We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sheer luxury” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 129 hotels in Miami
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sheer luxury”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Of all the hotels I have stayed in across the world, the Mandarin excels in one main area - the friendliness of the staff. There is something almost sinful at watching staff members literally sprint to open doors for you. After three or four days you feel a deep sense of outrage if you actually have to open the main doors yourself!
As for facilities, our room was spacious, the balcony had a superb view over Miami's business district, the bathroom was luxurious (open plan from the bedroom but there is a screen), there are luxurious shampoos etc, the shower was big enough for four, never mind two, the bed was massive, as was the flatscreen TV and we had no complaints whatsoever.
As for the rest of the facilities, the pool area is nice - not great - with a small bar and there is no ambience of people sitting at the bar enjoying a drink when the sun goes down. However there is an extensive good bar snack menu at five star prices and the pool and hottub are fine. The private beach is excellent, attentive staff, superb views, good loungers and cabanas, soft sand, and nice and quiet. Sheer luxury..
This a great hotel in a great location, safe, central, 5 minutes to Bayside and 15 to South Beach. Regarding other moans placed on here - there should be kettles in the rooms but there is free coffee in the mornings in the lobby. Its not cheap, but what do you expect for a five star hotel?
One small point.. we asked the concierge for a jetski recommendation and the firm picked us up and returned us to the hotel for $30 and an hour cost $110. Great.. but with fuel and tax somehow the bill came to more than $200... Beware pirate jetski companies!
We would definetly stay there again....there are cheapoer and more hip but this is luxury at its best!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    714
    230
    86
    38
    36
See reviews for
161
429
67
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2010

Room nice - v comfortable bed. Lacking in little touches - no moisturisers etc left in bathroom. Bathrooms a little tired - shower not great - could do with a bit of modernisation. Bar in hotel atrocious more of lobby hatch than a bar! Swimming pool very very small for size of hotel - very disappointing. Staff hit and miss, a couple of really helpful staff, others off-hand and in need of sessions in customer care! Island nice to walk around. Breakfast nice. Expected a little more luxury it is not a patch on hotels in the chain in the Far East.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

We were in Miami for the weekend and had the perfect stay. The room, the view, the restaurants, the pool / fitness room and, most importantly, the service were all excellent. We are planning to go back to Miami, in large part because of the wonderful time we had at this hotel. We thought about staying in Miami Beach but after spending a day there, we were glad to get back to the Mandarian Oriental.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

My family stayed here for our mini get away and we were very pleased. We found each and every staff member to be very helpful and the service from the concierge desk excellent. Our only comment for change would be to not charge guests for internet.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

I wanted to spend a special weekend in Miami for my girlfriends birthday. This hotel really impressed my lady from the friendly staff to the grat decor in the rooms. It was one of the best getaways we've had together!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

My husband and I came here on honeymoon and our first words were 'wow' when we arrived. Our room was a deluxe and when we arrived they had rose petals on the bed and a lovely handwritten note saying congratulations! there wasn't much of an atmosphere in the bar and there is no other bars very close to just go for a drink but we were shattered from the wedding so we weren't looking a party place. We ate breakfast in the hotel one morning and it cost a fortune for a very simple breakfast! We also ate in AZUL - really lovely meal - i've been to fancy places in the UK but this was obviously where the rich dine. They brought us out a plate of selected biscuits with a congratulations on it which was a nice touch!
I would recommend this hotel if your staying just one or two nights in MIami or your well off and don't care about the prices!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Stayed here for a little 3 day 2 night trip to Miami. Our family booked with AMEX so we had the added benefits of a $100 spa credit, $200 resort credit, breakfast for 2 every morning and a 4pm checkout.

We had 6 people so we had to book two rooms.

I thought about booking us on South Beach but with these benefits, I decided to try out this hotel.

It is located on a little island but it is not far away from shopping and restaurants. Bayside Marketplace is about a 5 min drive from here.

We were greeted very nicely by the valet and bellhop. Checking in went smoothly. They showed us to the elevators.

Pros: Rooms were what you'd expect from the Mandarin Oriental. We were upgraded to a Deluxe Skyline view and were able to see the city and the bay! Amazing view! There is a table and two chairs out there for those who want to sit there and enjoy the view. Could see the pool and the little beach from our balcony.

Had breakfast at Cafe Sambul the next morning. Very delicious breakfast! We bypassed the all you can eat continental breakfast and ordered something off the menu. Prices are not cheap though. My mixed berry juice was $6. That morning we had 5 and our bill was about $135 total including service charge. I wouldn't normally pay this much for breakfast but we had the free breakfast credit and the resort credit to use.

I really like the lobby. They burn incense inside so there is a light smell. I loved it though.

Cons: There were somethings I didn't like however but it didn't ruin my overall experience.

In the room, the bathroom and the main room are open. Meaning you can totally see in. However there is a blind you can pull down for some privacy. However that doesn't mean you can't hear what's going on. I'm sure it's fine for couples and families but if you're not too comfy with your roommate, it might be weird.

In the room we were provided with one umbrella. We had two rooms so we had two umbrellas. However we had six people total. One day we went out and it was raining. We just needed one more umbrella and would just have two people per umbrella.

We went to the front desk to ask and the lady said we were only allowed one umbrella per room and could not give another!!! Unbelievable. The rooms are $500+ a night and we just asked for an extra umbrella to borrow for the day. Surely they can afford umbrellas. I was disappointed. This class of hotel seems to go out if its way for the guests but in this instance, I don't understand what's the big deal with just one more umbrella.

Also like many have said on here, it's crazy to charge $15 for Wifi when the rooms and everything else inside the hotel costs so much. Valet parking is $34 per day for example. Budget hotels give away free Wifi. Don't understand why the expensive hotels need to charge when they're already making a lot of money from other areas. We never used the Wifi.

Overall, our stay was nice. We slept well every night. Staff was friendly. Didn't get a chance to enjoy the spa. Food tasted nice even though it is pricey. Luckily we had the resort credit.

Would I stay here again? If I'm just going with my girlfriend, we would look somewhere else cause of the price. But because my mom went and a family friend from overseas, sp we stayed somewhere nicer.

But if you're looking to stay at a fine hotel and are willing to spend the money, you will enjoy your stay here.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#15 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.