We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast Included!
Ranked #24 of 120 Hotels in Miami
israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

the hotel have good location for the trip we did!!! breakfast is nice but to expesive
the view from the room is great - you can seat att night and look the sea and get relax from the day tour - Certainly recommend.

Room Tip: take with view on the bay!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank koby48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Koby48
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at the Sonesta Coconut Grove. We agree with your tip, bay view rooms are great. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Morristown,NJ
Level Contributor
142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Don't get me wrong, the hotel is perfectly fine. I would say though, that perhaps it bills itself as more than it is. The room I stayed in, while decent sized, was not large. The bathroom was OK, but again, nothing exceptional. The air-conditioning was loud and there was no mini-bar, which I find odd, for an upscale hotel. Everything else was up to standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bropaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Bropaul
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to Miami. We are pleased that overall you found out hotel up to your standards. We offer several different room types that vary in size, bedding and view. All of our room options are viewable on our website along with photos of the great views from the hotel.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We found this hotel through the internet and it had good reviews. When we got there the hotel staff was very pleasant. The room left a lot to be desired. It was a condo that's been converted into a hotel room which is very evident. The room was ok but the floors in the hallway and in our room were dirty. It was not sound proof at all. We could hear everything our neighbours were doing/saying. We could hear all the street noise and the wedding that went on until two in the morning. You had to pay for the wifi as well. The pool/whirlpool also wasn't open passed sunset. Overall disappointed and not worth the money we spent on it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Tracy B
We appreciate your feedback about your recent visit and please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that your stay was not up to your expectations. We are a condo hotel which offers a unique experience for travelers. I am pleased that our staff was so pleasant and I will be sure to share your comments.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a good spot in Coconut Grove that also happens to have good meeting space for business purposes. The rooms are a good size, and most of them have some kind of water view. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the food at the hotel was good. I did feel that the hotel was a bit dated in terms of decor and such...but most of that strip in Coconut Grove looks like an 80s time capsule anyways, so it isn't markedly worse than other buildings in the area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Chris D
Thank you for your recent stay and for posting your comments about our hotel. We are glad to hear that overall you had a good experience with our hotel and that you found we have good views, good food and good meeting space. I will be sure to share with our staff that you also found them friendly and helpful which is one of our top goals. We hope you will return again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Mark N

I have been staying at the Sonesta in Coconut Grove for the Arts Festival the past 12 years... Every year the experience is the same... Extremely friendly staff, beautiful rooms, in a secured and safe environment. I wish every hotel experience I had was the same as this.

Thanks for another great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank topline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
MarkN
We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and that you have been returning each year for the festival. We appreciate your business and will see you next February.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

The location was great, and the room was spacious for my two sons (ages 15 & 2 1/2), my husband & I. The kids thought the sofa bed was very comfortable, and our bed was too. We were lucky enough to arrive during the Coconut Grove Arts Festival, which was steps from our hotel. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the pool was wonderful! I highly recommend this place. We will be staying here again when we come to Miami and/or head to Key West.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
JaneenB
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. All of our suites include a queen sofa bed which is ideal when travelling with family. I am glad you enjoyed the annual Coconut Grove Arts Festival. We look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed for the month of January at the Sonesta Bayfront in Coconut Grove. We loved our time there and plan to go back again next winter, It was the first time we had spent time in the Miami area and fell in love with the city, The energy and vitality of the city is great. And Coconut Grove is a wonderful place to use as a base in order to explore the whole area, The Sonesta is a fine hotel and the one bedroom suite we had was excellent (#1917). You do have to be careful to get a room or suite that faces the water because the rooms facing the commercial heart of Coconut Grove are subject to loud late night music. I know because the first suite we were in faced the commercial area and the late night music was very annoying, Maybe we wouldn't have noticed if we were out partying but since I like to be in bed by 8 pm the music did annoy me. The hotel did help us out by moving us to another location away from the noise. Excellent, friendly & helpful staff. Very nice rooms, We would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Just be careful in selecting room location unless you plan on doing a lot of late night partying. BTW, I don't really go to bed at 8, most nights I stay up until 9:15.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LarryN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
LarryN88
Thank you for starting off 2014 by spending it with us. Because we offer expended stay rates we are always happy when we are selected to be someone’s home away from home. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami hotels
Coconut Grove
The Mutiny Hotel
The Mutiny Hotel
#14 of 120 in Miami
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Mayfair Hotel & Spa
#59 of 120 in Miami
3.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
The Ritz-Carlton Coconut Grove, Miami
Conrad Miami
#8 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 1,470 reviews
Coconut Grove
Courtyard Miami Coconut Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#15 Business Hotel in Miami
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#38 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing