We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Toyota- Caribbean Technical Meeting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #24 of 130 hotels in Miami
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Toyota- Caribbean Technical Meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The hotel was amazing from the acutal venue but the staff was just as great.

We held a meeting for our Caribbean distributors, our guests from Japan and Panana. Everyone was very content with hotel. The catering department did such an amazing job with our guests during our meeting. Especially Omar and Frank who was always so attentive to everyone and made sure everything was taken care of.

The executive office were a great help as well to make sure everything was smooth sailing with our conference. Thanks Carmen and Nicole.

We would absolutley hold another conference as well.

Room Tip: The deluxe bayview room was very nice.
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Deniseth R,
Thank you for recently hosting your conference at our hotel. We are very pleased that your experience with our Sales, Catering and Banquet team was so enjoyable. I will be sure to share your feedback with them. We look forward to your next conference and hope we can be of service again.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    257
    94
    35
    30
See reviews for
165
317
43
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Been staying here almost 4 years and love it!!! Although I'll be happy when my son graduates Miami U the sad part is I'll be seeing less of the Sonesta. Great place for R&R and I really can't say a bad word about it. I'll miss it especially Ms.Varela and her helpfulness. Oh well it's not over yet. See everyone soon. Take care.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear James A,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for your comments about your experience. We are pleased that you have selected our hotel when you come to visit you son and although he may graduate soon, you are always welcome at Sonesta. We look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Lovely locale away from crowds of S Beach. Beautiful bay views. Excellent Peruvian-leaning cuisine. Great, competent, unobtrusive staff. Recommend for an event or leisure getaway. Spring for the deluxe, bay view if possible. If not, the regular city view room is perfectly fine My daughter had her wedding reception during our stay. Everything was perfect. Events staff and service staff are top notch.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Pearly123,
Congratulations to your daughter and son in law on their recent wedding. We are so pleased that we were able to share such a special day with you and your family and that everyone enjoyed the reception. Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel for such an important event. We appreciate your business and hope that you will return soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

From the moment we walked in, to the moment we left (and we most definitely did not want to!) we felt like royalty! The service was amazing; anything we needed was provided for. This hotel takes "boutique" to the next level. Not to mention the location is prime; awesome restaurants, day and nightlife is plentiful. Anytime I'm in Miami, this will be the place I stay! Thank you Sonesta, you made our stay absolutely perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Cerace,
Thank you for your comments about your experience at our hotel. We are very pleased you had an amazing time and we look forward to your return!
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Just returned from an amazing 3 night stay at the Sonestra Bayfront Hotel in Coconut Grove.

We arrived in very windy rainy conditions on Thursday from Hurricane Sandy going up the coast and parked outside and the staff immediately welcomed us and helped unload and took our luggage to our room. We decided to valet park our car, not something we normally do but thought with the weather and our long journey we would, it cost $23 a day. I then went and checked in and got told that we had been upgraded to a bay view room which was a lovely touch and well worth it. On route to our room had a nice chat with the bellman who told us about the bus tour of Miami and where to get it from.

Our room was just the right size for two, nice big bed, and an amazing view of the bay from the balcony. Do ask for a high floor room though as you can hear music from a nightclub till 3am and we were on the 12 floor. We decided to eat in the hotel the first night, and even though it was small and intimate restaurant on the 8th floor, the food and service was top notch.

On Friday we decided to cancel our planned golf due to the weather and reschedule for the Saturday and do a bus tour which Marco arranged for us as well as booking us another tee time. He was very helpful.

The bus tour is a must and shows you all the different areas of Miami, you can hop on and off the bus and the stop is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel near Coco Walk.

Coco Walk is a lovely friendly area just 5 mins from the hotel and has shops, restaurants along with Starbucks, Chillis, Cheesecake Factory, Fat Tuesday bar that you can sit and people watch, and a cinema. Coco Walk is apparently the second best place to go at night in Miami after South Beach, so the tour guide told us !

Whenever we wanted our car it was with us within 5 minutes and the staff were always very friendly and helpful. The pool on the 8 floor had amazing views and lovely loungers (even though the pool could do with a clean, from the leaves etc from the bad winds that had settled on the bottom of the pool).

When we checked out, Irlanda was a very friendly and professional member of staff who did this for us, and made it very smooth, with the help of the valet guys, the staff are an asset to the hotel.

I would definitely come back here one day and would recommend it, it is a lovely modern hotel in a great location, and if you need any help with your requirements before you arrive then ask for Elizabeth Dubon, she has been a star.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Flossy R,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and your feedback about your experience. We agree that there are a lot of activities in the area and as you found on the bus tour, many easy ways to see Miami. I am happy that you found our staff both helpful and welcoming. I will be sure to share your comments with them. Please accept my apologies about the pool needing some additional attention; with the high winds for several days after the storm it took us a few days to get it back in tip top shape. We look forward to your return and hope your next visit will be soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

Good hotel for a conference. Good food served. Nice view of bay in back of hotel. Friendly service from start to finish. Great hotel if you want to be in this area. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to stay in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Hawstev,
Thank you for your recommendation of our hotel as a good place to stay in Coconut Grove. I am pleased that your conference went well and that your enjoyed your visit. We hope you will be back again on business or pleasure.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I've stayed here once for business in March 2012, and I'll be going back again this fall. The front entrance is small, so getting into the valet (and lines) can be a little tricky, but there is a spacious parking garage at the hotel where guests cars are kept. The lobby is modern, minimal and elegant. Staffers were great. My room was modern and clean and the balcony was awesome. Pay for the bay view rooms. It's worth the extra cost.

I can't wait to try out the roof pool on my upcoming trip.

I absolutely love getting up in the morning at this place, looking out at the views of the Coconut Grove yacht club and Biscayne Bay, and then going on a walk down to Kennedy Park around the corner. I lived in Coconut Grove for a couple years in the 1990s, so the town has a special place in my heart.

There's a lot of traffic in general in Miami on Bayshore Drive heading north toward downtown, so it does take a little longer to get around town than it used to.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Dear Vinovixen,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We are always pleased when a former Grove resident returns for a visit and is able to enjoy the neighborhood. While much has changed since you lived here I am sure you will agree it is a great place with incredible views. We look forward to your return this fall.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#25 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#39 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Amex, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.