We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Delightful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #31 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Marco Island, Florida
1 review
“Absolutely Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went to Coconut Grove for a weekend function at the Coral Reef Yacht Club. Elizabeth, the reservation supervisor, took excellent care of us. We had a beautiful large deluxe city view room with a full kitchen. We were on the 12 floor and also had a very nice view of the Gulf from the balcony. Everything was First Class with granite counters in kitchen and bath. Lovely Gulf view, rooftop pool, bar and restaurant. Excellent 5 star staff. Great location across from Cocowalk and Shops at Mayfair. Also, next to CocoWalk on Grand Ave, is a fun 4.5 star Latin fusion restaurant called "Jaguar Spot".

If you enjoy art, you will LOVE THIS SONESTA! The entire building is like an art gallery. You will be provided with a brochure and may take a walking tour through their Art Collection. Quite Amazing!

Room Tip: Join their travel pass club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

923 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    477
    274
    97
    41
    34
See reviews for
182
338
47
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We love our stay in the Sonesta Bayfront. Perfect cleaned and organized rooms, lots of closets and great service. Pool area was amazing!!! Great view and breeze!!!! Thank you for all crew!!!! D.Dividino

Room Tip: Kitchenette is lovelly!! 2 Bedrroms apt is perfect!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, Brazil
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Believe all the reviews: this people now how to run a Hotel. Stayed here for 3 days... Amazing! There is nothing fancy about the hotel, but everything is in place: perfect front desk (There is a girl called Daniela that deserves a prize. Whatever you ask or need, is promptly answered), excellent accommodations and a really good location (steps away from CocoWalk - stores, J. Rockets, Starbucks...). Arrived at 7 AM and was directly sent to my room. Perfect. Nice bed, super clean, nice view and truly silent. Slept like a newly born. Room service was also excellent, quick and tasty. Good prices too. There is a parking lot just by the hotel (US 15 per day) which is a good idea. Sergio, who works at the door knows everything about arts and was really helpful. The swim pool has a great view and the restaurant is excellent. I can’t think of a bad thing to say. Will came again and will recommend to everyone I know that is going to Miami. Lovely City. PS: If you want to shop, don’t waste your time at the crowded outlets: Aventura Mall has the same price and it is waaaayyyy better. Cheers!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

It was my first time staying at this hotel and I figured it would be pretty boring since it wasn't near the beach at all.However there was plenty of entertainment around the area.The hotel,epecially the room,was very clean.From the moment I arrived till I departed the staff was very polite especially the front desk girl (Daniella) she always gave me directions to everywhere I wanted to go.I had a very pleasant stay and will return next time I visit Miami.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallbrook, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband works in the film industry and stays here often (we're from California), he was working in Miami and booked a room here for our anniversary. I have to say it was VERY nice- not just the accomendations but the staff: Mari and her staff at the front desk (Nathan and Tricia) and John the bar manager were just as nice as the hotel. Lovely views, great shopping, and there's a yoga studio (Gharma Studio) close by that has wonderful classes (I went to two).

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel and we were very pleased once again. The hotel is well maintained and clean. The staff are friendly and very accomodating. The rooms are nice and have very comfortable beds with some wonderful views (we had a bayfront room). The pool is very nice and the staff there are always seeing if there is anything you need. The gym is very adequate. It is a short walk to Coco Walk which has restaurants, shops, movie theatre. In the other direction from the hotel one can take a nice walk/run near the bay. The free wireless worked without any problems. The one drawback is the parking fee, but this seems to be the norm for the area. The Sonesta will definetly be our home away from home as our daughter is attending college in the area!

Room Tip: Request a bayfront room for a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Stayed at the Sonesta for the 4th of July to watch the City of Miami fireworks. Booked a bayfront 1 bedroom suite with a view of the bay and the park. During the day, the City of Miami had a carnival in the park with rides for children. Our daughter loved it. That afternoon we went swimming at the hotel pool which also has a spectacular view of the park and bay. Ate room service for dinner - which was terrific and relatively inexpensive - and readied ourselves for the fireworks. As advertised, the room had the perfect view of the City of Miami fireworks. An unexpected surprise was that we could also see the fireworks on Key Biscayne, Coral Gables and Pinecrest.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#13 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#29 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#44 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.