We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oustanding service, beautiful site, the best of everything!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonesta Bayfront Hotel Coconut Grove

Save Saved
You added Sonesta Bayfront Hotel Coconut Grove to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sonesta Bayfront Hotel Coconut Grove
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133 (Coconut Grove)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free breakfast & parking!
Ranked #21 of 131 hotels in Miami
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Oustanding service, beautiful site, the best of everything!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

We scheduled our daughter's wedding at Sonesta Bayfront Hotel the first week of March 2011. The event coordinator, Francy Silva, was on top of her game! She is extremely organized, kowledgeable and just overall outstanding at her job! She provided detailed accounting, and there were no surprises. There isn't a thing she missed and everything went perfectly according to plans! After the ceremony, the happy hour and reception, and next day brunch were above our greatest expectations - the food was delicious and all our guests raved about the quality of the meals. The service, lead by John and Omar, was impecable. Their genuine concern to make everything perfect was wonderful. They catered to every need, including children's and vegetarian menus. The expression on the children's faces when Omar and John's team served them their very own giant chocolate chip cookie was priceless! Also, Victoria Villasis in the reservations department did a great job in coordinating all our family and friends' hotel rooms! Francy and her team really know know how to make everyone feel special. Our daughter and son-in-law were so happy with the wedding, we could not have asked for more!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

810 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    241
    85
    31
    29
See reviews for
154
298
43
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2011

My travel agency have been using the Sonesta for the last 3 years for groups and individual travelers.
The location, the staff, the rooms and the service are great!
The most important thing for me when booking a hotel is to have a staff that cares and understands how hospitality should work... Veronica and Elizabeth from the reservation's department really know about customer service and always have a solution for any issue I may have with my clients.


Juan Carlos Alonso
JCA Travel Services Inc

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florham Park, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

I hosted a dinner for 13 people. it was a reunion of executives from a local corporation. it was a glorious evening. the food, the sevice, could not have been better. the people were so helpful and pleasant.
I would recommend this sonesta hotel to all.
my accommendations were first class.
I hope to return next year.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

Really enjoyed my stay here. Most of the rooms have good views of the (very nearby) Biscyane Bay. The bar has a great view (indoor and outdoor), great staff and great Mojitos.

The rooms (I had a corner King Suite) are well appointed. I even had a kitchen (which may be standard as it seems many of the well-heeled guests do extended stays here).

The location was great. There are so many places to eat and shop around there (as well as the waterfront). I don't know Miami well, but I would guess this is one of the better non-beach locations.

I was on the 15h floor and could still hear some street noise, but that went away after turning on the fan.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We were looking for somewhere within easy reach of the airport, away from the hustle of the city, but had enough going on to get the trip off to an interesting start. And that's what we found.
The location was great. Coconut Grove is a cute, upmarket neighbourhood. The hotel is just across the road from the bay and a couple of blocks from a some nice, relaxed, pavement cafes. We ate at one for dinner, and another for a lazy breakfast the next morning.
The hotel itself is smart and clean. I would say it's more of a functional business style hotel than a fashionable one, but is far superior to the lower end of the market (as the prices make clear). The real plus is the roof top pool - a swim there was the perfect start to the first day of our trip. It felt properly 'Miami' to me.
The valet parking seemed expensive, but we soon realised that $23 overnight is pretty reasonable for these parts. Front desk were nice. They gave us an upgrade to a suite with a balcony (not overlooking the water), which came with a full kitchenette and a big bathroom. So, not a great view, but more facilities than we needed.
All in all, Sonesta gave us a really civilised start to the holiday. We liked it so much, we tried to get a room there a week later, when we were passing back through the city, but the lowest rates available were at least twice what we paid through Expedia.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

I stayed at this hotel as part of a business trip. I requested a quiet room and was allocated 1704-1. This room overlooked the bay and down on the pool. The room was very quiet, comfy and clean and a good size. The Gym was great and the pool area pleasant. The hotel is south of Miami but there is a pleasant community area with bars and restaurants. Watch out for bar prices ($8 for a beer). We travelled to Miami Beach one evening for a change of scene. 17 of us to eat, $1100 bill !!!!! never again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls,MN
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

The Sonesta is a nice hotel. They deluxe or above rooms are better with a kitchen and a bigger balcony. The parking fee is high and they charge a high price on any small items you may have forgotten. The pool area and view are wonderful. Drinks start at $10 and go up from there. The service at the restaurant is excellent. The scent in the lobby is very strong and needs to be toned down. I have never been to a hotel where they constantly check at the door to make sure that people coming in are staying there. Good in some ways but a little odd. Location to Coconut Grove is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sonesta Bayfront Hotel Coconut Grove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta Bayfront Hotel Coconut Grove

Also Known As:
Sonesta Bayfront Miami
Sonesta Miami
Miami Sonesta
Sonesta Coconut Grove
Address: 2889 McFarlane Road, Miami, FL 33133
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Coconut Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#9 Business Hotel in Miami
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#41 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonesta Bayfront Hotel Coconut Grove 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the verdant enclave of Coconut Grove, Sonesta Bayfront Hotel reflects all the originality and spice of this trendy, artistic neighborhood on the coast of Biscayne and adjacent to Coral Gables. From our luxurious bayfront retreat, you'€™re in the center of it all just across the street from CocoWalk and steps from lively sidewalk cafes, stylish boutiques, modern art galleries, and sizzling nightlife and only minutes from Coral Gables business and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Amex, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sonesta Bayfront Hotel Coconut Grove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonesta Bayfront Hotel Coconut Grove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.