We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coconut grove trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #31 of 129 Hotels in Miami
NYC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“coconut grove trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Spent a week in miami with the first 4 days spent in south beach while the last 2 spent in coconut grove (another miami neighborhood). We were actually glad we did not stay only in south beach because one gets a different perspective / flavor for Miami by staying in coconut grove. Anyways about the hotel:

Pros:
* very good location - 5 minutes away from all the bars / restaurants / happening places in coconut grove
* quite new property - good furniture and decorations
* we had a high room with a beautiful bay / city view
* in many instances extremely good service - we had a problem with the AC, called them at 10 pm and somebody showed up literally 5 minutes later and fixed it
* nice pool / terrace on the 8th floor with great bay view

Cons:
* we only had one snafu in services with the cab but other than this minor one not really anything on the cons side


General Coconut Grove comments:
* all the hotels in coconut grove are clustered around for a couple of blocks
* this is very different from south beach - no beaches available in coconut grove, generally a family / houses neighborhood

If we were in coconut grove again (i doubt it but ...) we would stay at Sonesta again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
NYC_Yuppie,
As you know from your recent visit Miami has a lot to offer and we are glad you came to visit Coconut Grove on your recent trip. As you discovered there is a lot to do in the area and it offers a unique flavor only found here. Thank you for staying with us and come back for another visit.
Kind Regards,
Margaret Rose, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

921 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    476
    274
    97
    40
    34
See reviews for
181
338
47
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

I had no expectations but found that this hotel is clean, run efficiently, has a lovely pool and is in a perfect location for the marinas and town.The rooms seem to have newish furniture. The kitchens which are in some rooms are clean but but look slightly dated as are the bathrooms. Overall a very positive experience.

Room Tip: The bay view is beautiful but the city view is still very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Lisa P,
Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and are happy that you enjoyed our location and facilities. We have lots to offer in Coconut Grove and as you mentioned are close to the marinas and town. We hope to see you soon.
Best Regards,
Margaret Rose, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel for business. Whilst I can't comment on the price (Corporate billed room) I can comment on the hotel and its service. The hotel was very clean and the rooms were well appointed. I had a wonderful view from my front window. The service we recieved from the moment we arrived was nothing short of first class. All of the staff were there to help. I would ike to thank Frank Ruiz and John Abelino. They both went out of there way to help us and made our stay a great one. These two gentleman were a shining example of what excellent customer service looks like. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony and a ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Matt F
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and the service provided by our team. We appreciate your comments and hope you will be back again soon for another visit.
Kind Regards,
Margaret Rose, Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

My husband and I spent one night here on our way to our vacation in the Bahamas. While the location was great, we were disappointed with our nearly-$400 a night room.

Room 1204-2 was sold as a "Deluxe Bay View" room, but the "view" required leaning on the balcony rail and peeking around an opaque wind screen that divided the balcony in two. The room shared an entry hall and the balcony with the neighboring, connecting room, 1204-1. Our door didn't have a security latch or chain.

The room had a full kitchen, but the refrigerator was noisy, waking me several times at night with a high-pitched whine each time the compressor switched on. The walls were dingy and scratched, and the curtain was torn. There was hair in the bathtub.

We received slow, poor service both at the pool area restaurant & from room service. The bellman didn't show after more than 15 minutes. Housekeeping knocked @ 9 am.

Attention smokers: be prepared to smoke on the front porch or be re-directed all over the place at different times, as smoking is not allowed on the balconies and the areas on the 8th floor where it's permitted may be used for a private party or closed after 11 PM. One man said he'd accidentally been locked out of the building because the door allowed him to exit, but didn't allow re-entry. (He propped the door open with his shoe when I was there.)

We visited the pool restaurant twice, once for coffee and desert and then for morning coffee. After we'd looked at the menu and decided, we were told they didn't have our menu choice. It was very, very windy, so the sweetener packets flew all over. Perhaps that's why we weren't offered napkins either time.

Room service didn't bring part of our order or even coffee cups - we had to rinse and re-use the cups in the kitchen. I was told that the V8 juice I ordered wasn't available because it was Saturday and "supplies" were locked up.

We won't return to the Sonesta.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear hocndoc,
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Although we strive to provide an outstanding guest experience, sometimes we miss the mark. Thank you for providing your feedback. We appreciate your comments as they will help us to improve and provide the type of service our guests have to expect from Sonesta.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A quick in and out was all that I had at the Sonesta in Coconut Grove, but it was enough to make me wishing that I had more time there. The hotel is lovely with fine woodcuts and lithographs everywhere -- public spaces and the large, comfortable rooms. Everything is modern and well maintained. The bathroom was large and stocked with excellent Italian soaps, shampoos and lotions. The room had a little electric stovetop, refrigerator and a very well stocked mini-bar. The view of the marina across the street and bay beyond is quite stunning. Breakfast on the patio of the eighth-floor restaurant just after sunrise was exhilirating. I came on a business trip, arriving in mid-afternoon with three hours free before having to lecture at the University of Miami. A swim in the immaculate pool was just the ticket to refreshing myself after a long series of flights. The staff was consistently pleasant and helpful. I was sorry to depart after such a brief stay and would certainly go back if the opportunity arose. Although I could not take advantage of the area, just a block away was the active nightlife area of Coconut Grove. So the hotel would certainly be a pleasant place for vacationers to stay as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear noamasher,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your comments about your visit. We are a great location for business travel and as you discovered we offer many amenities to allow you to relax and enjoy any free time that you have. We look forward to your next visit and hope you can stay a little longer.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

First time on this hotel to try something new for my business trips to Miami and I had a good overall experience. The building, common areas and room are very well maintained and nice design. The F&B experience at the Panorama Restaurant was very good and staff has great attitude. The location is great, since it takes you to Coral Gables, Brickell, Dadeland and Airport from 10-20 minutes and is next to the ocean.

My only compaint is that the rooms facing south (towards Coco Walk) can get some noise from those bars at night.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Jose G,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you found Coconut Grove a great location for your travel needs. I am pleased our staff made such a positive impression and that you felt right at home. We hope you will be back again when your travels bring you to Miami.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Sonesta for a few days while in the Miami area for business and personal commitments. The hotel room was quiet, clean, and had a fantastic view of the bay that made waking up in the morning something special. The service throughout the hotel was very attentive and diligent. I recommend the hotel highly. It is perfectly located, with easy access to anywhere in Miami, or to just hang around the neighborhood for a walk or for a really good Ceviche at the Panorama restaurant in the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Dear Orlando F,
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we appreciate your feedback. As you experienced our Panorama Restaurant offers incredible ceviche and Coconut Grove has a lot to offer all within walking distance of the hotel. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#30 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#44 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.