We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Event @ Sonesta Bayfront Hotel in Coconut Grove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Summer Sizzler: Save 25%
Ranked #37 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Special Event @ Sonesta Bayfront Hotel in Coconut Grove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We hosted a cocktail reception and seated dinner in a private room at the Sonesta in Coconut Grove in August, 2012. During planning of the event, we encountered some difficulty, but the management team acted responsibly and made every effort to host a successful evening.

The event was exceptionally well-done thanks to the catering staff at the Sonesta. Particularly, Frank, Omar and Jose did an excellent job in making our guests feel special and welcome to the well appointed private room adjacent to the Panorama Restaurant. From the standpoint of the venue, the Sonesta is a gem of a property with spectacular views from the balcony just off of the private room. Our guests were treated to excellent food, attentive service, and impeccable care from the staff. Kudos to Sonesta Coconut Grove!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Dan O,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent event at our hotel. I am pleased that your guest had such a wonderful experience. I apologize that your initial planning did not start off smoothly but I am proud that our team worked together to make it right. I will be sure to share your comments with Frank, Jose and Omar. We hope you will be back again soon to host another event or to dine with us in our Panorama Restaurant.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    299
    108
    47
    41
See reviews for
195
367
51
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent 3 nights there in a "deluxe" bayfront room on the 18th floor. Nice balcony and a nice view, but the room is completely "unfriendly". Huge TV and a comfy bed, but there really wasn't enough space for anything else. In fact, we were contantly in each other's way just moving around normally. Perhaps as a 1 person room it might have been tolerable. This really doesn't make sense since the closet, bathroom and an empty "closet" intended for a washer and dryer were larger than the "living" space of the room. It was sort of ridiculous. In the bathroom there were at least 4 mirrors, but there were no mirrors anywhere else in the room. Housekeeping was poor. The first day they didn't come until after 4pm, and then were indignant when we asked them to return in a few minutes, noting we were gone all day. We were rewarded by them forgetting to leave coffee, and punished when the maid turned off the air conditioner...It was September in Miami! The heat index was 99! Oh yea..the closest ice machine was on the 8th or 9th floor...we stayed on the 18th...it melted by the time you got back to your room! The pool was also around the 8th floor, but was small. and did not have alot of room for people to lounge, or so it seemed. The required valet at $23 a day is becoming the norm, but the driveway was so small, only 3 or 4 cars could be handled at once, and that was an accident waiting to happen. To their credit, the guys that worked the valet hustled and did their best, and were tipped accordingly, but they were the only smoothe part of the operation. Sorry to be negative. I have been a Sonesta fan all my life, but this was a miserable experience. With the Ritz a block or so away, and a few other nice hotels in the Grove, I would unfortunately avoid this one. They are trying, but they just don't hit the mark set by my other Sonesta experiences.

Room Tip: If the deluxe room was as small as mine, I can't imagine what definately ask for a room on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear beyerrd,
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that our facilities did not meet your expectations. As a boutique style property we offer a wide variety of room types all with different layouts to choose from. We appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in improving our guest experience. Although we missed the cut on this visit I hope that in the future we might have another opportunity to provide you with the experience you have come to enjoy from Sonesta.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

the hotel has a very nice location, the is alot to see at coconut grove specialy for the night, at panorama restaurant food was very good, is a peruvian kind, and the view is spectacular! perfect for a nice lunch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear AndreaS,
Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. We appreciate your feedback about our restaurant Panorama with its Peruvian cuisine and amazing views of the bay. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Sonesta Hotel for 5 days and it was great. The hotel is very clean and contemporary. It has many wonderful traditional features - restaurant, pool, fitness centre etc but also located in the inviting, cozy community of Coconut Grove. So there are many great things to do around the hotel. The hotel staff was wonderful - very friendly and helpful. My suggestion is to pay a little more for a bayfront view. Also, request a full kitchen and on an upper floor .. the view was breathtaking!

Room Tip: Rooms on the Bayfront side have great views of the area and the water!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear tnaw,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed Coconut Grove and all it has to offer within walking distance of the hotel. We agree that our bay front rooms offer outstanding views of the water but our city views offer views of some pretty spectacular sunsets. We hope you will be back soon for another visit.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

With my business in the insurance industry I travel a lot and have been in an array of four and five star hotels and am accustomed to the royal treatment. My four day stay @ the Sonesta was a remarkably wonderful experience. The staff there were fantastic. The front desk ladies were always smiling and greeting every guest that crossed their path making me feel truly welcome.
The room although not very big compared to other places I have been too but they were very clean rooms. I will say the room I stayed in had an amazing view of the
bay.

The food I ate was right up my alley. The Panorama restaurant which is
inspired by peruvian food was a delightful experience. Special shout out to
the waitress Yusime...but what impressed me overall was the banquet team.
Another shoutout to Jose and Frank for their careful attention to detail. For ensuring I as well as the other attendees were well fed and our needs met to the fullest. That type of service is hard to find but very valuable.
They put to shame the hotel which I am currently staying in. I will make sure
I return to the Sonesta next time my job takes me to Miami and will stay away
from this unnamed hotel next time I am in Los Angeles.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear Monick1,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for sharing your comments. I am pleased that our Food and Beverage team made such an impression on you and that you enjoyed the offerings of Panorama Restaurant. Our entire team strives to make our guest feel welcome and at home and we are glad we were able to do this for you. We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Great location and perfect size suite for five nights. Suite had everything one needed for a long stay. Underground parking right to the hotel is ideal if you do not need the valet service. Nice pool on 8th floor, ideal for a morning dip. Checked out the gym, but didnt use, but looked very well equipped.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear whitelion 1209,
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you found our hotel an ideal location for your recent visit to Miami. As you mentioned, we have a great gym available and in addition to the mix of equipment it has great views of Miami. We hope you will be back again soon to give it a try.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldsmar, FL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

There's no better location for enjoying a relaxing weekend in Coconut Grove. Attentive service personnel...valets, front desk, bar, restaurant, pool staff...all helpful, cheerful, and attentive.

We booked a one bedroom suite which was super-spacious and comfortable with an excellent view, full kitchen and in-room whirlpool. I would highly recommend spending the extra amount to really enjoy what the hotel has to offer.

Security is excellent, and there are always service personnel around. Amenities include an outstanding 8th floor pool, wonderful lounge chairs, top-notch restaurant, squash courts, and very extensive art collection throughout the hotel.

Furnishings were a bit worn, and the drapery is torn. The soap dish fell off the shower. No paper goods in the kitchen. All small negatives in comparison to the overall experience.

Room Tip: Get the suite...it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Dear tas10000,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and your feedback about your experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed our 8th floor pool deck and Panorama restaurant as well as the amenities offered in our suites. Please accept my apologies for the maintenance issues in your room. We provide paper towels in our suites and kitchenettes but we will consider adding other paper products based on your suggestions. We hope you will be back again for another visit soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#20 Business Hotel in Miami
#37 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.