We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Labor Day 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Marrero, Louisiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Labor Day 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed here for our 15th Wedding Anniversary and enjoyed our visit. The staff was very helpful, friendly and even allowed us to check in early. The food, service and rooms were great. The pool area was very relaxing. I did not want to go back home. Looking forward to our next visit. The guys taking care of our rental car were great as well. The front desk staff was always helpful. Coconut Grove was a nice area. Be sure to visit this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Dani-Rich
Happy Anniversary! We are always pleased when we have the opportunity to celebrate special events with our guests. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will consider coming back every year to celebrate.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    274
    97
    41
    34
See reviews for
183
338
47
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We had a fabulous experience at the Sonesta Bayfront in Coconut Grove! We flew our colleaugues in from all over the world, 45 of us to be exact, and had a perfect experience from check-in to departure. The meeting room was exactly what we needed, set up and equiped to cater to all of our needs. Speaking of catering-the food was off the charts! The staff was beyond helpful and if I may, I would like to mention Jammie and Carmen as two points of contact that made the entire experience smooth from start to finish. Many Thanks!

Room Tip: I suggest that you request a room higher than the 11th floor (where I was). There is a club very nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Lauren F
Thank you for selecting the Sonesta for your recent event. We are pleased that our catering and food and beverage team made such a positive impression. We will be sure to share your feedback with them, especially Carmen and Jamie. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I recently hosted our annual Women's Forum at the Sonesta Coconut Grove. The venue fit perfectly for what we needed. The staff was very helpful, the food was amazing and the accommodations were a good fit for our group. I could see a hotel room renovation in their future, but the rooms were clean and served their purpose. They were very flexible to help fit everything into our budget. We will definitely consider this property again for our next event in the Miami area.

Room Tip: Suggest a Bayfront Room on a high floor. The views are spectacular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Berms1919
We are pleased that your annual conference was a perfect fit for our hotel. We enjoyed serving your group and hope to see you again next year.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We enjoyed our long weekend stay here, although would have preferred a slightly larger room if we were staying longer. Great pool area and restaurant (delicious ceviche!) and staff that we found VERY accommodating by Miami standards. Great location, as you are an easy stroll to Cocowalk and some of the other more local bars and restaurants. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Erinmoliver
Thank you for sharing about your experience at our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and await your return.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Pierce, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Our weekend here was like a visit to your aunt's, and not your favorite aunt's, old condo in Miami. The hotel is obviously a former condo building that has been converted to a hotel/short-term residence. A decent lobby area, but cold and uncaring reception at check-in. The rooms, although clean, are converted condos with kitchenettes, small bathrooms, a relatively plain sleeping area and balconies that have been separated by canvas walls that block most of the view of the bay that you have paid extra to enjoy. There is a good view from the rooftop pool area but very limited space for swimmers and sunbathers and you must share this space with outdoor tables from the small and unimpressive hotel restaurant. This may be a good refuge for weary international travelers or traveling business people, but it is not worthy of the classification of a luxury hotel.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Traveltc36
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that our property did not meet your expectations. We offer many of the same hotel amenities as larger hotels but with a “boutique” style of design. Many of our units have kitchens or kitchenettes which is a great option for some travelers. Thank you for sharing your comments and for staying with us.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed just 3 nights straight off the plane from Heathrow. It was our first time in Coconut Grove although we had been to Miami several times before. We found the hotel easily enough using the hotel's directions although it may not be that easy for those new to driving in Miami.
The hotel is a tower block next to a busy'ish local road. The location is good for a variety of restaurants and bars starting about 100m away. It seems easy and safe enough to walk around the area at night. Nearby Coco Walk is billed by the hotel as a good place to eat, drink and shop. We think that’s overstating it a little. There is an average “Cheesecake” chain restaurant and some others that we didn’t have time to try.
The hotel restaurant is on the eighth floor and quiet whilst we were there. The only dinner we had there was good enough though without being anything special. Maybe it is a little expensive for some. We liked the continental breakfasts that we took outside on the terrace. The pool area is next to it and again fairly quiet during our visit.
We had a de-luxe bay view room that was good enough for us but I wouldn't say it was anything special and needed redecoration. It had a full kitchen but was way under supplied with dishes, cutlery etc. It was almost as if they were encouraging you to eat elsewhere. That was ok for us as it's what we do anyway.
The hotel seems ideal for the small conference or team building exercise and there were a couple of events whilst we were there.
We probably won't be returning to Coconut Grove but if we did we would probably stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Trekker512
Thank you for selecting the Sonesta for your trip to Coconut Grove. We appreciate your comments on your experience. As noted we handle lots of meetings and groups and also offer great views from our restaurant and pool area for couples on a weekend getaway.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here for 5 days for a little break. We booked a 1 BR suite with bay view on the 17th floor. The room delivered what it promised in terms of view. However compared to the last time we stayed at this Sonesta things seemed to have gone down a bit: (i) although the room has a kitchenette there were no cooking pans (we got them after asking); (ii) breakfast was Ok but nothing more (I had to ask for a coffee refill, potatoes were not fully cooked while eggs were overcooked, you can have a sausage or bacon but not both,...); (iii) one of the phones in the room was not working and even after the technician came to fix it, it was still not fully functional; (iv) the parking valet service is slooow; (v) the A/C was really noisy; (vi) I had problems with the Internet connection; (vii) no newspaper service (or at least it was never offered); (viii) the day we left there was almost no hot water; (ix) there was a billing problem which they sorted out after I pointed it out. No excuse offered... I got the impression the hotel is now fully focusing on weddings and selling rooms but less so on running a 4-star hotel. Our room was actually not owned by the hotel but by someone else (the hotel sells the rooms) so the furniture will only get replaced if that owner so decides (and why would they?). I certainly felt less as a guest than last time. Too bad. Pluspoint: the price was very reasonable and we could get into our room at noon. Overall a little disappointed as I expected more...

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Peterp_belgium
We missed opportunities during your recent stay and appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. We are focused on the experience of each guest and will address all of your comments with our team. Please accept my apologies that this trip did not match your previous experiences. Thank you for your feedback and we hope we will have another opportunity to earn your repeat business.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#44 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.