We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I stayed at the Sonesta for 2 nights a couple weeks ago and it was beautiful. Before booking I was looking at different areas in Miami and am glad we found this gem in Coconut Grove. We stayed here for work and it was wonderful to be at walking distance to Cocowalk (shops & restaurants).

The staff is here is wonderful and friendly - and extremely helpful. Check in was a breeze and the front desk attendant (Adrian) was so welcoming. I was upgraded from a Superior Bay View Room to a Deluxe Bay View room. I believe the only difference was it was a bit larger and it had a balcony. The rooms are a bit small, but for a 2 night business trip it was okay. The beds were very comfortable and had large feather down pillows (heavenly!).

The only complaint I have is that we brought some beers to drink by the pool at night after work (we do this a lot on business trips) and we were told we couldn't drink our drinks by the pool unless we purchased them from the bar. I've never experienced this from any hotel and I travel frequently. That was a bit of a let down as the rooms weren't big enough to entertain.

Asides from that, great hotel, great views, and wonderful service!

Room Tip: make sure to get a bay view - the view is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear t-wiu,
We appreciate your comments about your recent visit to our hotel and are pleased you had a great stay. I am very pleased that our staff made you feel welcomed and right at home. As you are familiar with layout of our pool deck, some seating is part of the restaurant and if liquor is served in those areas, it must be purchased from bar. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again if your travels bring you back to Miami.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    279
    100
    42
    35
See reviews for
188
344
49
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very nice hotel, centrally located with walking distance to restaurants, shopping. The view was beautiful staff very accommodating. Perfect size hotel, not too big, but big enough to have everything we needed. Only have two recommendations, a mirror somewhere in the room, other than the bath, so if bath is in use, you can still put on make-up, get dressed, etc. It is the first thing i look for when I walk in a hotel room, but that is my only complaint, and a hook to hang towels in the bathroom!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear magsmom,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your time spent in Coconut Grove. We appreciate your recommendations for the extra mirror and hook in the room to make it more like home. We hope you will be back again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We have stayed several times at Sonesta Hotels with very good service. This was our first and last time at Sonesta Bayfront Coconut Grove. We arrived at 3am and left the Hotel at 10am. When we came back at 8pm the room was not done . They just said that they did not make the room on the same day of arrival!!!They did not even apologize or changed the towels!!! Even our dirty breakfast tray was still in the room. The only answer was that we has arrived that day....
The people in the front desk were every rude, they would not even say hello when you came in the hotel. Will never return!!!!

Room Tip: I enclose the picture of our room at 8pm .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear MarisolS,
Thank you for your recent feedback about your experience at our hotel and please accept my apologies that your recent stay was not up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on exceeding our guest’s expectations but sometimes we miss the mark. As returning guests, this is not the service you have come to expect from us and we hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with the type of experience you have enjoyed in the past.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, KY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed at The Sonesta for a long weekend. My husband contacted the hotel prior to out stay to tell them we had missed a 10 year anniversary trip and they upgraded our room to a suite with a beautiful view of the bay and surprised us with strawberries and champagne in our room one evening. The room was very clean and recently updated. The staff was very friendly and helpful about giving us suggestions about where to eat and shop. It was very quiet at night. Im a light sleeper and i disnt hear a thing. We didn't use our car during our stay because we could walk everywhere around Coconut Grove. Overall, we loved the area and te hotel was great. We would return.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear chrisandkatie01,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent stay at our hotel and more importantly celebrating your anniversary with us! We are glad that you enjoyed Coconut Grove and all the activities within walking distance of hotel. I am pleased that our staff was able to assist your requests and made you feel welcomed. We hope you will return soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I attended a conference at the hotel. My bayview room had a spectacular view of Biscayne Bay but regrettably the sunrise was not included in the view. We were within easy walking distance of numerous restaurants, sidewalk cafes and shops. I look forward to my next stay at Sonesta.

Room Tip: Superior bayview rooms with a balcony facing east get the sunrise view and also overlook the quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear fourhoops,
Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and conference. We hope you will return next time you are in Miami.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fondy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

My husband was here for business and it just happened to fall during our 40th Anniversary. The Staff was excellent and the property was very clean. The beds were SO comfortable. We were in room 904-2 with the pool below us on the 8th floor. My husband is afraid of heights so this worked out well. I liked the pool on the 8th floor and when it at the peak of the afternoon sun, Mark came around with fresh water and cooling towels to serve the pool customers. We ate breakfast there in the mornings then went next door to the Peacock Cafe and had delicious food there as well. Hurricane Sandy was making it's enterance to the Florida coast while we were there and wefelt safe the whole time. Definetely a place that my Husband and I would visit again.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor which is centrally located by the pool and restraurant. If you are not afr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Dudley D,
Congratulations and Happy Anniversary! We are happy that you selected our hotel for this important celebration weekend. Your photos show that the sunset from our pool deck is amazing and often before a storm even a little more spectacular. I am pleased that you had such a pleasant experience and we hope you will be back again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel was amazing from the acutal venue but the staff was just as great.

We held a meeting for our Caribbean distributors, our guests from Japan and Panana. Everyone was very content with hotel. The catering department did such an amazing job with our guests during our meeting. Especially Omar and Frank who was always so attentive to everyone and made sure everything was taken care of.

The executive office were a great help as well to make sure everything was smooth sailing with our conference. Thanks Carmen and Nicole.

We would absolutley hold another conference as well.

Room Tip: The deluxe bayview room was very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Deniseth R,
Thank you for recently hosting your conference at our hotel. We are very pleased that your experience with our Sales, Catering and Banquet team was so enjoyable. I will be sure to share your feedback with them. We look forward to your next conference and hope we can be of service again.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#44 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.