We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 SW 12th Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 130 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wyoming
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights before a cruise. Friendly, helpful staff. We were given an upgrade to a studio suite - very nice. Great free breakfast. Shuttle available to Port of Miami. Great location, only 1/2 block from free MetroMover. A short walk to great restaurants at Brickell Village. Hotel was very clean. Perfect lounge/pool area to relax. Seems to be in a safe location for walking. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear GalFromWyoming,

Thank you so much for writing such a nice review. I am glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the surround areas. We will be looking forward to host you again during your next visit.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,020
    344
    42
    3
    3
See reviews for
479
388
45
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, VA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel the night before we went on a cruise. We got into the hotel and took an elevator to the 6th floor to get to the lobby. We got their late at night, but we called ahead and they kept the room for us. The room was clean, and it was nice that they gave us a bottle of water and a package of M&M's as a snack. The hotel offered free internet, and the connection was fine. The bed was comfortable. The closet was behind the full length mirror, which I rarely see. The in-room safe was about 18 inches high and 6 inches deep (a vertical safe, if you will).

The gym on the 6th floor was small, but very clean and the machines were in good shape.

The hotel offers free breakfast, and there was a good variety of cereal, breads, eggs, and other breakfast foods still available when we got down around 9:30 AM.

The shuttle to the port was on time and the driver was very nice. The hotel staff was good about making the reservation.

All in all, a good place to stay, especially if you are going to the port.

Room Tip: This is a hotel in the downtown area, so I am not sure if any particular side has a great view of an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear SRTravel07,

Thank you for staying with us and for writing such a detailed review. I am glad to hear we provided everything you expected and more. Please keep us in mind when returning to Miami.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here one night before a cruise. Once we checked in and dropped our bags in the room we got right out for a walk and to grab some dinner. Lots of restaurants/bars/shops in the immediate area. Room was on the small side, glad we only had one night here. Although bathroom/shower were a decent size with nice amenities.

The inclusive breakfast was like a cattle call with not nearly enough tables for the crowd that this free meal attracted. This area was a mess from the constant flow of people and the staff just could not keep up. We grabbed the only empty table left dirty from previous guests just to get a quick coffee and danish then got right out to the pool area for some sunshine before checkout and off to our ship.

For one night pre or post cruise this hotel was suitable.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Chet7259,

Thank you for your honest review. Total Guest Satisfaction is our #1 priority and we will work harder to achieve this with every guest. Also, I will address your comments about breafkast experience with our Operations Manager to make sure we can enhance our level of service. Please keep us in mind on your next visit to Miami.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Andrews
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed here while on holiday to Miami for a week. The welcome to the hotel was lack lustre and a bit disappointing to say the least after a long journey to get there. However the rooms were very nice, with good style and very clean. The pool area was very small but a nice spot all the same and the whirlpool was lovely to sit and have a glass of wine in. The breakfast in the morning was excellent, there was always plenty and it was continually stocked up throughout service. Eric on the concierge was so helpful and friendly throughout our stay, he was by far the star employee for us as he always had a smile on his face. Overall it was a great stay but the hotel lacks personality which is a shame.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Dear Rachstaysaway,

First of all, I would like to apologize for such a late response. We value every review and opinion very much. Thank you for taking time to write your review. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfast and the pool area. Pleased to hear that Eric was very helpful and friendly. It seems you had a good stay overall, but we were unable to exceed your expectations. We will try to do better next time.

Please think of us for your next stay!

Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami Brickell / Downtown
50 SW 12th Street
Miami, FL 33130
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cancun, Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I'm a frequent business traveler to Miami who usually stays at the Hyatt (which was full during the dates of my trip). As a woman traveling alone I prefer to stay in full-service hotels, but my boss recommended the Hampton, which is new and close to my office. Being a new hotel, everything was clean and modern, which you'd expect. I arrived at about midnight and was greeted cordially and quickly given my room. Access to floors other than the lobby is restricted by key access, which made me feel safe. The lobby is on the 6th floor, and also has the free hot breakfast, the gym, the restaurant/bar, and five computers with free internet access and a printer.

