficient and our breakfasts were more than satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
JohnD
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay. We are pleased that you and your wife had such a positive experience. We look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Clean, comfortable and great service! The location was perfect, close to shopping, restaurants and the water. The view from my balcony room was great - a marina filled with sailboats - so beautiful! The hotel room was very quiet, I did not hear noise from the hallway or other rooms.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
LorettaD
Three of the words we love to hear are when a guest tells us they had a great night’s sleep! We are happy that your enjoyed your accommodations at our hotel and we hope to see you on your next trip to Miami.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and were treated very courteously by the staff and concierge. We needed a rental car and the concierge was a great help and even had a car available at the hotel to use thru a rental agency. I couldn't believe the convenience and how easy he made it! We had read previous reviews and got a bayview room on the 20th floor with a king bed and a balcony. The walk in closet was huge and the soaker tub in an oversize bathroom was definitely an unexpected bonus. Overall we loved the hotel and convenience of the shopping and entertainment a block away. It was a perfect experience! Thank you!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Tbernett
We are so pleased that your stay was beautiful! We strive to provide excellent service and to anticipate your needs and we are thrilled when our guest leave so happy. We look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I found the hotel kept in great condition. The attention to detail is obvious. I thought the lobby was stunning. The pool area was chic and had a gorgeous view. It was a salt water system vs chlorine, which is better. The evening atmosphere at the pool bar was relaxing. I thought the gentleman that looks after the pool patrons was very accommodating and polite. The gym was quality although one guest had her dog in there. We found the young valets had great attitudes too. The biggest flaw was the front desk staff were boldly rude. In addition, this hotel is not cheap and we booked an entire week but we were put in a tiny room that was not suitable for a week stay for two adults. We paid extra to upgrade. The balconies need more than a curtain to maintain privacy. Many nights we were woken to people on the balconies and it was incredibly disruptive.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Pamelaj
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your visit to Miami. On behalf of the hotel, please accept my apologies that the front desk response was not up to your expectations. I am pleased that overall you found our staff attentive and accommodating and your accommodations clean and well attended. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area we will have an opportunity to make your stay outstanding.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Hotel location is outstanding in heart of the grove. Walking distance to most places in the grove. Breakfast is served over looking the pool and the grove skyline on 8th floor. Very nice!! However for 2 people price was $60.00.

Room Tip: Rooms on bayside are good however some bayside rooms have a full view of the bay other have only par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Babydell
Thank you for sharing about your recent trip to our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed breakfast in Panorama with the wonderful view of Biscayne Bay. In addition to the full breakfast buffet we also offer menu items a la carte if you prefer a lighter breakfast. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Dc, District Of Columbia, Usa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Since I had never been to Coconut Grove and had never stayed at a Sonesta Hotel I really wasn't sure what to expect. From the minute we checked in, the front desk automatically upgraded us to a beautiful bay front view without even asking. The room was clean and modern and the view was do die for. The biggest surprise was the little restaurant Panorama on the 8th floor. The food was fresh and fantastic! The service was 1st class in particular Humberto Perez and Zulma Gutierrez. I found the whole experience at Sonesta Coconut Grove relaxing and refreshing.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dee C
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are always pleased when our guest leave happy. We will be sure to share your comments with Humberto and Zulma. We look forward to your next visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Venere and Otel so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.