We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in Coconut Grove” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Leicester
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good hotel in Coconut Grove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here last Saturday in May. Great location smack bang in the middle of trendy Coconut Grove. The hotel looks modern and clean. Valet parking was $23 which is not unreasonable for Miami.

The room was large and comfy. Fridge in kitchen area was noisy and the decor was a touch dated. The bathroom was good and the bed very comfortable (we had a kingsize).

The views from then balcony were very good and there is a rooftop pool. No resort fees so free wifi.

Good location, good hotel - recommended!

Room Tip: High floor facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
AjayMV
We appreciate your comments about your recent stay at our property and are glad you had a good experience. We hope to be your hotel of choice every time you visit Coconut Grove.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    279
    100
    42
    35
See reviews for
188
344
49
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Nice hotel in an awesome location. Only a half block from Coco Walk, a block to the bay... It couldn't be in a more perfect location, unless you added a beach. The only complaints would be that the bed wasn't very comfortable and the towels weren't very soft and our view was of the garbage pile next door. Oh. And the fire alarm blaring at 8:00 in the morning on our last day wasn't very pleasant, either. Overall, I would definitely stay here again. There's parking across the street for $5 and several great restaurants within walking distance. Notably, a FABULOUS Thai takeout/delivery service inside the Kwik Stop on Grande! Easily one of the best, if not THE best Thai I've had. It's called Asian Thai Kitchen. The Starbuck's at Coco Walk is terrible. Bad coffee, bad service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hotglasschick
Thank you for the feedback on the air freshener. We want to be fresh… but not too fresh. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Coconut Grove and encourage you to come back again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff was professional and friendly. Price affordable. The check-in was a breeze. Valet was quick. Room was beautiful. Bed comfortable. Pool deck uncroweded and views again Amazing. For a weekend in Coconut Beach - the spot is perfect. You can walk to all the great shops and dining and to The Barnacle State Park. The Peacock Garden Cafe in the hotel and garden outside is wonderful. No complaints.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
RJP3
We agree with you that we are the perfect spot in Coconut Grove! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.
Best Regards,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I booked this hotel based of reviews on trip advisor and I must say I was not disappointed/in fact very satisfied to stayed at this hotel now. The ambiance was refreshing and our check in was swift.I was allowed to check in early as our rooms were ready and was given an upgrade on the rooms. The rooms were nice and clean with a great view of the bay. The facilities at the hotel were decent (particularly the swimming pool and the lounge) and made our time pass by quickly. The location is great with many local attractions (coconut grove area) walking distance from the hotel. The staff was also very helpful and welcoming. 100% going back again.

Room Tip: Book a bay view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
MadridFannCR
We appreciate your recent visit to our hotel and are pleased we did not disappoint you. We strive to provide a clean and refreshing environment every day. We hope to see you again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This hotel was clean with a fresh modern feel. It does feel a bit sterile and there is not much for experiences or activities at the property. It is in a nice location and is real convenient to shops and restaurants on the CoCo Walk area. Overall I'd stay here again, good layout and location for a business traveler, would not choose for a leisure or family trip however.

Room Tip: Do not get the small hotel rooms. They are tiny and a lockout for the main rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
JBM19
Thank you for your recent visit and review. We are pleased that you found our property clean and the location suited your needs. Come back soon!
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel has a modern, chic feel to it. I liked the location as well, close to cute restaurants (walking distance). I also liked their heated pool as well. The downside- parking is expensive and not included. Also, the hotel room is small, while the restroom is huge. odd...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Shalalak,
Thank you for your stay at our hotel. We are happy that your enjoyed your stay. Our valet parking rates are the lowest in the area. When booking online, check out our website as we often have packages available that include parking or breakfast as options. We appreciate your business and hope your next trip to the area includes a visit at our hotel.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Hotel was very clean. The Staff was helpful but not well trained. Confusion at the front desk, as well as room service didn't get the order right once. Some of the rooms had a nice size kitchen and a full refrigerator. The beds were very comfortable. But the chairs in the rooms were not. Not all of us like to sit on the bed. The amenities were great, as were the housekeepers. They were very helpful and went out of there way to make sure you were not disturbed as well as cleaning the room right when we went out. The restaurant and pool were very nice. And the gym was well maintained and had the newest machines.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Tony D,
I am pleased that you had a positive experience at our hotel, finding our rooms clean, beds comfortable and staff accommodating. We appreciate your feedback on areas we can make even better. We hope you will be back soon.
Best Regards,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#44 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.