We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Miami
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

View from both our room and pool was amazing. Service at the pool was excellent. The staff would move umbrellas open them, bring wet hand towels and asked if we needed anything several times while we were there. They would even bring the water from the coolers if need be. Restaurant and bar is on pool level. Had lunch and dinner there overlooking the bay. It is an all day menu and was good, not excellent. However I would definitely do lunch there again and maybe try somewhere else for dinner. Again, service was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a few.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Jplitch
I am pleased that our entire staff made you feel right at home and provided you with amazing service. I will be sure to share your comments with our team. We hope you will return again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    271
    97
    38
    33
See reviews for
178
334
47
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Very good location close to the harbor. Rooms are looking quite new and very clean. The staff is very pro active. Very nice swimming pool in 8th flloor. Price level is at high side.

Hotel is a clear recommendation.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
ErwinF
We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed Miami. Come back soon for another visit!
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The Sonesta is a decent hotel in the area known as Coconut Grove. No beach nearby but there are lots of marinas which are beautiful to walk through and there are places you can rent kayaks or paddleboards nearby. Lots of shops and restaurants close by. The hotel has a decent pool on the 8th floor with a great view and a restaurant on same floor. Gym is actually great for a hotel. They give you free wifi which sucks then charge you $10 or $15 dollars a day for wifi which works well. I personally hate it when hotels do this because my employer will not pay for my wifi if it is included, so I end up having crappy service. Hotels of the world, either charge for it or not! Don't throttle the service down so you can soak people for extra! (sorry, my own pet peeve) Ask for a room high up above the pool or facing North toward downtown Miami. Rooms facing West have no ocean view and will get more street noise at night. I would stay here again, but would have to have a rental car for heading to beaches.

Room Tip: High up over pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Scot C
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your visit. We are pleased that your overall experience at our hotel was positive. Like most hotels we offer three tiers of internet service for our guest with the complimentary tier best suited for checking email and basic web surfing. For streaming, downloading videos and using Skype we recommend one of the enhanced levels of service. Consider signing up for our frequent guest program, Travel Pass, as members receive benefits including upgraded internet at all of our hotels.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

This is a very nice hotel close to the important sail trainings and events of Miami. Rooms have small kitchenette so breakfast and lunch for sailors can be prepared in the room. Sailors can walk to the sailing club. The room size is perfect. The view is very nice. The pool on the roof is nice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
VentiMutati
We are pleased that you came to Coconut Grove for sailing. As noted we are within walking distance of several marinas and many local sailing events are held in Coconut Grove year round. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We were invited by a friend to spend the weekend at the Sonesta as a birthday gift to my husband. To begin with all visitors are met by the valet staff who are very friendly and professional. The hotel has its own garage and a parking pass is included which is a real advantage since parking in Coconut Grove is challenging. The lobby area is pristinely clean, modern and polished. The front desk staff professional, friendly and always greet those passing by the desk with a smile. The entire hotel was quiet, clean, and in good repair. Some of the units in the hotel are actually owned and lived in by private individuals as their primary residences. The pool area is their shining jewel~located on the 8th floor, it over looks Biscayne Bay where you can take in the fabulous views of the waterfront, tons of sail boats anchored off shore, and the busy goings-on of the Grove. Their restaurant/bar is right there also so you can even enjoy a nice meal there while enjoying the great ambiance. The pool is heated so it can be enjoyed at any time of the year. There are tons of things to do within walking distance, including restaurants, boating, sailing, pretty parks, a post office, convenience stores, privately owned retail shops, movie theater, etc, etc. There are many special events going on nearly every weekend. We especially liked sitting on the balcony watching the activity below and the birds riding the air currents. All in all, a great choice for an enjoyable Grove experience. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Rooms on the East side offer great views of Biscayne Bay and the parks below; the West side offers g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Babs1589
Thank you for your recent stay and for posting your comments about our hotel and Coconut Grove. We are pleased that you were able to relax and enjoy sitting on your balcony and enjoying the amazing view. We hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Good size rooms, clean and modern hotel. Our family stayed here for 4 nights and we liked it a lot. The pool area (and restaurant/bar) on the eighth floor balcony-mezzanine overlooks Biscayne bay is great, and our kids spent hours around it, and in the hot tub. Located in Coral Gables, which is quite a nice little enclave within Miami, was a nice surprise. Our room had a little kitchen (stove, fridge, sink and dishwasher), which is great if you have children. As some of the rooms/apartments have individual owners, the size & quality is a little uneven, so ask for a renovated room overlooking the Bay, and with kitchen, if that's what you want. Would I stay here again? Yes.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Errant Travel,
We are pleased that you found our hotel and enjoyed Coconut Grove and Coral Gables. As noted we are well located to visit these areas. We also offer several different room types and layouts which are posted on our website. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We rented a studio unit on the 16th floor facing the bay. A parking pass was included and we rented a car, which saved $. Many fun things to do within an easy walk--restaurants, shopping, movies, boat & fishing tours. The Sonesta is a lovely property with an excellent fitness room, rooftop pool and hot tub, with fabulous views of Biscayne Bay for many of the rooms/suites. Beautiful weather for January, too!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor above 10 or so, that faces the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Abbie H
Thank you for posting your comments about our property. We are pleased you enjoyed many of our amenities and enjoyed the area. We appreciate your business and hope you will be back again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.