We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Trip!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Sizzler: Save 25%
Ranked #33 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Athens, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed in this year! What a wonderful treat and break from the ordinary. Fabulous staff - very clean hotel - wonderful amenities! The workout room may be the best I have seen while traveling - incredible views too! The 8th floor pool deck is gorgeous and has an incredible view of the bay. The ambiance in the entire hotel is really chic and relaxing. It's right in the heart of Coconut Grove which in itself is a true find. Great hotel - great visit - highly recommended. Oh - and the rooms were great with breath taking views!

Room Tip: Ask for high floor and a bay view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Matthew M
We are pleased that your experience at our hotel was so positive. We offer a great work out facility and also have squash courts available. Thank you for selecting our hotel and we hope you will be back again.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    487
    294
    106
    46
    39
See reviews for
193
358
51
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel is located in the ideal location for visiting Miami. It has a gorgeous pool deck with a restaurant/bar and a picture perfect view of Biscayne Bay. The rooms are sleek and modern. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Ljmahoney
We appreciate your feedback and we are very happy you had a fabulous experience. We look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The Sonesta Hotel is absolutely top notch! The service is SUPERB and the view cannot be beat! You must eat at Panorama Restaurant during your stay the food is excellent, service is even better not to mention the view.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Katherine C
We are pleased that you enjoyed the great view from your room and our restaurant Panorama. We hope to see you again soon. Thank you for staying with us.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Just stayed for 5 nights at the Sonesta for the weekend of the Coconut Grove Arts Festival. I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of my stay. The staff at the Sonesta was knowledgeable in all that was going on at all times. They were able to direct us in regards to traffic, Festival hours and events. My room was spot less and beautiful. I ordered room service, which was delicious and timely. Lastly, we had the pleasure of dinning at Panorama on 2 nights. I can not say enough of the 5 star service that is provided at this restaurant. I highly recommend the fish and the skirt steak. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: I have stayed on various occasions and have never had a less than perfect room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Kat D
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience. The Coconut Grove Art Festival is an annual event that begins right at our front door. We are pleased that you had the opportunity to experience the event as it is one of the many great things about Coconut Grove. We hope to see you next year when the festival celebrates its 52nd Anniversary.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent 4 night stay at the Sonesta. Location was great for Coconut Grove. Shops, restaurants all within walking distance. While traffic is always crazy in this area, it was also easy to get out and go elsewhere when we wanted to. We also stayed in the area for most meals which is not what I expected when we we arrived. Hotel staff were friendly. Only downside was connectivity with wireless devices, even after calling tech support. Also surprised to see that the pool and jacuzzi are closed after dark but we imagined it was related to the restaurant with which it is co-located.

My wife brings her own pillow but commented on how she also enjoyed the pillow at the Sonesta.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Crkoer
Thank you for your comments about your trip to Coconut Grove. We are pleased that your stay went so well and that you had an opportunity to get out into our neighborhood. Unfortunately during your visit we experienced some issues with our internet provider. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience. We hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

I've been to Miami several times and had not yet been to Coconut Grove. This area is a gem. Charming neighborhood. The hotel is clean, well staffed and excellent valet service. There is a fabulous pool with an amazing view. Get to the pool early because chairs fill up quickly. Awesome views of the bay. Restaurant had decent prices.

Draw back smaller standard rooms and if you have a balcony you can see into your neighbors room. Bonuses very comfortable bedding and beds. Overall great value. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
GinaKate
We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay. Coconut Grove is a gem and we are glad you found us. We offer many different room types which include different layouts so you can choose which fits your needs best. But as you mentioned, we have such great views from the pool deck, it seems that is the place everyone wants to be. We look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Just returned from 3 nights at the Sonesta. The hotel is clean (love the scent in the lobby when you walk in), perfectly located and staffed with lovely, helpful people. The view from the pool area (8th floor) is magnificent. Everything was great, but the best of all were the valets. We parked our car at the hotel and the young men working there were all exceptionally nice and helpful. Last weekend was the Coconut Grove art fair (right outside the front of the hotel) and you had to get your car, a cab, etc. from the parking garage in the back. There were benches, artwork, even plants in the waiting area in the garage. Due to the fair, the area was crazy busy, many streets were closed. One evening my daughter (who lives in another area of Miami) needed a cab to get back to her apartment. We called a cab, but the valets said they hadn't been showing up when called. They called several times, but when no one showed up, one young man on his own went a few blocks away and came back in a cab that he got my daughter on the street. I was amazed at this level of service. Very impressive.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
WallyMon54,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your comments. We are thrilled that our Valet staff and Bellmen made such a positive impression. We will be sure to share your comments with them and we hope you will come back next year.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.