We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice weak with excellent service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 SW 12th Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A nice weak with excellent service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I met up with friends from Colombia and we enjoyed a nice clean room with easy travelling to/from the airport for $2 each. The breakfast was included with the room price and free coffee all day was a bonus. Great value.

Green Features: Nice to see the plates and knives/forks made from potatoes?
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear DanWGood,

Thank you for staying at our new Hampton Inn & Suites and for taking the time to write such a nice review. Please keep us in mind for you next visit to Miami.

Sincerely,
Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,026
    348
    42
    3
    3
See reviews for
487
394
45
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here June 6th for one night with my daughter, but I must say it was one of the best hotel stays I have had. I think going forward I will look for Hampton Inn's everywhere I go. The bed was clean and comfortable. The swimming area and gym was clean and wonderful to use. The service desk was helpful and friendly. The breakfast was the best part. They literally had everything and I was pleasantly surprised that oatmeal was offered. I cannot remember how many times I have been to hotels that have very limited breakfast options. They even had sides for the oatmeal such as almonds. WONDERFUL!!!!! My daughter was very impressed and plans on using them on her trips with her friends going forward.....Outstanding job Hampton.....

Room Tip: Mine faced the pool which had a good view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Nina K,

Thank you for the compliments. It is great to hear feedback from our guests and to feel rewarded when we read we are doing a good job. We hope to see you back soon!

Cordially,
Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

When visiting the Miami area I will ONLY stay at this hotel. First off it doesn't seem like a Hampton not that there's anything wrong with that but this Hampton is like a Hampton of no other, more like a boutique hotel. The lobby and sitting area was so modern and hip. The pool area was very nice with lots of seating and a water fall in the pool. There is a full service bar, at arrival you are given complimentary tickets for a free beer or wine and now that I think of it I never even used them because they made the best specialty drinks! Vivian the bartender was wonderful she knew how to make the perfect drinks and was so freindly she made everyone feel so welcome and Fernando the jack of all trades he was amazing everywhere we would go in the hotel we would see him that it became a joke that he was the only employee there! He also was at the bar the second night and he even remembered what drink I was drinking from the night before and he wasnt even the one who waited on me! They were two great employees and The Hampton should be proud to have them! The rooms were super clean and very large, the beds were very comfy. Parking is secure in a gated garage and the location is near the Villages a area with restaurants and shops and there is even a Publix around the corner. I defiantly will be back and also spread the word of this great hotel! Thanks Hampton and staff for a great stay!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear italiangrl71,

Guest satisfaction is our number one priority and by reading your review, I am glad to notice that we exceeded your expectations. Thank you so much for your review and I will share it with Vivian, Fernando, and our staff. We will be looking forward to see you in Miami again!

Cordially,
Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I have stayed here before and I do business in the area for the Federal Government. Recently the hotel decided to not offer the approved federal government rates even though I made the reservation and checked federal rate (their rate was higher than the approved rate, but still advertised it at the federal rate). When I called Management they were less than helpful resolving the issue. The management at the South Beach Marriott really helped my travel companions out and were more than happy to offer the military the approved rate. The workers in the kitchen and front desk are very nice, but it's a shame that 40 of my Hilton Gold members coworkers staying in Miami over 400 nights a year will now be staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Mark K,

Thank you for contacting us about your concerns with the government rate and for allowing us to clarify it. From your review it appears that you are confusing Per-Diem Rates with Government Rates.

We do not offer nor advertise offering Per-Diem rates. The rates we offer are called Government Rates as they are offered to Government Employees upon presenting a valid government ID at check in and those rates are lower than most rates offered to the general public. Our government rate may be equal to the Per-Diem during certain periods but may be different during other periods.

In order to better explain our rates and policies, I am listing below answers from the GSA.GOV FAQ page that directly explains it and that will allow you to understand that our actions were perfectly consistent with the rates we advertised.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

1- Can hotels refuse to honor the per diem rate to federal government employees and federal government contractors?

