We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Campinas, SP
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We reserved an apt during a weekend with our daughter. It was a good surprise and we decided to stay during another week. Fine views, nice apartment, excellent location, good price. A pleasant stay!
The only issue was the room service.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny with views from sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear CaioVi,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your stay at our hotel. I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit and returned for another week. Please accept my apologies for any inconveniences you experienced from Room Service. I have shared your feedback with our Director of Food and Beverage so we can improve on our services. We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    271
    97
    38
    33
See reviews for
178
334
47
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We travel to Miami often as our daughter is a student at the University of Miami. We usually stay at the Biltmore or the Ritz Carlton. Because there were no rooms available there I booked at the Sonesta, expecting a mediocre experience. What a pleasant surprise. The views are amazing and the location is great. Service is excellent. Will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Ravimasih,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for your comments on your experience. We are just a few minutes from the University of Miami campus and Coconut Grove is a great alternative to Coral Gables. We hope you had the opportunity during your visit to enjoy some of the many shops and restaurants within walking distance of our hotel. If not we hope you will be back again soon to visit and explore.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We hosted a cocktail reception and seated dinner in a private room at the Sonesta in Coconut Grove in August, 2012. During planning of the event, we encountered some difficulty, but the management team acted responsibly and made every effort to host a successful evening.

The event was exceptionally well-done thanks to the catering staff at the Sonesta. Particularly, Frank, Omar and Jose did an excellent job in making our guests feel special and welcome to the well appointed private room adjacent to the Panorama Restaurant. From the standpoint of the venue, the Sonesta is a gem of a property with spectacular views from the balcony just off of the private room. Our guests were treated to excellent food, attentive service, and impeccable care from the staff. Kudos to Sonesta Coconut Grove!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Dan O,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent event at our hotel. I am pleased that your guest had such a wonderful experience. I apologize that your initial planning did not start off smoothly but I am proud that our team worked together to make it right. I will be sure to share your comments with Frank, Jose and Omar. We hope you will be back again soon to host another event or to dine with us in our Panorama Restaurant.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent 3 nights there in a "deluxe" bayfront room on the 18th floor. Nice balcony and a nice view, but the room is completely "unfriendly". Huge TV and a comfy bed, but there really wasn't enough space for anything else. In fact, we were contantly in each other's way just moving around normally. Perhaps as a 1 person room it might have been tolerable. This really doesn't make sense since the closet, bathroom and an empty "closet" intended for a washer and dryer were larger than the "living" space of the room. It was sort of ridiculous. In the bathroom there were at least 4 mirrors, but there were no mirrors anywhere else in the room. Housekeeping was poor. The first day they didn't come until after 4pm, and then were indignant when we asked them to return in a few minutes, noting we were gone all day. We were rewarded by them forgetting to leave coffee, and punished when the maid turned off the air conditioner...It was September in Miami! The heat index was 99! Oh yea..the closest ice machine was on the 8th or 9th floor...we stayed on the 18th...it melted by the time you got back to your room! The pool was also around the 8th floor, but was small. and did not have alot of room for people to lounge, or so it seemed. The required valet at $23 a day is becoming the norm, but the driveway was so small, only 3 or 4 cars could be handled at once, and that was an accident waiting to happen. To their credit, the guys that worked the valet hustled and did their best, and were tipped accordingly, but they were the only smoothe part of the operation. Sorry to be negative. I have been a Sonesta fan all my life, but this was a miserable experience. With the Ritz a block or so away, and a few other nice hotels in the Grove, I would unfortunately avoid this one. They are trying, but they just don't hit the mark set by my other Sonesta experiences.

Room Tip: If the deluxe room was as small as mine, I can't imagine what definately ask for a room on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear beyerrd,
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that our facilities did not meet your expectations. As a boutique style property we offer a wide variety of room types all with different layouts to choose from. We appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in improving our guest experience. Although we missed the cut on this visit I hope that in the future we might have another opportunity to provide you with the experience you have come to enjoy from Sonesta.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

the hotel has a very nice location, the is alot to see at coconut grove specialy for the night, at panorama restaurant food was very good, is a peruvian kind, and the view is spectacular! perfect for a nice lunch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear AndreaS,
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about our restaurant Panorama with its Peruvian cuisine and amazing views of the bay. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sonesta Hotel for 5 days and it was great. The hotel is very clean and contemporary. It has many wonderful traditional features - restaurant, pool, fitness centre etc but also located in the inviting, cozy community of Coconut Grove. So there are many great things to do around the hotel. The hotel staff was wonderful - very friendly and helpful. My suggestion is to pay a little more for a bayfront view. Also, request a full kitchen and on an upper floor .. the view was breathtaking!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Bayfront side have great views of the area and the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear tnaw,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed Coconut Grove and all it has to offer within walking distance of the hotel. We agree that our bay front rooms offer outstanding views of the water but our city views offer views of some pretty spectacular sunsets. We hope you will be back soon for another visit.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

With my business in the insurance industry I travel a lot and have been in an array of four and five star hotels and am accustomed to the royal treatment. My four day stay @ the Sonesta was a remarkably wonderful experience. The staff there were fantastic. The front desk ladies were always smiling and greeting every guest that crossed their path making me feel truly welcome.
The room although not very big compared to other places I have been too but they were very clean rooms. I will say the room I stayed in had an amazing view of the
bay.

The food I ate was right up my alley. The Panorama restaurant which is
inspired by peruvian food was a delightful experience. Special shout out to
the waitress Yusime...but what impressed me overall was the banquet team.
Another shoutout to Jose and Frank for their careful attention to detail. For ensuring I as well as the other attendees were well fed and our needs met to the fullest. That type of service is hard to find but very valuable.
They put to shame the hotel which I am currently staying in. I will make sure
I return to the Sonesta next time my job takes me to Miami and will stay away
from this unnamed hotel next time I am in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Monick1,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your comments. I am pleased that our Food and Beverage team made such an impression on you and that you enjoyed the offerings of Panorama Restaurant. Our entire team strives to make our guest feel welcome and at home and we are glad we were able to do this for you. We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Miami
#12 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#27 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.