The room was quiet, even though the hotel was sold-out and it was spring break, I didn't have any problems with noise or partiers. The water pressure in the sink was low, and there was a card explaining how they are taking water-saving measures for the environment. The water pressure in the shower was strong however, and the hot water came in immediately. The toilet had the European-style two buttons, one for a little flush and one for a big flush. The shower was a handheld wand only. The bathroom also had a hair dryer. The TV was a large flat-screen and there were blackout curtains on the window. The closet was small and had an ironing board and iron, and a large laptop-sized safe.

The breakfast was better than I expected, but it was definitely limited. It was self-service, so no waiters, and the buffet area was small and had coffee, juice, cereal, breads, and three hot selections (eggs, bacon, potatoes, for example). They used plastic plates and silverware, which made the experience feel more downscale than I think it was.

Overall, the hotel had almost everything I needed. Quiet room, quick check-in and check-out, free internet throughout the hotel, hot breakfast, the best service I've had in awhile in Miami. They even gave a coupon for a free drink in the bar. The only thing that was missing for me was room service. Also the price ($239 + tax) seemed steep for this kind of property.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear gemdomer,

Wow, thank you for writing so many details about your stay and our property. I am glad to read we exceeded your expectations. Please keep us in mind on your next trip to Miami.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

As others have said many times, this is a much better Hampton Inn than I have ever seen. It's substantially better than a Hampton Inn you mind fight along the side of a highway anywhere in the US. Rooms were spacious and comfortable enough. The desk, bathroom, and television were well appointed. Very friendly housekeeping. The business center was more than adequate and didn't price-gouge like so many higher end hotels. That said, it's still an inexpensive 3-star hotel, so it is a little rough around the edges. Although designed to be Miami chic the decor is clearly not high-end ("faux chic"). The free breakfast is a great way to save on per diem but the scrambled eggs, in particular, were inedible. I forgot my razor; the freebie they had at the desk was a death blade, but the mini-store didn't have better razors for purchase.

For all of this nitpicking, the location in Brickell is fantastic and the price is super reasonable. I have an efficient and effective stay; this is a very strong value. I just can't give a hotel with a few issues five stars at any price.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear JKurz2008,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review about our property and your stay. I was glad to read you noticed that we are "not your average truck-stop Hampton" but unique and upscale Hampton Inn & Suites. Also, I will make sure to communicate with our Operations Manager regarding your experiences during breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

this was our second stay at this hotel in the last 3 months. Staff is always great! we had an issue w/ the room we first got and this was handled very well. Reception desk's manager was very efficient and professional. This hotel has a very well equiped fitness room , nice spacious rooms, good location and decent breakfast. very good deal for Miami this time of the year.

Room Tip: try to get a room on a higher floor, for better views and away from lower roof "noisy" A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear NadChicago,

Thank you for your return stay!
Total Guest Satisfaction is our #1 priority and I am so glad to read we exceeded your expectations.
Hope to see you again on your next visit to Miami.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown

Address: 50 SW 12th Street, Miami, FL 33130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami
#1 Green Hotel in Miami
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#1 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brickell Elegance - Priced Right.Our boutique style Hampton Inn & Suites® Miami Brickell hotel in Miami Brickell-Downtown area combines urban design, eclectic mix, contemporary art collection, Brickell elegance with the best price for the business and leisure travelers coming to Brickell area. We are located:Within walking distance to Brickell Miami's global financial hub Within 1 to 3 blocks of over 30 of the best restaurants, cafes and bars in the area Shopping and entertainment is within 1 to 3 blocks from our hotel Half-block from our front door, the FREE MetroMover expands our guests’ convenience zone to all of downtown Miami providing easy access to Bayside Marketplace, AmericanAirlines Arena, and Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts The FREE Miami Trolley stops only a couple blocks from us at Mary Brickell Village providing easy access to Bayside Marketplace, American Airlines Arena, and Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts. The MetroRail is also half-block from our front door providing easy access to Dadeland Mall, Coconut Grove, and other parts of the town. The new MetroRail Orange line connects the Miami International Airport MetroRail Station to the Brickell MetroRail Station Less than 5 minutes from the Port of Miami Just 15 minutes from Miami International Airport, Miami Beach, Aventura, Coral Gables, the Dolphin Mall, and the best South Florida Beaches Easy access to major highways: I-95, S.R. 836 (Dolphin Expressway), S.R. 826 (Palmetto Expressway), and Florida Turnpike ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn And Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.