We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #23 of 130 hotels in Miami
Miami, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We had a business event during mid-April; all meeting activities were conducted at the Biscayne Ballroom. The ballroom was always impeccable arranged and it was always ready ahead of time. All meals were provided at the Grove Ballroom, the quality of the food was excellent, and they offered a different type of cuisine every day. We were very amazed with the service provided by the Ballroom crew; they were out of their way to service our group, very friendlies and always available to help. Special recognition to Frank Ruiz and Omar, they were above and beyond to make us feel good and enjoy an exceptional hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
PGarcia00,
Thank you for hosting your business event at our hotel. We are pleased that your event was such a success. We will be sure to share with Frank and Omar your comments. We hope we have an opportunity again to serve your company.
Regards,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    263
    96
    35
    30
See reviews for
166
322
44
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We chose the Sonesta Bayfront in Coconut Grove as we did not want to rent a car while in Miami pre-cruise. We were there for 5 nights.The location of the Sonesta Bayfront is ideal. Overlooking a lovely marina and just steps away from Coconut Grove which has plenty of shopping and dining options. We especially liked the Greenstreet Cafe for breakfast. Also the Peacock Garden Cafe right next door is a lovely place for dinner. Our room was a one-bedroom apartment with a full kitchen, bedroom, lounge, bathroom, guest bathroom and balcony. Lovely, very comfortable and clean.We had booked a corner suite which I assumed would be on an outside corner of the building with views in two different directions, but in fact it was an 'inside' corner ie our room was where two sides of the building joined. We only went to the bar once. Never ate in the hotel. The pool deck/bar/restaurant area is very windy, and there are so many options nearby. The reception staff are 'distant' as other reviewers have commented. No heads are raised when you walk by, no 'good mornings' are offered. The only time we saw any animation in the reception staff was when a resident appeared and a staff member said, "Oh, hi, Mr xxxxx, we haven't seen you for ages". Do remember that this hotel is partly hotel and partly private residences. This is not made clear in the advertising. The bellboys on the other hand were outstanding, very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Our stay was ideal and I'd go back in a moment, just one small flaw and that was the lack of engagement with the reception staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a bayfront room, it's lovely sitting on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Patnlcc,
We appreciate your comments and feedback regarding your stay. We are happy that you had such a great experience. Thank you for also sharing how we could improve to make it perfect. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We booked a suite here, knowing that nowadays "suite" can mean almost anything. But this hotel does not disappoint. My husband and I could live quite comfortably for years in the suite we had. A full-sized one-bedroom apartment, with a huge balcony overlooking both the bay and the skyline; a full kitchen with all necessary equipment and utensils; two full-sized bathrooms (both with full tubs!) and full laundry area. Housekeeping was impeccable; room service was prompt and accurate. The decor is Miami moderne: sleek, light colors, unfussy, gleaming surfaces. Every time we stepped into the lobby we fell in love all over again with the subtle citrus scent. Evenings, the lobby is aglow with candles. Service is unobtrusive and refined. The restaurant and outdoor bar on the 8th floor provides a beautiful view, great drinks and comforting food. Wi-Fi works like a champ throughout.

But the best feature of this lovely and refined hotel is the location: just steps from everything in the charming Coconut Grove village. We left the car parked in the hotel's garage and walked to four days of exploring wonderful sidewalk dining, dock walks, Peacock park, charming boutiques, gelatos, movies, pharmacy, nighttime entertainments. We loved this place and we look forward to a return visit. No once in four days did I have even a single complaint. If you don't need flash and an arcade full of shops, this is a simply exceptional hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Ccmccall,
We are very pleased that you had such a great experience at our hotel. We want our guest to feel like this is their home away from home. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope you are back again soon.
Best Regards,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

