We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made our visit to Miami great even though the weather did not.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Laurel, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Made our visit to Miami great even though the weather did not.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights and booked 2 rooms through the hotel's website. We picked the hotel based on all the great reviews. We also decided to get a rental car from the airport as Coconut Grove is a little farther out from Miami Beach.

Our stay was great. Our first impression was how clean the hotel's appearance was from the lobby to the hotel's rooms. The valet and bell teams were absolutely phenomenal. Brian and Nick stood out as they always tried to find a way to give us a hand in either getting the car quick or in helping us to our room.

The front desk was also helpful as our first two rooms did not have a working fridge. The room they moved us too was amazing complete with great view and balcony as well as a full kitchen and bar.

The hotel's restaurant also has a great view. Panorama (the name of the restaurant) had decent drinks but a little overpriced for what your received.

We would def. stay here again because of the attention to detail. The housekeeping staff even went above and beyond to ensure our bed and room was serviced while we were out. It looked like we were walking into a new room each time we returned for the day.

If I could offer one suggestion it would be for the front desk staff to adapt the welcoming attitude the valet and bellmen have such as smiling and greeting guests with a "welcome back" or a big "hello!" They were very much occupied and did not look up much.

Room Tip: 1612-2 and 1812-2 were great rooms with a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Mario C,
Thank you for your recent visit and for your feedback about your experiences. We are pleased that overall we did a great job and also appreciate your comments about how we can make things perfect on your next visit.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    271
    97
    38
    33
See reviews for
178
334
47
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Our entire family spent the weekend at the Sonesta Coconut Grove and it was delightful. Ideally sited within walking distance of all of The Groves best restaurants, bars and shops. Thoroughly enjoyed breakfast daily and cocktails poolside in the evening. Great customer service. We were so impressed that we have selected the hotel as one of the preferred venues for guests attending our daughters upcoming wedding!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Agrav,
We are excited that you have selected our hotel to host your guests for your daughter’s wedding. We look forward to sharing this special time with your family and friends.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawling
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

We attended a family brunch here. Hotel is pretty and friendly. The food and atmosphere wonderful. There was a variety of foods including an omelet station, fresh pastries and various breakfast treats. I'd stay here next time I'm in the area considering my 2 hour experience. Pretty views, convenient parking and a great location. Family that stayed at this hotel enjoyed its amenities and rooms.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
DMZ56,
We appreciate your comments about your family brunch at our hotel. Our culinary team strives to present a memorable event. It will be a pleasure to share your feedback with them.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a night before we started our Ragnar Relay Race in January 2013. We got a room in advance online but our friends got a room last-minute and were very happy with the process. The first impression of the hotel is impressive. The hotel lobby is very nicely designed and very welcoming with the fruit-infused water and comfortable seating. We had a king guest room with a partial view of the water and the city. We were only there for a night so it worked perfectly but I think we would have been too cramped if we stayed there any longer and would have paid for a better room category. The bathroom was a bit small with no-frills but the lotion and soaps smelled great! We had breakfast at the restaurant and it was excellent - the waiter was very friendly and the food came out quickly. The view of the marina was gorgeous! The pool looked very nice but we didn't get to use it.
The location was excellent! Close walking distance to the outdoor shopping mall and other spots. If we ever go back, I would pay for the suite.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Bbhayes21,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit. We are pleased that the scents we selected for our lobby and our amenities were enjoyable. While we recommend booking in advance to ensure you have a room, as noted we also welcome last minute bookings. We hope your relay team had a good race.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent service, the scent in the lobby and 8th floor is relaxing and welcoming. The rooms are clean, spacious and have a balcony. The view of the ocean, is priceless specially at sunset or while having breakfast in bed! We recommend Eggs Benedict! The pool and music are what your Dr. would recommend! We had our wedding here last year, and we plan to stay only at this hotel going forward!

Room Tip: There is no carpet, just tile therefore noises can carry from and to the room easily. If it is facin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
CoolAb25,
Thank you for celebrating your wedding with us! We are pleased that we will be your hotel of choice when visiting Coconut Grove. I will be sure to share with the Chef that you loved the Eggs Benedict.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at this hotel last week. We found the hotel spotless and well maintained. The staff was well trained, friendly, and responsive. The restaurant on 8th floor offers tasty food with a lovely view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
CmBm1,
Thanks for your visit and for posting your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I did enjoy my stay here but there were some niggles. To start with there was a hole/rip in the bed sheet, the TV remote didn't work, the iron didn't work (these were resolved straight away). The coffee & creamer wasn't replaced despite that I asked for it to be. The balcony furniture was on the cheap side for a hotel of this standard. I also don't expect to pay for a bottle of water and this was the only hotel of my trip that charged for it. I'd also like to see tea and not just coffee.

The room was large, clean, the bathroom was big (although it was a mission to get the shower to work) the walk in closet was great and the bed was very comfortable with lovely white linens.

The best thing about this hotel is the views from the balcony, the great location and the good staff.

Despite my niggles, i would return and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear MsVictoria,
Thank you for sharing the few niggles in your stay with us so that we can address them. I am pleased that overall your enjoyed your visit and would return. We hope it will be soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.