We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Heart of Coconut Grove” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #23 of 130 hotels in Miami
Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“In the Heart of Coconut Grove”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Nice Hotel but expensive for what you get - try the Mayfair for a little better deal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear incognitoDiver,
We are pleased that you enjoyed our hotel. We recommend that you check our website for special offers on rates and when you join our Travel Pass program you can also receive promotional offers for all Sonesta Hotels.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    453
    264
    96
    35
    30
See reviews for
167
322
44
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

Ripped curtains, chipped furniture and rusty desk lamp. I'm here right now writing this review. Disappointed. ): Paid over $300 for this tiny room!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Dear Flyrfly,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. I am disappointed that your accommodations we not up to our standards or your expectations. Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel. We hope we can have another opportunity to serve you again in the future and provide you with accommodations that exceed your expectations.
Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Recently stayed at the Sonesta Bayfront hotel in Coconut Grove, FL. I loved the location and the easy walk to all the great restaurants and boutiques. The hotel on the other hand as a bit disappointing. With rates between $200-$300 a night, I did not expect tattered curtains leading out to the balcony. The service is average, nothing spectacular just average. Aside from the curtains the rooms, were nice, modern with big bathrooms. If staying there I suggest you get a room with a bay view, unlike beach hotels, the view of the bay with all the sail boats is very beautiful and peaceful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear Tvalls,

Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that your accommodations and overall service experience did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel as it will assist us in improving our guest experience. We hope that since you enjoyed our location and great views that we may have the opportunity in the future to serve you again and provide you with an equally great service experience.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Sonesta. We go at least 5 times a year to Miami, including one whole month for the summer, this has been by far the best hotel experience. The location cannot be better, just one block away from Cocowalk. The views are beautiful from the balconies. Rooms are great!! Beds are AMAZING!!!!! But my special recognition goes to the staff, specially to Freddy from front desk, they are really hard working people, with the best attitude. They met all our expectations. For sure this is the only hotel we will be staying at every time we come to Miami.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear ValeriaV,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay at our hotel. We are very pleased that in addition to finding our hotel a comfortable place to stay, our staff made such an impact on your experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Just spent 8 nights at the Sonesta. What a great hotel. Rooms are superb, views from the balcony were amazing, staff couldn't be more helpful. Pool area is lovely and they supply big fluffy towels every time you go there. The cool wet flannels are very welcome too. The bed was the comfiest bed I have ever slept on and the bed linen and towels in the rooms are top quality.
The hotel couldn't be in a better location - literally turn left and you are 2 mins from the harbour, turn right and you are 2 mins from the center of Coconut Grove.......perfect! Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Katiebailey66,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you found our hotel a great location with everything you needed nearby. We hope that you felt right at home while you were here and we hope that anytime you are in Miami that you will be back for a visit.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel was top class for food, bar, service and location if you want an alternative to the noise and heat and lack of space on South Beach. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, particulary the concierge team. A special mention must go to Remy and Byron in the Panorama Restaurant and Bar who made our week long stay very pleasurable. All the services and facilities were excellent and even when a local bar contravened the rules with loud music in the early hours one evening - the hotel was happy to accomodate a room move in case it happened again.
Great local shops and restaurants also but the Peruvian Ceviches in the hotel restaurant were excellent too! Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: overlooking the bay/marina
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear LeighC,

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel and your comments about your experience. We will be sure to share your comments with Remy, Byron and our Concierge team. As you mentioned, are Peruvian Ceviches are incredible and some of the most popular items in our Panorama Restaurant. We hope that next time you need another getaway that you will back for a visit.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Incredible food and beverage team and service staff. I managed a seminar and was supported by the catering and banquet teams....Hat's off in particular to Frank Ruiz and Omar and Jose as well. Great service!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Dear Dave R,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent conference at our hotel. We are pleased that our Catering and Banquet team did such a great job and that your meeting was a success. We hope to we can be of service again at your next conference.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#42 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Amex, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.