As you enter the hotel, a very cold freezing lobby welcomes you! It is anyhow humid and warm outside, this -15 degrees greeting is not nice. We started with a room in 17th floor, lokking to the city and to the top roofs of neighbour buildings, The room increadibly small with one chair . Bathroom average and old furnished. Everything looked from 70s, carpet floor, a wardroe, an unnecessary long entrance corridor. The doors are oldish, and transmits every noice from the corridor. We were very upset that the room is so small and really average, we asked for a bigger one at least with a sitting option that we have an ill kid. If he lays on the bed, teh other sits on the chair, the third have to stand up! First night they couldn't do anything, they were booked out. OK, next day after investigating for 2 hours they showed us another option with akitchen instead of a sofa or something similar, something with sofa costed 50$ more per person per night! Super! We had to get this one as were really tired of all this back and forth but I can say that fron desk is not helpful, especially teh ladies, they look to you with big eyes what do you really want from my life? Pool is oldish, small. Furniture around the pool, sitting areas, pillows are unbelivable dirty! you don't want to sit on any pillow that the mustard split on the cushions from the previous customer doesn't touch your white trouser. Inside the restaurant seems more lovely and cozy but again -30 degrees chilled out, impossible to sit and eat something without shivering.what is the point of keeping the guests like in a meet freezer I don't know! Rooms really average, they don't even have a shower cabin but a curtain!!The elevator broke due to some reason, can happen, but they have 4 , 1 is broken, 1 is for service, the rest two is hardly serving teh people and to have it repaired took them a whole day! This is still understandable if the service team and hotel employees wouldn't have pushed the guests on side waiting there and get themselves on the next coming elevator. We pulled our kid with trolley on the side and waited that the staff is comfortably can fit in and grin at us stupidly! There is no concierge or anyone to help you with anything,guide you in the city or a tip of a restaurantnothing! Front desk didn't even know to print the way to airport from the internet. When my husband was carrying our stroller, with the sleeping kid in!, the two doormen, concierge whatever you call were chatting to each other and they looked away not to help. And this didn't happen once! Unbelievable.I still think Coconut Groove is a good option to stay IF YOU HAVE A CAR. Then you can enjoy this nice district of Miami without being too much in hectic. To get to South Beach and Art Deco absolutely no problem. There are nice restaurants around, but the so told shopping quarter of Coconut Groove has vanished. So don't expect to shop or so but for anice cozy stay pick another nice hotel close by, then you can enjoy. I would never go to this hotel again and don't recommend to anyone. It is VERY HIGH proced compared to service given.

Room Tip: Sea or pool view with a sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Ensenjilg,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your visit to our property. I hope that you might contact me directly so that I can have the opportunity to discuss your experiences with you personally.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We've held a meeting here twice now and the food, staff and accommodations have been wonderful. The rooms are lovely, especially those facing the pool and bay.Highly recommend the Sonesta Bayfront.

I'd come back for a leisure trip and enjoy the facility even more!

Room Tip: Bayfront is the way to go. Avoid rooms with a -01 or -02 as they are smaller and the deck has a canv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Nisny,
Glad to hear that your event was a success. We look forward to your next meeting and hope you will come visit us on a leisure trip soon!
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I began our Florida vacation at The Sonesta last week. Upon checking in, as soon as the staff at the front desk found out we had used Hotwire to book the reservation, we got a scowl and a condescending attitude from the staff. We have used third party booking agencies in the past, and have never encountered this behavior. Our room was adequate and clean. Never during our stay were we greeted or even acknowledged no matter how many times we passed through the lobby.... The valets though were the exception....they were polite, efficient, and very helpful. There also seemed to be a problem with the sound of live music playing until around 2:00AM. I would have thought there would have been more sound proofing since we were on the 20th floor. The pool area was lovely and the area adjacent is a wonderful area to have a cocktail and enjoy the view of Biscayne bay. With the numerous choices in the area, I do believe that we will choose elsewhere the next next time we are in South Florida.
I believe that the front desk staff need to be reminded that they are in the hospitality business, and without guests, they would be unemployed.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Mbnichols,
Thank you for providing your feedback on your recent visit to our hotel. Based on your comments clearly we missed the opportunity to provide you with the type of service you should expect. Thank you for reminding us the importance of first impressions.
Best Regards,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We had a lovely large room with a corner balcony which gave us great views of the surrounding area. The pool (which is a salt pool) was very enjoyable and also gave you nice views of the area. The toiletries in the bathroom were very nice and gave a feeling of luxuriousness. The gym was relatively small for a place the size of Sonesta, but quite well equipped. The staff at the hotel were very polite and helpful, and the concierge gave us some very useful tips and information, but we felt the place generally lacked character and although the location was very nice, we had to wait over half an hour for a taxi to come and pick us up. We were not the only ones that had to wait this long either.
Our room had a kitchen in it which was really useful but the fridge was quite noisy which would have disturbed our sleep had we not unplugged it at night.
Would I stay here again? Probably not as its not really suited to our style or preferences, but I imagine it would really suit others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear MOMOS_43,
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. As you mentioned in your review, we were not exactly what you were looking for, but we are happy that your overall experience was positive and that you enjoyed the amenities we offer. Sonesta has a unique collection of hotels and we hope that in the future, if your travels permit, that you will consider visiting these properties as well.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#42 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.