Answer: Hotels are not required to honor the federal per diem rates. It is each property’s business decision whether or not to offer the rate. Hotels also may or may not choose to extend the rate to other individuals, such as government contractors.


2- Is the hotel’s GOV rate the same as the federal per diem rate?

Answer: Hotels sometimes offer a "GOV" rate, which might be different than the federal per diem rate. If it is higher, you need to receive approval for actual expense prior to travel in order to receive full reimbursement. It is the traveler’s responsibility to know the federal per diem reimbursement rates, and should not assume a GOV rate is the same as the federal per diem rate. See the FTR Chapter 301, Subpart D-Actual Expense and follow your agency's guidelines.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Most of the hotels in our area do not offer per-diem rates or government rates, at least not during most of the time as the low current perdiem for our City makes it very difficult but, because we value the services performed by our government employees including our military personnel we offer a number of rooms under our government rate discount, despite being able to sell those same rooms ay a much higher rate.

I hope this explanation will allow you to reconsider our hotel for future visits to Miami.

Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just a few blocks from the bay and a beautiful restaurant on the bay. Lots of eating places within a 1/2 block to couple of blocks. I felt safe. The hotel decorations were very modern. The staff bent over backwards to please.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Rhonda-Shelley E,

During our review of 2013, we realized that your review among some others was not responded promptly. Please accept our apologies for this oversight. I was very pleased to read that you have enjoyed staying with us. Thank you so much for all your comments, the feedback from every guest is important to us!

Please keep us in mind for your next visit.

Warmest regards,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami Brickell / Downtown
50 SW 12th Street
Miami, FL 33130
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here before my cruise to Cozumel. I chose this hotel because of all the good ratings. I agree, nice hotel, located very close to the nicest restaurants, great hotel staff...very friendly, and breakfast included. Everything was clean and beds comfortable. Close to port ... cost $11.00 by taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear afleetingmoment,

Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn & Suites- Miami Brickell/ Downtown. I am glad that we provided everything you expected and more. We remain at your service until your next visit.

Sincerely,
Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral springs
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Great staff, surprisingly nice hot breakfast, nice public areas and very convenient to the brickell district No valet, all self park which I liked but some may not. Hotel is beautifully decorated with original art. I will stay at this hotel again.. It is also close to south beach & bayside with public transportation. Best area for restaurants

Green Features: Most environmenrally aware hotel that I have ever stayed at breakfast plates and cutlery made from potatoes... recycling bins everywhere
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear slk12300,

Thank you for taking time to post your positive feedback. I am excited to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectation. Kindly have us in your consideration when you return to Miami.

Sincerely,
Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown

Address: 50 SW 12th Street, Miami, FL 33130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#1 Family Hotel in Miami
#1 Green Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brickell Elegance - Priced Right.Our boutique style Hampton Inn & Suites® Miami Brickell hotel in Miami Brickell-Downtown area combines urban design, eclectic mix, contemporary art collection, Brickell elegance with the best price for the business and leisure travelers coming to Brickell area. We are located:Within walking distance to Brickell Miami's global financial hub Within 1 to 3 blocks of over 30 of the best restaurants, cafes and bars in the area Shopping and entertainment is within 1 to 3 blocks from our hotel Half-block from our front door, the FREE MetroMover expands our guests’ convenience zone to all of downtown Miami providing easy access to Bayside Marketplace, AmericanAirlines Arena, and Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts The FREE Miami Trolley stops only a couple blocks from us at Mary Brickell Village providing easy access to Bayside Marketplace, American Airlines Arena, and Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts. The MetroRail is also half-block from our front door providing easy access to Dadeland Mall, Coconut Grove, and other parts of the town. The new MetroRail Orange line connects the Miami International Airport MetroRail Station to the Brickell MetroRail Station Less than 5 minutes from the Port of Miami Just 15 minutes from Miami International Airport, Miami Beach, Aventura, Coral Gables, the Dolphin Mall, and the best South Florida Beaches Easy access to major highways: I-95, S.R. 836 (Dolphin Expressway), S.R. 826 (Palmetto Expressway), and Florida Turnpike ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn And Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.