We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't rate them low for that?!?!?!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #30 of 129 Hotels in Miami
East Coast Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“You can't rate them low for that?!?!?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

People drive me crazy rating a hotel low because of bad service at a restaurant in the hotel or rude housekeeping or stupid one off kind of situation that has no bearing on other travelers. But here's my two cents on Sonesta. I travel alot and got a great rate on travel website so I stayed there. Normally too expensive at regular rates. But nice boutique hotel, small rooms and great restaurant. TV was large flat mount with in-room movies (adult and pay per view), pool was nice (on the 7th floor- cool!) and restaurant was out of this world. Expensive but fantastic. great personal service and the manager was awesome. It was almost as if it was HIS restaurant. Clean room with awesome bed/bedding but definitely on the small side for a upscale hotel. I believe it was once a timeshare or condo's because of the size and layouts. Ask for a room with a view because they have incredible views of the water. Recommend it!

Room Tip: Located right next to marketplace with movies, restaurants and shops. Across from HUGE beautiful par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear lodom,
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience and we look forward to your next stay.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    479
    274
    97
    41
    34
See reviews for
183
338
47
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

At first I was pleasantly suprised with this hotel's facilities since I always expect hotels in Coconut Grove to be very old and with poor maintenance. The buidling is very nice and there's this incredibly pleasant smell when you enter the front desk. The staff is kind of friendly and the service is prompt.
I was somewhat annoyed that there was no self parking and valet parking is $30 a day, very expensive for my taste.
The rooms are kind of old but with good maintenance and nicely decorated. The bed is really comfy and the pillows are to die for.
There are a lot of restaurants and shops near by that stay open late hours, which I found very convenient.
I also loved my early morning runs in Bayshore Dr. and this cute little park that has the loveliest view of the bay and a pillow soft running trail.
The big downside for me was that there was a inicident with one of my bags missing when the bellboy brought them up to my room when I checked in. They were very suspicious about it all the time and gave me no real answers. I made a security report and they told me they would get back to me with more information the next day. The whole day past and I called at night to follow up on the matter and they told me that the bag had just "appeared" at the front desk. I was puzzled but I picked up the bag and everything was ok, they gave me no answers to what had happened. During the rest of my stay I was very uneasy and careful not to leave anything out, not even clothes and I locked my suitcase at all times when out of the room.
Oh and by all means do not get sick and expect assistance from this hotel. One of my coworkers started feeling ill one night and we called the front desk to get a doctor or someone to check her blood presure and they told us that it would be $2000!!!! I thought that was completely outrageous. I decided to just take my friend to a Walgreens to get her BP checked, and luckly it turned out to be just an allergic reaction.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear traveler1007,
Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize if we did not provide more details regarding your missing Gap shopping bag. It was found on the floor in front of the desk and once discovered was placed in lost and found. Unfortunately the night Security does not have access to lost and found but based on your feedback it is something we are considering. Like most hotels, we do not have a hotel doctor on property so we can only refer guest to a private doctor service or contact Fire Rescue if they are feeling ill and need someone to come to the hotel. We hope that your overall experience at our hotel was enjoyable and we also hope to see you again if your travels bring you to Miami.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is half a block from Coco Walk, where there are a lot of little shops and restaurants. The hotel itself is very modern and touts a small art collection. Across the street from the hotel, there is a neat little park and walking path around the bay that is a great option to a morning workout in the hotel gym.

I stayed in a standard king bed room recently and found the room to be decent size, but very low on the natural light scale. There was only a small balcony with a standard size glass door that allowed only a small amount of light into the room. However, the room faced the bay and the view was outstanding.

Bathroom was decent and for some reason there was a large, deep cabinet in the bathroom. It didn't have anything in it, but it was large. Shower was normal, and the towels were large and soft.

The bed was very comfortable and had just the right firm to pillow-top softness ratio, but the pillows... the pillows are what made this hotel for me! Most hotel pillows are way too firm and fat and it's rare that I am able to sleep. But the pillows at the Soneseta were perfect. A mix of firmness was provided with about 6 total pillows to choose from, but my favorite are the soft, downy pillows. I slept better than at most other hotels.

Valet is $23 per day. I stayed for 2 days, but was only charged for 1 day because they don't rollover into the new day until 4 pm. It's cheaper to opt for the valet than the self-park next door, which is $30 a day.

Room Tip: Reserve a room on a high floor facing the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Whaltar,
Thank you for your feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you had a great night’s sleep and enjoyed our selection of pillows. Next time you are here, stop by the front desk for a brochure of our artwork and feel free to take a “museum” walk around the property. We hope to see you soon.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Extremely well located in the heart of Coconut Grove / Quiet / Spacious accommodations with breathtaking views / The Sonesta team always helpful... Been there many times despite other recommendations, and will continue... Highly recommended.All restaurants are a short walking distance as is the mall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Pierre D,
Thank you for your confidence in us and for being one of our repeat guests. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Our waiter Remy Brutus was wonderful, if you ever eat there ask for him. He gave wonderful recommendations and was very accommodating. The food was amazing I recommend all the appetizers especially the shrimp tempura and the parmesan scallops and of course the ceviche was so fresh and delicious!!

Room Tip: Bay front view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Shaefer W,
Thank you for your great comments about our Panorama Restaurant and our waiter Remy. He is looking forward to your next visit so he can recommend more great food to you.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I've been to this Sonesta more than 5 times over the last years (I have friends nearby) but last visit was such a disappointment that I am not coming back. I have paid almost USD 400 a night for a one-bedroom suite that had ripped curtains, chipped furniture and even though towels and sheets were clean the overall feeling of the room was not what I expected for that price. It's definitely going downhill.

I am not someone that likes writing bad reviews and I have struggled to post this one because my other visits to the Sonesta were, in fact, good enough for me to oversee some small flaws. Flaws are not small anymore... that's why I finally decided to write.

Bell captain and valet parking guys were as always great but this did not compensate the front desk attitude. Besides the lack of a smile, my husband and I were denied a late check out (that we indicated that we were willing to pay for) because they were completely full.

Full? How was it possible when I was able to make a reservation for that extended day on their own web site???!!!

After that, I was so disappointed that decided to leave the hotel and next time I am in Miami (in fact, next month) I am NOT coming back to the Sonesta.

Thank you Tripadvisor for making us smarter travellers that know how to gather information and better analyze what is being said and offered to us.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear DriCa_Sp,
Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We make every effort to accommodate request for late checkouts, however due to the arrival of other guests into a particular type of room we are always able to do so. We appreciate your feedback as it assists us improving our service. We hope we will have another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

We came to Miami with our little lady a year old. We stay in a deluxe room with two bedrooms in it was just perfect for us. Reviews are quite accurate for this hotel it deserves the high score.
The Hotel suroundings are very relaxing for walking. Nice restaurant an some shops. It is not noisy and crazy as miami beach, that is why we actually enjoyed.
Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear quimbayo,
Thank you for your recent review and recommendation of our hotel. We appreciate the feedback of all of our guests and we are pleased that we met your expectations. Come back soon for another visit!
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#44 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.