We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location in Miami” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off 2 or More Nights!
Ranked #32 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Manama, Bahrain
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good location in Miami”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

this is an expensive Hotel for what it is but occupies a good location near Coconut Grove Town centre so easy to walk into for an evening stroll as well as being close tot he location. problem with fire alarm and door handle but Hotel dealt with and credited meal etc as compensation so good response. Hotel clean rooms fine.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room with a Balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
SteveBahrain
We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Sonesta Coconut Grove. Although things were not perfect we are pleased that our staff responded and was able to address all of your concerns. We hope you will return on your next trip to Miami.
Margaret rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    279
    101
    44
    35
See reviews for
189
345
49
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, Connecticut, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

I was not expecting a lot, as I was traveling for a volunteer event and they'd given the group a nice discount. Pleasantly surprised to find I had a great room with an even better view - and balcony. The room was clean and comfy, and how nice to be able to open the balcony doors for fresh air! The staff was helpful and pleasant. A small issue with non-functioning room keys at check-in (and I was really tired from an early morning flight), but quickly and pleasantly resolved.

Room Tip: Ask for bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
S_CF30_13
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your feedback. We are very pleased that you enjoyed Coconut Grove. Thank you to you and your colleagues for your work in our community during your visit. We appreciate all that you did to make our city beautiful.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

I have been traveling from Houston to Miami weekly for the past 4 weeks. Each week I've stayed in a different hotel. Last week I stayed at the Sonesta and I was impressed from the night of check-in. Upon arrival, I was greeted at the front desk with an upgrade since I was staying the entire week. The room was clean and the restaurant and room service was above average...It's the little things that make the most difference and the staff here seem to genuinely go above and beyond. The only criticism I have would be the front desk man on check-out was a rude and dismissive. But his behavior seemed out of character with the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Lisa R
Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to Coconut Grove. We are pleased that overall you had an enjoyable stay. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel for your experience at checkout. We hope that if your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove we will have an opportunity to be of service.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I had very low expectations for the Sonesta in Coconut Grove. I organise a lot of events in Miami and the cost of hotels and the quality are a very poor match. I am delighted to say that the photos are a real representation of what the hotel looks like. The lobby is impressive. The restaurant bar is incredible. The food was outstanding. The hotel rooms were fabulous. We organised an event and the banqueting staff and food were exceptional Frank and the banqueting staff were extremely professional. They bent over backwards to accommodate us and I'll definitely be returning here for future events.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Freemancnicola
Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We are pleased that all of our staff and especially our banquet team made such a positive impact on your event. We will be sure to share your comments with them and we look forward to your next stay.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I recently went to The Sonesta Bayfront Hotel in Coconut Grove in Miami for a couple of days. The hotel is perfectly situated in Coconut Grove, has a great modern vibe but the costumer service you receive lacks "service". All the personnel at the front desk were very rude to us from the beginning. The bell boys and the vallet boys where actually nice.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
DTDH
On behalf of the hotel please accept my apologies that the service you received on your arrival was not up to your expectations. Your feedback will assist us in improving our guest experience. We are pleased that you found our location and rooms up to your standards and we hope that we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel location is ok if you want to be around the Coconut Grove area. Otherwise is limited, not a lot to do at a close distance (Brickell area or Lincoln Rd offer tons of more options). Rooms with carpet are much cozier, and ask for room at higher floors to enjoy the view. If you need to rent a car they do offer convenient alternatives at their garage. Just ask for one at front desk. negotiate terms, pickup right on the spot and drop at several locations. Price will be a little bit higher, but nothing considerable. Very good service.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
EdGG2013
We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Sonesta. We value your feedback and will be sure to share your comments with our team. We strive to provide outstanding service and appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again if your travels bring you to our area.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The location was awesome! They also upgraded our room so we had a balcony and a bay view - completely worth it! The pool was nice, smaller than expected. The whole area is very beautiful with a lot to do. Definitely would recommend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
JeanB
Thank you for posting your comments about your stay. We are thrilled that you loved the hotel and we hope that we will be your first choice when your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove. We hope to see you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#13 Business Hotel in Miami
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.