We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud music down the street in the Grove” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Buford, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loud music down the street in the Grove”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is beautiful with nice amenities and great location. We only stayed one night on a Thursday. We paid for a city view on Expedia and when we checked in they gave us a suite on the 19th floor with a partial bay view - great. All was well until we went to bed and the loud music outside started to play down the street at a local bar. I called the desk at 10 PM and they said it would quite at 11PM. It went till 3AM. I went to the desk at 1:30AM and they finally gave me another room on the front of the hotel which blocked out the music. Saw the Mgr. on check out and they would not comp. the room or give a discount since it was paid through Expedia. Said she would comp. the room on our next stay in a year. I said how can residents in the hotel partial condo and neighborhood put up with this terrible music that goes on until 3AM. She said they are working with the city to get it stopped. If music is on will not get a good night sleep.

Room Tip: If night music down the street forget it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Jimkaren77
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay. We appreciate the feedback as we work with the City regarding the music. When reservations are made via third party websites any cancellations or changes must follow their policies and procedures as payment was made directly with them. As the manager mentioned when speaking with you, please contact her directly when you return so she can look after your reservations personally.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    271
    97
    38
    33
See reviews for
178
334
47
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We have stayed here several times since we race sailboats out of the Coconut Grove Sailing Club which is across the street. we have tried several other hotels in the vicinity but none are as nice, although the rooms are small. Beds are great and the pool on the 8th floor is nice to wind down in after a hard day on the water. They also have a suna in the spa on the top floor of the hotel. Be sure to request a balcony - we had a room without once before and the difference is feeling is amazing. Easy walking to several excellent places to eat and there are a couple of "hole in the wall" ice cream/yogurt places that are excellent. The restaurant is a bit pricy for breakfast but try the garden place next door and eat under the trees!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Rooms on the 9th floor are very noisy and sometimes have cooking orders
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
VetteGuyDC
As you mentioned we are the perfect location if you are coming to Coconut Grove for sailing. We are within walking distance of several of the marinas and have rooms with views of them as well. There are several great sailing events throughout the year held here so we encourage you to come back again soon.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raleigh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Location one block from Biscayne Bay on very busy street. We had a pool located on eight floor that was crowded.
Hotel is in good location to walk to restaurants and bars. We tried Monty,s and Chart house while here, both were very good with exceptional views of the water.room was small but ok.

Room Tip: Nockueunless you want to payextra
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Bob B,
Thanks for visiting Coconut Grove and enjoying all the restaurants in the area that are just a few blocks away. On a return trip we encourage you to try one of our Deluxe rooms which are larger than our Superior room but offer the same amenities.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The hotel had a beautiful lobby and checking in early on Saturday was no problem. We had a bayshore view in our room but the room was really small for two people and they gave us a room without a balcony. So even though we had the view, we could only look out of our window to enjoy it. I was told when I went downstairs that they could maybe give us a balcony with our room but could not do so till Sunday as the hotel was filled. As it was we headed out on Sunday for shopping and then to watch the Super Bowl at a pub so didn't bother with switching rooms.
On a positive note the beds were great at this hotel and the linen was top of the line.
The room had a big TV which was great as we headed back to our room at half time and enjoyed watching it sitting on that beautiful bed.

Overall the hotel was good, just wish the room had a balcony which would have made up for the small room. Note to anyone spending a weekend there, the pool is on the bayshore side and it was quite noisy on Saturday night till around midnight.

Service at the hotel bar on floor 8 was a little slow and lacking in attention from the waiters. WE had breakfast there and waited for awhile before someone even came to our table. Food was good and when we paid the lady taking our payment indicated to us that they automatically tag on 18% tip to the bill. My daughter had paid and gave a tip so the lady wanted to know if she still wanted to give this as the tip. I thought that this was very nice of her to point out as the service didn't deserve the 18% never mind an additional tip. That might be why they don't hustle as they know they are getting a tip whether they serve you properly or not.

Overall the stay was pleasant and the location was great. Bellmen outside were extremely helpful whenever we asked for directions or a place to go to and when we needed a taxi they managed to get one for us in minutes.

