We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 120 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sheer luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Of all the hotels I have stayed in across the world, the Mandarin excels in one main area - the friendliness of the staff. There is something almost sinful at watching staff members literally sprint to open doors for you. After three or four days you feel a deep sense of outrage if you actually have to open the main doors yourself!
As for facilities, our room was spacious, the balcony had a superb view over Miami's business district, the bathroom was luxurious (open plan from the bedroom but there is a screen), there are luxurious shampoos etc, the shower was big enough for four, never mind two, the bed was massive, as was the flatscreen TV and we had no complaints whatsoever.
As for the rest of the facilities, the pool area is nice - not great - with a small bar and there is no ambience of people sitting at the bar enjoying a drink when the sun goes down. However there is an extensive good bar snack menu at five star prices and the pool and hottub are fine. The private beach is excellent, attentive staff, superb views, good loungers and cabanas, soft sand, and nice and quiet. Sheer luxury..
This a great hotel in a great location, safe, central, 5 minutes to Bayside and 15 to South Beach. Regarding other moans placed on here - there should be kettles in the rooms but there is free coffee in the mornings in the lobby. Its not cheap, but what do you expect for a five star hotel?
One small point.. we asked the concierge for a jetski recommendation and the firm picked us up and returned us to the hotel for $30 and an hour cost $110. Great.. but with fuel and tax somehow the bill came to more than $200... Beware pirate jetski companies!
We would definetly stay there again....there are cheapoer and more hip but this is luxury at its best!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Dorset
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Room nice - v comfortable bed. Lacking in little touches - no moisturisers etc left in bathroom. Bathrooms a little tired - shower not great - could do with a bit of modernisation. Bar in hotel atrocious more of lobby hatch than a bar! Swimming pool very very small for size of hotel - very disappointing. Staff hit and miss, a couple of really helpful staff, others off-hand and in need of sessions in customer care! Island nice to walk around. Breakfast nice. Expected a little more luxury it is not a patch on hotels in the chain in the Far East.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fivecDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
89 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

We were in Miami for the weekend and had the perfect stay. The room, the view, the restaurants, the pool / fitness room and, most importantly, the service were all excellent. We are planning to go back to Miami, in large part because of the wonderful time we had at this hotel. We thought about staying in Miami Beach but after spending a day there, we were glad to get back to the Mandarian Oriental.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

My family stayed here for our mini get away and we were very pleased. We found each and every staff member to be very helpful and the service from the concierge desk excellent. Our only comment for change would be to not charge guests for internet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michmsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

I wanted to spend a special weekend in Miami for my girlfriends birthday. This hotel really impressed my lady from the friendly staff to the grat decor in the rooms. It was one of the best getaways we've had together!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwcooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

My husband and I came here on honeymoon and our first words were 'wow' when we arrived. Our room was a deluxe and when we arrived they had rose petals on the bed and a lovely handwritten note saying congratulations! there wasn't much of an atmosphere in the bar and there is no other bars very close to just go for a drink but we were shattered from the wedding so we weren't looking a party place. We ate breakfast in the hotel one morning and it cost a fortune for a very simple breakfast! We also ate in AZUL - really lovely meal - i've been to fancy places in the UK but this was obviously where the rich dine. They brought us out a plate of selected biscuits with a congratulations on it which was a nice touch!
I would recommend this hotel if your staying just one or two nights in MIami or your well off and don't care about the prices!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovinnewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2010

Stayed here for a little 3 day 2 night trip to Miami. Our family booked with AMEX so we had the added benefits of a $100 spa credit, $200 resort credit, breakfast for 2 every morning and a 4pm checkout.

We had 6 people so we had to book two rooms.

I thought about booking us on South Beach but with these benefits, I decided to try out this hotel.

It is located on a little island but it is not far away from shopping and restaurants. Bayside Marketplace is about a 5 min drive from here.

We were greeted very nicely by the valet and bellhop. Checking in went smoothly. They showed us to the elevators.

Pros: Rooms were what you'd expect from the Mandarin Oriental. We were upgraded to a Deluxe Skyline view and were able to see the city and the bay! Amazing view! There is a table and two chairs out there for those who want to sit there and enjoy the view. Could see the pool and the little beach from our balcony.

Had breakfast at Cafe Sambul the next morning. Very delicious breakfast! We bypassed the all you can eat continental breakfast and ordered something off the menu. Prices are not cheap though. My mixed berry juice was $6. That morning we had 5 and our bill was about $135 total including service charge. I wouldn't normally pay this much for breakfast but we had the free breakfast credit and the resort credit to use.

I really like the lobby. They burn incense inside so there is a light smell. I loved it though.

Cons: There were somethings I didn't like however but it didn't ruin my overall experience.

In the room, the bathroom and the main room are open. Meaning you can totally see in. However there is a blind you can pull down for some privacy. However that doesn't mean you can't hear what's going on. I'm sure it's fine for couples and families but if you're not too comfy with your roommate, it might be weird.

In the room we were provided with one umbrella. We had two rooms so we had two umbrellas. However we had six people total. One day we went out and it was raining. We just needed one more umbrella and would just have two people per umbrella.

We went to the front desk to ask and the lady said we were only allowed one umbrella per room and could not give another!!! Unbelievable. The rooms are $500+ a night and we just asked for an extra umbrella to borrow for the day. Surely they can afford umbrellas. I was disappointed. This class of hotel seems to go out if its way for the guests but in this instance, I don't understand what's the big deal with just one more umbrella.

Also like many have said on here, it's crazy to charge $15 for Wifi when the rooms and everything else inside the hotel costs so much. Valet parking is $34 per day for example. Budget hotels give away free Wifi. Don't understand why the expensive hotels need to charge when they're already making a lot of money from other areas. We never used the Wifi.

Overall, our stay was nice. We slept well every night. Staff was friendly. Didn't get a chance to enjoy the spa. Food tasted nice even though it is pricey. Luckily we had the resort credit.

Would I stay here again? If I'm just going with my girlfriend, we would look somewhere else cause of the price. But because my mom went and a family friend from overseas, sp we stayed somewhere nicer.

But if you're looking to stay at a fine hotel and are willing to spend the money, you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bhsu21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami
Downtown
Four Seasons Hotel Miami
Downtown
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton - Miami/Brickell-Downtown
Coconut Grove
InterContinental Miami
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
JW Marriott Marquis Miami
Downtown
EPIC Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Hotel Beaux Arts Miami
#4 of 120 in Miami
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Miami
#2 Spa Hotel in Miami
#4 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#4 Family Hotel in Miami
#4 Romantic Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Amex, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing