We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pre-Cruise hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 SW 12th Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Cape Cod
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Pre-Cruise hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We wanted a nice, reasonably-priced hotel near the Port of Miami cruise terminal. This turned out to be an excellent choice. The check-in desk is on the 6th floor so if you have a lot of luggage you may want to send one person up to get a luggage cart. Our check-in package included a drink in the bar where we met Veronica - a very personable bartender in a very attractive bar adjacent to the swimming pool. If you go, make sure you check out the amazing piece of kinetic art by Jeffrey Zachmann. And do have a chat with Veronica!. Room was comfortable and clean. Breakfast (included) was average for this chain and was also in the pool bar. Cruise shuttle is $8 per person, was on time, and efficient. We forgot our winter coats in the closet, called the hotel from the ship and the very efficient Fernando at the desk arranged to fedex our coats to our next stop after the cruise - Charleston, where they awaited us on our arrival.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear eagleCapeCod,

It is great we were able to reunite you with your coats that were left behind at the hotel. I don't think you really needed them on your cruise as the weather here has been gorgeous during this entire winter season. I was also glad to read you enjoyed everything about your stay with us.

We hope to see you again on your next cruise out of Miami.

Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    402
    46
    4
    4
See reviews for
570
434
54
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Truly 5 star, caring service at a great price. Perfect downtown location with a wide range of excellent restaurants nearby on cool South Miami Street. Not really a five star hotel, but not $400 either. Nice modern rooms. Nice free breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Wilson4973

Thank you for posting this nice review about your stay and we appreciate your business. Please keep us in mind for your next visits to Miami.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

No restaurant in hotel but walking distance to a complete range of them ($ & cuisine), markets, etc. Staff was friendly and efficient. My room had new furnishings and was v clean. My late checkout request & a personal request (glue for a shoe) fulfilled w/a smile. Business center Internet horribly slow but in room was good. Plenty to select from @ breakfast, only complaint was v lumpy oatmeal 2 out of 3 days. Tea & coffee in room & lobby all day plus can purchase $$ snacks.

Room Tip: No restaurant in hotel but walking distance to a complete range of them ($ & cuisine), markets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear D I,

I apologize for the slow speeds at our business center as a defective router was found and I am glad to report we received a replacement today. It should be back to normal. I would also like to thank you for posting your review and for letting us know you enjoyed your stay with us.

Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night in February 2012 - it was my wife, myself and my 4 year old daughter. We got one room and ended paying about $300 for the night.

We chose the hotel based on the trip advisor reviews and were definitely not disappointed. The biggest complement I could give it is that it looks like a designer hotel and if you did not know then you would think that it was a W Hotel or something. Lots of trendy artwork around and nice lights out by the pool bar. Breakfast is included and was decent but you have to pay an additional $18/night for parking.

We were only staying one night as we were flying the next day so were not too fussed about going to the beach. However have to say the area around the hotel was great, lots of nice bars and restaurants - we went to a Tapas bar for happy hour and had a great meal. Room was very comfortable with nice bath and good flatscreen TV.

So why not 5 stars like everyone else? Just because of the value for money - $300 a night is still too much in my opinion but it looked like this is just the going rate for somewhere decent in Miami. If you could get a good deal it would get 5 stars from me.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear JACKSONJE8,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and I am sorry to hear we did not receive a 5 from you due to the rate. I want to assure you our rate and all the amenities associated with it are the best value you can get in our market.

Please keep us in mind for your next trip to Miami and hopefully we can receive a 5 then!

Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killam, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We travelled to Miami for a holiday. We enjoy the Hampton Inn and Suites and found this one to be a great new hotel with a wonderful spacious suite, which we really enjoyed, plus all the other amenities of the hotel. The location was great, walking distance to Mary Brickell Plaza where there are many restaurants and cafes, and some shops. The metro rail and metro mover are about a block away, very convenient. Thank you to Officer David, security, and to Eric, hospitality desk, for their help in making our vacation a great time in Miami. They are two very wonderful and friendly guys. Both a great asset to the Hampton Inn. We would for sure stay here again our next visit to Miami.

Two Canadians

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Linda L,

I was happy to read your review and to learn we exceeded your expectations with our services and accommodations. We hope you had a great time during your vacations in Miami. I am glad you wrote about the Metrorail and Metromover as their stations are located just a few steps from our door and they provide easy transportation to many parts of Miami, including the Miami International Airport.

Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel within the Hampton label. Staff courteous, rooms well appointed and spacious. 2 blocks from Brickell restaurants and shops in downtown and 1.5 miles from the Port of Miami if you are cruising.

Street level entrance somewhat odd with only a concierge desk. Lobby and check-in is on 6th floor but did not realize that while the concierge was on the phone and waited. Signage would have helped.

Highly recommend if you are not looking for a higher end hotel with more amenities. This hotel is a better Hampton and very comfortable.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Limerockracer,

Thank you so much for writing a review about your recent stay and for letting us know you will be highly recommending us. Thank you.

Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Recently refurbished high rise Hampton in the heart of downtown Miami off Brickell st all the amenities. Ample garage parking available. Check in on the 6th floor. Breakfast great! We stayed one night prior to a cruise. A cab ride away from the pier! Near people mover a free light rail line!
Enjoy

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eduardo C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Cagirl36,

Thank you for letting us know you enjoyed your stay by writing this lovely review. One correction I need to make is that we are not refurbished but brand new, build from the ground up. Please keep us in mind for your next trip to the Magic City.

Sincerely,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown

Address: 50 SW 12th Street, Miami, FL 33130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Miami
#1 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#1 Business Hotel in Miami
#1 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 221
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brickell Elegance - Priced Right.Our boutique style Hampton Inn & Suites® Miami Brickell hotel in Miami Brickell-Downtown area combines urban design, eclectic mix, contemporary art collection, Brickell elegance with the best price for the business and leisure travelers coming to Brickell area. We are located:Within walking distance to Brickell Miami's global financial hub Within 1 to 3 blocks of over 30 of the best restaurants, cafes and bars in the area Shopping and entertainment is within 1 to 3 blocks from our hotel Half-block from our front door, the FREE MetroMover expands our guests’ convenience zone to all of downtown Miami providing easy access to Bayside Marketplace, AmericanAirlines Arena, and Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts The FREE Miami Trolley stops only a couple blocks from us at Mary Brickell Village providing easy access to Bayside Marketplace, American Airlines Arena, and Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts. The MetroRail is also half-block from our front door providing easy access to Dadeland Mall, Coconut Grove, and other parts of the town. The new MetroRail Orange line connects the Miami International Airport MetroRail Station to the Brickell MetroRail Station Less than 5 minutes from the Port of Miami Just 15 minutes from Miami International Airport, Miami Beach, Aventura, Coral Gables, the Dolphin Mall, and the best South Florida Beaches Easy access to major highways: I-95, S.R. 836 (Dolphin Expressway), S.R. 826 (Palmetto Expressway), and Florida Turnpike ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn And Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.