We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #28 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Although we're locals we were celebrating in the area so decided to make a night of it so we decided on Sonesta great choice we automatically got upgraded to an superior room the staff was friendly wish i could remember his name but the guy whom checked us in was very friendly answered every questions there were many!! The lobby smells and looks amazing wish we could have ttried the restuarant and lounge which they do have on site but overall great stay perhaps next time!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Nivea h
We love it when locals come for a weekend getaway. We are pleased you had such a great time. If you cannot stay overnight you are welcome to come enjoy our restaurant Panorama and enjoy the view.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    270
    97
    36
    32
See reviews for
177
333
45
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Myself and the wife decided on the Sonesta for our Honeymoon and weren't disappointed. We were upgraded to a Bay facing Superior room and the View was breath taking. The Hotel has a large function room which was being used daily for Weddings and business seminars however this had no impact on the other guests. A special mention to the concierge team who organised lots of amazing trips and an Awesome car for a trip down to the keys! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thomasaginn
Congratulations on your wedding and thank you for selecting our hotel for your honeymoon. We are happy you had such a wonderful experience and we hope to see you again to celebrate your anniversary.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The hotel staff, especially the concierge and the valet, were extremely friendly. The room was large and comfortable. I do have to say though that you hear the noise from any loud music (example: Jazz playing at Peacock Café next door). The kitchen area was comfortable and roomy but a little outdated. My WiFi never seemed to work.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
JP
Thank you for the recent comments about your visit. We strive to have a friendly, welcoming staff and are always pleased when we reach our goal. Come back soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Grove
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We are locals to this area but were attending a wedding so we stayed 1 night. Look and feel was modern, clean, elegant. Stayed on the 21st floor overlooking the city. Amazing view. Only issue was that the parking took forever to bring the car around and would take a call ahead so we waited a long time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
AlfredoR
We appreciate your feedback and are please you enjoyed your accommodations. I have shared your feedback with our valet manager as we strive to provide quick retrieval times. We look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We arrived at Sonesta Bayfront on April 2, after a long day of travel and upon pulling into the circular drive, was greeted by the valet. I asked what valet parking cost, he said $25. I asked what it cost to self-park. He said $3 and hour or "the same price overnight". I was tired, I wasn't sure where the parking lot was, I agreed. The next morning, I walked to Starbucks for Coffee and discovered the lot NEXT DOOR to the hotel, literally 20 steps, and overnight parking was $12. Dishonesty is a big turnoff for me.

The front desk was kind enough to change my reservation from a king to 2 queens since my daughter was with me. The room was big, bright, clean with views of the bay. For that I would give 4 stars. However, the shower didn't work and I called the front desk (having not had a shower in 2 days was desperate! He said they would send someone right up. Maintenance did not arrive for over an hour and a half, at which point I was about to change rooms. He did fix it in about 10 mintues. All was not lost. On day three, at 8 am, the housekeeping staff stood outside our door and spoke very loudly in Spanish for quite awhile. I am normally a morning person but my daughter had been just released from the hospital so she required some sleep. Once I poked my head out the door and looked at them, they quieted down.

The pool is nice, has a great view. The bartender very friendly. Besides some minor issues, it was a nice stay in a great location near shopping.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Jax-Hart
Thank you for your comments about your stay at our hotel. I am pleased that overall your experience was great. We offer valet parking only at our hotel and there are self- parking lots nearby with varying prices and rate policies. My apologies for the maintenance issue in your room, your comments will help us improve our service response time.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Grove
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The area around the hotel is fantastic. The hotel is very well maintained. However, there was an issue accessing the internet. Free wi-fi in the lobby just didn't work with my ipad. The hotel wanted $8 for each 15 minutes of their computer use!!! This was ridiculous. Come on, this is not 90th....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Sonesta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Michael_s5S
We are pleased that your stay at our hotel was enjoyable. Thank you for your comments. We offer complimentary wifi in the hotel and also provide a help line for connecting to your devices. Our business center provides computers for those guest traveling without devices and there is a nominal fee to use the equipment. It is competitive with other outlets offering similar services. We hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed in this hotel from 3/22-3/23 in a layover between Chicago and St. Lucia. We stayed there because of how close it is to the Coco walk mall. The room was very clean and nicely done. No complaints at all about the hotel at all. However in our package we paid extra to have an American Breakfast. We woke up and left ourselves about a half hour to go get breakfast before heading to the airport. Upon getting to the restaurant they said they had no knowledge of a free breakfast and wanted to charge us 19 or 20 a person to eat. We left and went down to the lobby where the front desk said that wasn't right and wanted the name of the people working. I stated there were only 2 in the restaurant, but I didn't catch their names. They weren't going to do anything for me. He just kept saying that wasn't right. I tried to ask for money back since we paid for it with the room and it was told to me that since we paid for a package he couldn't refund us money.

At this point we didn't even have enough time to wait around as we had to get to the airport. Disappointed in the lack of customer service from the front desk. We have also stayed at the Mayfair and had no issues with receiving breakfast. Will be returning and staying at Mayfair.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
KevinK
Thank you for staying with us during your recent layover in Miami. I apologize that the breakfast included in your package required more time to prepare than you had available before your departure. We missed an opportunity to offer an alternative and we have reviewed your feedback with our restaurant team.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.