We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, quiet Miami getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% Off 2 or More Nights!
Ranked #32 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Solothurn, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice, quiet Miami getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

An excellent hotel! Staff helpful and friendly!

We were looking for a place to stay that wasn't too "spring break" South Beach style. This was the perfect alternative. We shopped and ate at the CocoWalk, walked for hours on the bay and were just steps from a "step-on-step-off" tourist bus! We didn't even need a car and were about 20 minutes away from the airport!

We had breakfast near the pool and the view was incredible!

Room Tip: Get a room with Bay view - it is totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear KrisySpeakup,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you found Coconut Grove a great alternative to other areas in Miami. As you discovered, our restaurant has one of the best views in town and is a beautiful way to start the day. We hope you will be back soon.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    279
    101
    44
    35
See reviews for
189
345
49
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012 via mobile

Just attended a CEO conference at this hotel. Front office staff is friendly and very efficient. Guest rooms are new, fresh and well-appointed. Views are terrific off the room balconies. But my notes are all about the banquet and culinary staff. The banquet manager is everywhere making sure that all is in order. And, the banquet staff for set-up and food service are terrific. Friendly, courteous and with one mission: serving their customers. What a pleasure in today's "no service" world. The catering and culinary staff did a nice job keeping menu's simple and with food that everyone enjoyed having. No silly menu's or over-the-top stuff that people say "pass" to. It was also nice to have the hotel GM check in from time to time. One word of caution: need a taxi? Plan on 15-30 minute wait. Even with a taxi reservation made with the front desk staff. Very pleasant surprise, I look forward to coming back soon.

Stayed May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear JoeyNoodles,

We appreciate your recent comments about your meeting experience at our hotel. We will be sure to share your feedback with our Front Office team and our Banquets team. Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campinas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Wonderful satying experience, The cleanest Hotel I've ever stayed! Stunning location, very clean and roomy rooms, nice bathroom, the hotel hall smells like flowers, The staff is so professional and polite, 100% satisfied, Elizabeth from reservations knows how to treat their guests!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Luiz B,

Thank you for your comments about your experience with Elizabeth from our Reservations team. We are pleased your enjoyed your room and we will be sure to share your comments with our Housekeeping team about the cleanliness of your room. We hope you will be back soon.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The GM of the hotel and his staff went out of their way to accomodate our family.
tHE HOTEL IS airy and cool with upbeat color and contemporary vibe. Our room was superb and fully stocked. Clean and perfect as if I was in my own home.
The full kitchen is a nice amenity but the food on site is tremendous. We had a meal and drinks poolside with the great view of the Marina. Our room view could not be beat.
This is a hotel that works for one night or a full two week stay.
It is a quick and inexpensive cab ride to the heart of south beach if you need more action and extensive shopping. Although dont sell Coconut Grove too short on the shoppping many boutiques are close by.
Go visit soon, we will be back.
Karen

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear AveryS,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am pleased we hit a “home run” and that your stay was enjoyable. In addition to being close to great shopping, if you are a baseball fan we are just 15 minutes from the new Marlins Park. Maybe on your next visit you will have the chance to catch a game. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent 3 days at the Sonesta while in town for business. The hotel is in a fantastic location, the staff was wonderful and we even managed to sneak in some pool time before work!!! (Great pool staff as well). My room had a refrigerator (very convenient) and a coffeemaker in the room with complimentary coffee- key for those early work mornings. The bed was huge and so amazingly comfortable...

The lobby was modern but still comfortable and smelled like a spa- so relaxing. The valet and bell staff was very helpful as we had 10 huge boxes shipped to the hotel for our event and they helped store and load everything up to our cars. I didn't have a chance to sample the hotel cuisine, but there was a Starbucks close by and we had dinner at the fantastic Green Street Cafe just a few blocks away. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone for both leisure or business... and a huge thanks to Elizabeth Dubon for helping us arrange our guest block in reservations- she was wonderful. Thank you Hotel Sonesta!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear Laurajill27,

Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel and for your feedback about your visit. We are very pleased that you enjoyed yourself and all of the amenities of the hotel and the surrounding area. I will be sure to share your comments with Elizabeth in Reservations. We hope that you will visit us again any time your travels bring you to Miami.


Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Booked for two nights, disappointed with the deluxe room, far too small and dark with half a bay view and a shared balcony. I upgraded (paid extra) to one bed Suite. The fittings have seen better days, old marked, chipped, the carpet was dirty, the Balcony and windows were v poor. The banister was coated in white powder that covered everything I touched. For both nights the noise outside my window stopped me sleeping until 3am. But the staff are very good, especially considering the difficult circumstances. The saving grace for the hotel was the Panorama restaurant, excellent service friendly; with the best food I have experienced anywhere in Miami, and great value.
If the owners could match the facility to the quality of the staff it would be a great hotel, unfortunately at the price and the additional parking cost, the noise, and the overall state of the room, it’s just average.

Room Tip: Stay to the right hand side (closest to the water and furthest from the noise) of the hotel. Pick a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear Chaiwindsor,

Please accept my apologies on behalf of the hotel that your experience during your stay did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is valuable to us as it helps us to continue to improve our product. I will be sure to pass your comments about the restaurant to the culinary team. I hope that in the future we may have the opportunity to have you again as a guest.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Having also stayed at this marvelous establishment as part of a conference for UM School of Medicine courses, I was left with a positively lasting impression. To begin the ambiance upon entering the hotel ultra relaxing. The Staff throughout the Hotel were genuinely helpful. The room was spacious and very clean. Very particular on what I eat, the restaurant along with the bountiful buffet were exceptionally delicious and satisfying. My compliments to the chef and his crew. Omar, Jose, and Frank surpassed any service we have ever received from a banquet staff. Notably, Frank was able to anticipate our needs. With his welcoming smile and diligent demeanor he really seemed to go above and beyond his duties. All the wonderful attention to detail while ensuring the customer was happy and taken care of makes the Sonesta our first choice for future events and stays.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear VaneM33,

We are very pleased that your meeting was a great success and that our entire team provided you with outstanding service. Our conference team and food and beverage team will be excited to hear your comments about their efforts. We are always happy when our guests leave feeling relaxed and taken care of. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#41 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.