We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks and Acts Like a Hyatt - Great Hotel to Begin a Cruise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   50 SW 12th Street, Miami, FL 33130 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 129 hotels in Miami
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Looks and Acts Like a Hyatt - Great Hotel to Begin a Cruise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

As noted by other reviewers, this is a newly opened property. That said, everything is fresh and new and that is sometimes hard to beat in a hotel.

We used the property as "jumping off" point for our Caribbean cruise.

Finding the hotel was out greatest challenge as it sits directly off of S. Miami Avenue. Miami has unique naming of its streets (i.e., SW 11th Street, SE 1st Avenue) and that was confusing. However, once we located the property, we were all set.

The hotel sits on a quiet street directly in front of a high rise condo building and a bank on the corner. The actual hotel starts on Floor 6. You enter the building and are greeted by a building security attendant who directs you to the elevator and the hotel. The extra sense of security is a nice touch.

Our room was on the fifteenth floor overlooking the northern Brickell area and was perfect in all ways. Check-in was quick and efficient, plenty of available on-site parking ($18/night charge), the room/bathroom was clean and there are lots of nearby dining options.

Our room was not large, but well designed and efficient for 2 travelers. Our bed was comfortable with many extra pillows. The bathroom was clean and did not have a tub; rather, a large double door shower. Plenty of sink counter space. The property is unique in that you need your room card in order to operate the elevator - a very nice security feature.

The area is quite safe. You can easily walk to many different dining options and specialty stores as well as a Publix grocery store. The area is very active in the evening and walking north along S Miami Avenue is best. Two blocks east is Brickell Avenue, a main thoroughfare, which has many high rise office buildings and condos.

Breakfast is included in the daily rate and was quite good - lots of both hot and cold ala carte options. There is a bar on the 6th floor as well.

We used the hotel as a starting point for a cruise from the Port of Miami. Taxi fare to the port was $15 and we where there in less than 10 minutes.

Our daily rate was quite reasonable as well. Miami hotels can get quite expensive and our rate was about $110 including taxes. I think once this property becomes established, the rates will increase dramatically. This property looks and acts very much like a Hyatt as opposed to a Hampton. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Select a High Floor toward the North.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonBrickell, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear Hohja_md,

We are thrilled to read such a nice review and would like to thank you for taking the time to write it. It means a lot to us. This Hampton, one of the largest worldwide has many unique features that makes it quite different from others and which have been receiving extensive coverage on the media, including newspapers, magazines and TV. We’re very proud of it.

Please keep us in mind for your next visit to Miami!

Cordially,
Eduardo Chapoval
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,459 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,055
    355
    43
    3
    3
See reviews for
505
399
46
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Excellent location. Near shops bars restaurants major highways and public transportation. The only downer . . . no bathtub. I enjoy soaking in a hot tub after walking around all day. Otherwise i would return

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonBrickell, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, December 21, 2011
Dear dino4897,

Thank you so much for writing a review for your recent stay. We appreciate your business and we were glad to hear that our location as convenient to you.

I would like to inform you that the majority of our rooms actually have bathtubs and not showers. On a future visit we will be glad to reserve a room with with a bathtub for you.

Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, Maryland
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

I am writing this review from the pool deck at the hotel. This hotel is beautiful from top to bottom. It is very well decorated and modern. The pool and spa are very nice. The fitness room is large and has numerous pieces of cardio equipment, dumbells, weight machine and benches. The rooms are fairly large and well appointed. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. The hotel is also half a block from the free Metromover. The lobby and front desk is are on the 6th floor. You park in the parking garage and take the elevator to the 6th floor to check in. I would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonBrickell, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you so much for your review and I hope the weather was nice while you were at the pool. I am so glad to read that you loved your stay and that our staff is doing a good job.

Keep us in mind when returning to Miami.
Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Brickell / Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

If you want sleep, don't stay here. Paper walls. Nice hotel design, free computer use. Breakfast was ok, not good. Cold potatoes and old bananas among other foods. Coffee was good. Nice gym. Doesn't do anything about the noise at night. Would stay again if management makes an effort to minimize noisy neighbors.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonBrickell, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
We are so sorry to hear about the noise problems you experienced. We had a 10 to 12 year old cheerleading group and they lacked a little more adult supervision from their parents. We understand a few other guests were also inconvenienced and we extended our 100% satisfaction guarantee refund to them. If you did not receive a refund, please contact me so that I may process it right away.

We are also taking measures to avoid this problem when considering future groups so that our guests are not inconvenienced.

Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope you give us another chance on your next visit to Miami.
Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Brickell / Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

The hotel is only half a block from the Brickell Metromover and Metrorail stations, which makes it very convenient if you want to move around Miami without a car (yes, it is possible!). Metromover is free of charge, by the way. Lots of pleasant restaurants within a short walking distance.
We had a large room (queen studio suite) with two queens and a sofa-bed, which was very comfortable for a family, as were the kitchenette with fridge, coffee maker and microwave. The décor does not really fall in my taste, but it does not bother me for a couple of nights.
The beds were very comfortable (not surprisingly, as the hotel had only been open some weeks).
A good complimentary breakfast was served every morning, a pleasant touch. Internet is also complimentary and effective.The swimming pool is not large, but good enough for the children to have some fun.
Finally, the staff is friendly and helpful.
For the prices they offer, I would definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonBrickell, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for your review. You are absolutely right, with over 70 restaurants, bars, cafes and shopping within walking distance or via the free Metro Mover, you don't need a car during your stay.

I hope to see you and your family back soon!
Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Brickell / Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I have stayed all over Miami and not one of those hotels compares to quality, location, amenities and the friendliness of the staff.

I have already booked my next 2 trips at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonBrickell, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you for the nice review and for selecting our hotel for your next trips. We'll be looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Brickell / Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I stayed at the Hampton Inn & Suites on SW 12th St last week and thought the hotel was great value for money. It's located within approximately two blocks of the Mary Brickell shopping and dining area and within a short walk of the US-1 business district and the Miami metromover monorail system, making it centrally located for business travellers and tourists alike.

The hotel had only been open a month during my stay so the parking garage barriers weren't working correctly but this didn't cause me any problems. The parking garage was very well lit - parking was an absolute bargain for Miami at $18. The elevators are swipe card access-only for guest floors, which I thought was a very good security feature.

The hotel is vibrantly decorated with a modern, relaxed feel. Although there are lots of bright colors it was tastefully decorated and well laid out. Unfortunately, I didn't get to use the gym, so can't comment on the equipment or layout.

The breakfast was included in the price and was satisfactory. There was a selection of hot foods (sausage, eggs, etc), waffles, fresh fruits, yoghurt and coffee. The hot meal on my first morning was luke warm but still edible. The next day the meal was hot .The breakfast staff were attentive and friendly and the eating area was very clean and well laid out. The seating area was a mixture of tables and a breakfast bar, and well spread out.

My suite felt airy and was well lit with natural light, despite being directly over the road from a large apartment building. I kept the net curtains closed for the majority of the time for privacy. The room had a number of nice touches, such as chaise lounge in a corner that doubled up as a sofa. The large screen TV was flat against a wall and folds out to allow you to watch it in bed or from the chaise. The small entry area had a refrigerator and work surface, which was nice to throw keys, phone, paperwork on. I also had a large desk with table lamp to use in the room.

The bathroom had a bath/shower and toilet and plenty of lighting. I noted the bathroom door had rubber stoppers on the moulding to stop the door from making noise when closed - a great touch to stop you from waking up your partner in the middle of the night when nature calls.

The large king-sized bed was very comfortable.

I used the complimentary wireless internet connectivity and found it to be one of the most hassle free I'd used to date. It was fast enough to let me video conference without jerkiness or stuttering.

Following my experience, I intend to make this hotel my regular accomodation when I'm in Miami on business.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonBrickell, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Wow!
This was a complete review! Thank you for noticing everything about us and I hope we can earn a 5 grade from you next time!
Ah! Our Lobby/Pool bar just opened this week.
Cordially,

Eduardo Chapoval, CHA
General Manager
Hampton Inn & Suites - Miami Brickell / Downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown

Address: 50 SW 12th Street, Miami, FL 33130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Miami
#1 Business Hotel in Miami
#1 Family Hotel in Miami
#2 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brickell Elegance - Priced Right.Our boutique style Hampton Inn & Suites® Miami Brickell hotel in Miami Brickell-Downtown area combines urban design, eclectic mix, contemporary art collection, Brickell elegance with the best price for the business and leisure travelers coming to Brickell area. We are located:Within walking distance to Brickell Miami's global financial hub Within 1 to 3 blocks of over 30 of the best restaurants, cafes and bars in the area Shopping and entertainment is within 1 to 3 blocks from our hotel Half-block from our front door, the FREE MetroMover expands our guests’ convenience zone to all of downtown Miami providing easy access to Bayside Marketplace, AmericanAirlines Arena, and Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts The FREE Miami Trolley stops only a couple blocks from us at Mary Brickell Village providing easy access to Bayside Marketplace, American Airlines Arena, and Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts. The MetroRail is also half-block from our front door providing easy access to Dadeland Mall, Coconut Grove, and other parts of the town. The new MetroRail Orange line connects the Miami International Airport MetroRail Station to the Brickell MetroRail Station Less than 5 minutes from the Port of Miami Just 15 minutes from Miami International Airport, Miami Beach, Aventura, Coral Gables, the Dolphin Mall, and the best South Florida Beaches Easy access to major highways: I-95, S.R. 836 (Dolphin Expressway), S.R. 826 (Palmetto Expressway), and Florida Turnpike ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown Hotel Miami
Hampton Inn And Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Miami/Brickell-Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;