We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent by the bay hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #25 of 129 hotels in Miami
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Decent by the bay hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Valet was $25 a night which I thought was a bit steep - there are some lots and metered parking spaces around. I understand it's walking distance from Coconut Grove but also from not-so-pretty areas of Miami. The valet staff was very courteous and helpful though. The desk staff provided average service. They were nice enough to upgrade our room from city view to bay view.

We had a standard one queen bed room. A lot of people might think it's small but to me it was fine. Upon entering, there was an obviously used hand towel on top of the fridge cabinet with hair (!). Gross. We decided to put it on the floor and household picked it up the next day. There was a dark stain on the carpet too which was a shame being the room was otherwise clean, including the bathroom. The fixtures were good, nothing cracked or loose. The location is good for people visiting Miami itself. It is a 20 minute-ish drive to South Beach. For 4th of July, it was very nice to see fireworks from our room, they had it right on the bay. The pool was amazing, it's on the 8th floor and you can see the Bay and Miami while you lounge about.

Room Tip: Try to get a bay view room to fully appreciate the hotel's location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Tunalala,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. Our housekeeping team missed an opportunity for a perfect room on your arrival and we will review the details with our team. We hope we will have another opportunity to wow you with a perfect room if your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    457
    265
    94
    35
    31
See reviews for
172
328
44
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gypsy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I get to stay in a LOT of hotels and I can honestly say I have never stayed anywhere that has given me such great service. I have been lucky enough to stay here a number of times but this trip was the first in about 2 years. STILL THEY REMEMBERED I HAD STAYED THERE.

The location is great. Situated in Coconut Grove with fantastic views out across the bay, and close enough to downtown Miami for when you want to hit the party town. Check in smooth and efficient and when I needed something, nothing was too much trouble.

The rooms are great. Comfy and with all the amenities you need. I was on the 21st floor with views out towards Miami. This trip was 12 great nights where me and my team were looked after EXCEPTIONALLY well.

We were looked after by the lovely restaurant and conference staff, Omar, Jose and Manager Frank Ruiz. The latter being my hero. I hope I look that good and have that much energy when I am his age. He and his team worked tirelessly to look after us making sure we wanted for nothing. Thanks to all of them. As I said, simply awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear MartynP,
Thank you for coming back to our hotel. We are always pleased when our guests return to visit us. I am pleased that your return trip was a success and met your expectations. We look forward to your return. Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Recently stayed here five (5) days for a business conference (company: Panalpina, Inc.). Was thoroughly impressed with the hotel, its cleanliness, the location, the food and especially the very friendly staff. Special call out for Frank, and Gerladine working with our group on the 8th floor meeting rooms and restaurant; they worked hard and was extremely friendly with everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
DannyS,
We appreciate your comments about your recent visit to our property. I am glad that our team made such a positive impression on you and your colleagues. I will be sure to share your comments with Frank and Geraldine. Thank you for staying with us.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
258 helpful votes 258 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Initially indecisive about where to stay in Miami, we opted for the Coconut Grove area and the Sonesta Hotel rather than South Beach. I think I got it right as my days for partying in South Beach are now distant memories.

The Sonesta was very good and we were met with smiling faces after the 20 minute $35 cab ride from the airport. Check in was simple and the only noticeable thing being that the suitcases weren’t taken to the room. Not much of a problem though.

The 8th floor is where the action is… pool, terrace, bar and restaurant. There is a fitness suite on the very top floor. 22nd I think.

Rooms were clean, tidy and adequate. Large bathroom with shower, walk in wardrobe, safe, coffee maker and well stocked fridge. Flat screen TV. We had a 20th floor executive Bay View room, with balcony, which looked south, taking advantage of the ‘stay 3 nights 30% off’ promotion. The hotel Wi-Fi was temperamental and mostly due to the initial ‘login page’ hiding itself. We didn’t dine in the restaurant but we did have a night cap on the terrace and the quality and quantity of food looked very good. Staff were extremely courteous, helpful and friendly.

2 minutes walk from the hotel is Coco Walk with the shops, bars and nearby streets have sidewalk cafes/restaurants. If you want to visit Dadeland Shopping Mall then the 249 Coconut Grove Loop bus leaves the top of the street every 25 minutes. Its a 25c fare and runs from Douglas Road Metro to Coconut Grove Metro. A $2 Metro ticket will get you to Dadeland North Metro station and the shopping mall is across the street. We caught the 249 & Metro back to the airport… $2.25 and a 30 minute ride.

The Sonesta is very nice, quiet, charming hotel in an interesting part of Miami.

Would I return… Yes I would if the offer was still on.
Would I recommend to friends and family… yes I would

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Ajhaeh,
Thank you for recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you had such a positive experience. Please check our website when you are booking your next stay as all of the current promotions and packages are posted. We hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week at The Sonesta where we had out company's sales training. Have one negative comment and that is the elevators are slow. That's how perfect the hotel is. The food was delicious for a hotel, every meal was freshly prepared. The service was above outstanding - Frank Ruiz was so helpful and amazing. He treated each one of us with respect and couldn't do enough for us. A+ service. The hotel is situated right on the bay - cant ask for a better location. We will be back again to work with the hotel on our training accommodations, real soon. Thank you to Ebru & Alice from the sales team for making our training a great success.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
EllaM33
We appreciate your comments about your experience at our hotel with your training session. We are pleased that our Catering and Food and Beverage team made your event such a success. We look forward to your groups return.
Best Regards,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Sonesta is and has alwas been a favorite place to stay. The destination, the staff, the accommodations... everything is just A++ . Everybody is there to help and make it the most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
NoemiG,
Thank you for sharing your feelings about our property. Come back soon for another visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I'm a native miamian though I have been living in Tampa for the past 20 years. Have stayed in numerous hotels in the city as I have family in the area that I visit on occasion. Hotel is centrally located in the grove. Walking distance to multiple nice restaurants in the area. Hotel is clean and safe with fantastic views of the bay. Room was clean with excellent maid service and has a cozy feeling to it as if you were staying in your own apt. or condo. Prices were reasonable, will stay here again.

Room Tip: pick a room with a view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Jorge,
Thank you for posting your comments about your return to Miami. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#11 Business Hotel in Miami
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.