The saving factor for this hotel was the beds. Nothing like a wonderful bed that allows you a great night sleep and they definetly have one of the best beds I have had the pleasure to sleep in.
Make sure when you check in to ask for a balcony as I believe all the rooms without the balcony are small box type rooms meant for one person who is there for work.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony as the ones without are really small. The higher your room is the bett...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Happytraveller55-12,
Thank you for coming to Miami for a weekend getaway and selecting our hotel. You mentioned our comfortable beds and we are happy that you enjoyed it! We have multiple room types and some rooms do not offer a balcony option. You can request this at the time of booking and our reservation agent can reserve a room with this added amenity.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a suite with wrap around balcony on 15th floor overlooking Biscayne Bay and pool. View was gorgeous and room was very nice with 1 and 1/2 baths and a small kitchen with a mini bar, with a pull out sofa/bed. They had a Peruvian food restaurant with great cerviche adjacent to the pool area and overlooking the Bay also.
The hotel is within walking distance to Monty's which has great stone crab and also a Fresh Market and of course in the middle of "The Grove". There is great french restaurant called "Le Bouchon" there with sidewalk dining.
The only drawback to whole experience was a park next door where local youths played and yelled into the night. This can be solved I think by staying in the main building facing the Bay.

Room Tip: see above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Vernon C,
We appreciate you sharing the details of your recent trip to our hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the amenities of the hotel and the Grove. I will be sure to share with the team about your great experience.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Recently stayed at the Sonesta Bayfront Hotel for a weekend business trip. I had a bayview room on the 19th floor. It was such an awesome view that I spent the two mornings I was there just laying in bed watching the sunrise over the bay before I had to attend my meetings downstairs. The room was clean but very small. The was a narrow hall from the room door that led into the bedroom. The hall was so narrow that the bathroom door just barely opened into it. But the bathroom was plenty big with a garden tub. The room had a fridge that was stocked with liquor and drinks and there were even snacks (M&MS, candy bars and such) I didnt partake in any of it as the bottle of water was $6. The bed was very comfortable with more than enough linens. I personally prefer lots of pillows on the bed and was happy to see this room had seven (five on the bed and two in the closet).

The food catered by the hotel during the meetings was above average and the service was very good. Servers were very attentive and polite.

The drawbacks. This hotel also has residents. I was next to a resident who had a dog that whined and stratched at the door. Additionally, I could smell the dog in the hall of my room. The front desk was unable to move me my first night because they were sold out, but offered to move me the next day. As I was only there two nights and the dog didnt make noise overnight I decided to stay in the room and not go through the trouble of moving.

The rooms were obviously painted with a sprayer as there was paint around the edges of my window.

TV channel selection was sub-par. I haven't stayed in hotel in a very long time that didn't have HBO.

Other attendees of my meeting who were not fortunate enough to have a bayview room had a street side room and complained about the noise coming from the bars late in the night.

Although the pro's outweighed the con's, I was really turned off by the dog and tiny room. Thankfully the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
CMF_Travels,
Thanks for visit and feedback about your stay. We are pleased that you had a positive experience and we hope you will return soon. Next visit we recommend you consider one of our other rooms types as they offer the same amenities but are larger than our Superior rooms. Waking up with the great view of the bay is a great way to start the day!
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Spent a week in a deluxe room which was big and comfortable but lacking in style and totally bland unless you like everything cream coloured.Given an inferior room on arrival with no kitchen despite paying for the upgrade to deluxe on advice of a previous guest.After a call to reception got the room changed to one with the right specification.Our room was on the 9th floor with city views which basically means looking onto the hotel multi-storey car park and appartments beyond.I think you would want to be higher up to get any sort of view on the city side and the best views will be from those rooms looking over Biscayne Bay.The hotel restaurant/bar is pretty basic and lacks any style/atmosphere but the continental breakfast is good and the breakfast staff were all friendly and attentive,especially Geraldine.Coconut Grove I think has seen better days with much of the centre boarded up but still managed to get pretty lively at night with a fair spread of restaurants all wthin easy walking distance.Personal favourites were the French bistro(very popular so need to book) and the Charterhouse for great seafood.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Lizzie088,
Thank you for your comments about our restaurant staff and their attentiveness. Our Panorama Restaurant offers amazing Peruvian inspired cuisine and equally amazing views of the bay. You can checkout those views and our menu at www.sonesta.com.
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.