We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Coconut Grove” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #24 of 130 hotels in Miami
Miami, Florida
1 review
“The best hotel in Coconut Grove”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

I stay here often and refer all of my friends and family and we have never been disappointed. Even the deluxe rooms are spacious and comfortable and offer a descent view. It's so nice to have a clean, spacious full kitchen featuring a full-size refrigerator and freezer, microwave, and every convenience one can think of! The balconies are large enough for two chairs and a table and offer beautiful views of either the bay or the "city". The bedding is so luxurious and makes it difficult to get out of it and enjoy the rest of what the hotel and surrounding area have to offer. The attention to detail and in-room amenities are very impressive and much appreciated. I had the opportunity to work out in the fitness room which was better outfitted than any other hotel of its calibur. It is obviously very well maintained and in the women's spa there is a steam room and sauna - what a treat!

I can't say enough about the pool deck. I can't imagine having any better view than that of Biscayne Bay, the sailboats, and the sunrise. The service around the pool during the day was very attentive yet not overbearing. The employees work very hard in the heat making sure that guests have everything they need to enjoy their experience. One of the pool attendants, Alex, was especially helpful. I ordered lunch at the pool and thought it was very refreshing and delicious - and generous by hotel standards! The pool itself is beautiful and gives the feeling and appearance of an infinity pool when you are in it. There is also a good-sized jacuzzi and cabanas off to the side for a proper lunch or dinner table setting. We also received very good service from the bartender Patrick - who quickly attended to our coctail needs.

Did I mention the location? The best! You can walk just about anywhere in the Grove from the hotel - shopping, restaurants, clubs, movie theater, parks, etc...

Needless to say, from check-in until check out, the Sonesta Coconut Grove provided a fabulous experience.

Room Tip: When available, pay the additional for a bay view - it's worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    452
    263
    95
    35
    30
See reviews for
165
322
44
189
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The pool is small and was crowded during our stay; the hot tub was filthy. It took at least 20 minutes for drinks (JUST DRINKS) and longer for food. The room was nothing spectacular... unless you are really impressed with a simple flat screen TV. The water pressure was terrible. The only thing this Hotel has going for it is location.... if you would prefer to walk the strip and stay the night. Otherwise, my two day stay totaling $550 was NOT worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Pairodise,
Please accept my apologies that your recent stay was not up to your expectations. Our pool deck is one of the most popular places in the hotel with its views of Biscayne Bay. We appreciate your feedback on the service you received and we have followed up with our Restaurant team to ensure we minimize any wait time.

We hope that if your travels bring you back to Coconut Grove that we will have another opportunity to serve you and exceed your expectations.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The Sonesta Bayfront Hotel in Coconut Grove is always our first choice when visiting the Miami area. The staff is always friendly and very attentive. We don't get to travel often. When we do, our first choice is this Sonesta location. Since 2005, we have worked with Elizabeth Dubon who has always answered our questions and taken care of us in a very professional manner and with a personal touch. If Elizabeth has not been available, Veronica and Yolanda have given us full attention. As we arrive, we are greated by familiar faces although it's been 12 to 24 months between each visit, many remember our faces, and treat us with sincere kindness. From Alex and staff at the pool, to the wait staff at the Panorama Restaurant, all make you feel welcome. Add the unbelievable views, the shopping and night life within walking distance, and you have one terrific stay!

Room Tip: You have views of the city lights as well as Key Biscayne Bay. Pending your preference, you can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Awesome views, excellent customer service and great location - all three reasons make the Sonesta at Coconut Grove a hotel that provides a unique experience for all types of travel, business or pleasure. Staff is professional and friendly, rooms are spacious and spotless and the pool is open from dawn to dusk! What else can you possibly need? I would add the amazing room fragrance at the lobby, a blend of lemongrass and green tea infused in the air-condition system...

Sonesta is definitely a hotel to visit not only once, but definitely twice!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stayed here on saturday July16,2011 My girlfrined and i just walked up and requested a room with no reservation and the staff was extremely helpful and provided a bayview room on the 16 floor.the first thing we noticed was how clean the lobby is and how well maintained this hotel is.The room was spacious and the staff very professional.The pool on the 9th floor added a nice touch and the drinks/food was very enjoyable.IF YOUR EVER IN THE AREA YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED.ASK FOR EUGENE,I BELIEVE HES THE MANAGER AND WHO WAS HANDS ON WITH A WONDERFUL DEMEANER THAT MADE US FEEL SPECIAL.HE EVEN THREW IN THE VALET PARKING FOR NO CHARGE AND PROVIDED AN AWESOME ROOM 1616 WITH AN ATTRACTIVE RATE.I WILL BE BACK.WE EVEN RECEIVED A 3:00PM LATE CHECK-OUT.HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.

Room Tip: Ask for eugene hes awesome.super clean hotel,great bay views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Pro:
*hotel and rooms are clean and nice
*located near Coconut Grove, lots of nice Restaurants nearby
*nice view
*early checkin and late checkout
Cons:
*We made three additional requests (we booked a Palm Suite) - none of them was accomplished:
-high floor (we ended up in the second lowest floor)
-quiet room (we had a double door to the next room/suite - you could hear every word from the neighbor room)
-crib for a 2 year old (we got a tiny baby crib, two hours later on the phone and only after announcing our checkout, the hotel could find a solution)
*Wifi is tricky if reception is spelling your surname wrong (spent another 30 minutes with their outsourced help desk)
*Check your bill! The promised free parking was listed there.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MargaretRose_CG, Manager at Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Pamuc,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am disappointed that we were unable to honor all of your requests, please accept my apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused.

We make every effort to accommodate room location request, however, due to occupancy levels we are not always able to do so. Although the crib we originally sent to the room could not accommodate your toddler, I am glad we were able to resolve the issue with a rollaway and bedrails.

We appreciate you staying at our hotel and we hope we can have another opportunity to serve you and your family again in the future.

Sincerely,
Margaret Rose
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011 via mobile

Very helpful, polite staff. Immaculately kept hotel. Convenient to shopping and restaurants. Gorgeous views of the water! Super comfortable beds!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami

Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#12 Business Hotel in Miami
#24 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#42 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne Bay and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you're in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Coconut Grove Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.