We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly a tad over-rated?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #23 of 130 hotels in Miami
Morristown,NJ
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Possibly a tad over-rated?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Don't get me wrong, the hotel is perfectly fine. I would say though, that perhaps it bills itself as more than it is. The room I stayed in, while decent sized, was not large. The bathroom was OK, but again, nothing exceptional. The air-conditioning was loud and there was no mini-bar, which I find odd, for an upscale hotel. Everything else was up to standards.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Bropaul
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your recent visit to Miami. We are pleased that overall you found out hotel up to your standards. We offer several different room types that vary in size, bedding and view. All of our room options are viewable on our website along with photos of the great views from the hotel.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    263
    96
    35
    30
See reviews for
166
322
44
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We found this hotel through the internet and it had good reviews. When we got there the hotel staff was very pleasant. The room left a lot to be desired. It was a condo that's been converted into a hotel room which is very evident. The room was ok but the floors in the hallway and in our room were dirty. It was not sound proof at all. We could hear everything our neighbours were doing/saying. We could hear all the street noise and the wedding that went on until two in the morning. You had to pay for the wifi as well. The pool/whirlpool also wasn't open passed sunset. Overall disappointed and not worth the money we spent on it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Tracy B
We appreciate your feedback about your recent visit and please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that your stay was not up to your expectations. We are a condo hotel which offers a unique experience for travelers. I am pleased that our staff was so pleasant and I will be sure to share your comments.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This is a good spot in Coconut Grove that also happens to have good meeting space for business purposes. The rooms are a good size, and most of them have some kind of water view. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the food at the hotel was good. I did feel that the hotel was a bit dated in terms of decor and such...but most of that strip in Coconut Grove looks like an 80s time capsule anyways, so it isn't markedly worse than other buildings in the area.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Chris D
Thank you for your recent stay and for posting your comments about our hotel. We are glad to hear that overall you had a good experience with our hotel and that you found we have good views, good food and good meeting space. I will be sure to share with our staff that you also found them friendly and helpful which is one of our top goals. We hope you will return again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Mark N

I have been staying at the Sonesta in Coconut Grove for the Arts Festival the past 12 years... Every year the experience is the same... Extremely friendly staff, beautiful rooms, in a secured and safe environment. I wish every hotel experience I had was the same as this.

Thanks for another great stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
MarkN
We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay at our hotel and that you have been returning each year for the festival. We appreciate your business and will see you next February.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

The location was great, and the room was spacious for my two sons (ages 15 & 2 1/2), my husband & I. The kids thought the sofa bed was very comfortable, and our bed was too. We were lucky enough to arrive during the Coconut Grove Arts Festival, which was steps from our hotel. The breakfast buffet was excellent, and the pool was wonderful! I highly recommend this place. We will be staying here again when we come to Miami and/or head to Key West.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
JaneenB
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit to our hotel. All of our suites include a queen sofa bed which is ideal when travelling with family. I am glad you enjoyed the annual Coconut Grove Arts Festival. We look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed for the month of January at the Sonesta Bayfront in Coconut Grove. We loved our time there and plan to go back again next winter, It was the first time we had spent time in the Miami area and fell in love with the city, The energy and vitality of the city is great. And Coconut Grove is a wonderful place to use as a base in order to explore the whole area, The Sonesta is a fine hotel and the one bedroom suite we had was excellent (#1917). You do have to be careful to get a room or suite that faces the water because the rooms facing the commercial heart of Coconut Grove are subject to loud late night music. I know because the first suite we were in faced the commercial area and the late night music was very annoying, Maybe we wouldn't have noticed if we were out partying but since I like to be in bed by 8 pm the music did annoy me. The hotel did help us out by moving us to another location away from the noise. Excellent, friendly & helpful staff. Very nice rooms, We would recommend this hotel to friends and family. Just be careful in selecting room location unless you plan on doing a lot of late night partying. BTW, I don't really go to bed at 8, most nights I stay up until 9:15.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
LarryN88
Thank you for starting off 2014 by spending it with us. Because we offer expended stay rates we are always happy when we are selected to be someone’s home away from home. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in this year! What a wonderful treat and break from the ordinary. Fabulous staff - very clean hotel - wonderful amenities! The workout room may be the best I have seen while traveling - incredible views too! The 8th floor pool deck is gorgeous and has an incredible view of the bay. The ambiance in the entire hotel is really chic and relaxing. It's right in the heart of Coconut Grove which in itself is a true find. Great hotel - great visit - highly recommended. Oh - and the rooms were great with breath taking views!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and a bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Matthew M
We are pleased that your experience at our hotel was so positive. We offer a great work out facility and also have squash courts available. Thank you for selecting our hotel and we hope you will be back again.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#42 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.