We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 111 Hotels in Miami
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bruxelles
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2010

For our third year in a row visiting Miami we wanted to live the downtown experience. The Mandarin Oriental was the perfect location. without asking, we were upgraded to a Junior suite room 909 with one of the largest wraparound balcony, ideal for in room dining. The staff is wonderful, the rooms and amenities are perfectly clean and the Spa is great! The breakfast location is a bit windy and noisy and the lobby need refurbishment as it looks like an airport with a very small bar at the end. On the other side of the lobby you will find the best restaurant in Miami. "Azul" is absolutely a real fine dining experience, if I was Mr Michelin I would immediately offer 2 beautiful stars for the excellence of staff and for the explosion of flavors! Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    935
    283
    108
    46
    42
See reviews for
207
549
76
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2010

The hotel is located on Brickell Key and faces Miami. It is perfect if you want to be removed from the busy areas of South Beach but still only a short drive to either the city (just across the bridge) or to Miami Beach itself - 10-15 minutes away. The room was spacious and quiet (we were fortunate to get an upgrade) . There is a fairly large exercise room (no stairclimber), with several treadmills and resistance equipment. We used the spa and pool area - .. wonderful massage, .. both very relaxing. A comment on charges which make an expensive stay even more so - daily WiFi, overnight parking, and morning coffee .. One morning (9 AM), we went to work out at the gym , asked for two cups of coffee and said we'd be back shortly to have breakfast (which would include unlimited coffee) - they said the free coffee service ended at 8:30 AM, so we were charged $9.50 for the coffee -- low class . Otherwise, the miscellaneous rates are pretty standard (i.e. expensive) for the area - for eg.$35/overnight parking. The staff were friendly and very helpful. Would recommend staying if you want a quiet relaxing oasis.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

We stayed in this lovely hotel for 2 nights and we have been totaly satisfied with our stay. We had a very warm welcome by the stuff and given essential information that we needed during our stay. Without any exception, all the hotel staff were very friendly and so warm not to only us but every guest in the hotel. Our room was large enough and very comfortable. We can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
218 helpful votes 218 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

Although this hotel sits on a tiny island and does not have beach access, it is a spectacular hotel in many ways. We spent two nights in a beautiful room with a great city and water view. Every thing was 5 star all the way. Staff is probably the best I have ever encountered in the U.S.
All were extremely helpful and kind with out being over the top and in your face. The concierge, bellmen, front desk, room service, wait staff, and spa clerks were all there to serve in the highest way possible. Room set up and amenities were wonderful. Every thing was clean as can be. You never once on any floor saw house keeping and it is amazing because the hotel was full and they cleaned 2 times a day. The food was fabulous in every restaurant and the drinks were top notch. My spa treatments were some of the best I have ever had. Nothing fancy or over the top in this spa but wonderful quality. My husband said he had someone who seemed new for his session and his treatment was just so so. Oh well, it was my turn this time! It is a nice walk over the bridge to the area called Brikell. We ate at a wonderful local restaurant, the name I forget, but it was just a short nice walk and amazing food. The gym was spacious and had all the equipment you could desire. The pool was tiny and didn't have too much atmosphere. (this is probably my only complaint.) They had lounge chairs with imported sand at one edge of the island but there was no water to go in at this area. This hotel is not a trendy hot spot like some may want in Miami but it is truly a wonderful place to chill, be served and be quiet. We loved it.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Checked in on Friday morning (2/19) early and the junior executive suite I reserved was available. I asked for an upgrade (AMEX program) but the clerk kept saying" we have you in the room you reserved". I asked 3x. Oh well. The room was beautiful and large with a nice terrace overlooking the key. The bathroom is open to the bedroom but you can close a blind for privacy. I do not like this new trend of open bathrooms. There is a seperate shower from the tub and a private toilet. Nice touch. The room was spotless and very quiet. Bed very comfortable. My 2 complaints: 1 the charge for internet access. 15/day or 35 for 3. For 700/night they should provide wi-fi. 2. Overnight parking is 34/night, but hey it is Miami Beach.
The pool area is lovely but not large. Not a pool for lap swimmers.If you are there on a sunny/warm weekend I would go down early and reserve a seat. They have very eager pool staff who immediately approach you to set up your towels and offer advice on the best area for sun or shade. They do allow you to save seats. I got there at 9:00 am and was one of the first, but the attendant told me 6 other people had saved chairs and then went off to breakfast. They did not come back until around noon, by which time every chair was taken. They constantly come around offering ice water/suntan lotion/fresh fruit kabobs. A very nice touch. You can eat right at the pool in your chair or there is a small area to eat right off the pool. The beach is lovely, (no water access). They have large king sized beds you can lay on and relax along with hammocks. The beach area was not crowded so if the pool area is too busy check out the beach. They serve drinks and food there as well. They are very accomadating. I would go back!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

Myself and my family stayed at the above hotel for a couple of nights post cruise and found the hotel to be nice, but not spectacular.
Staff seemed attentive and we were able to get into our room straight away, which was appreciated as we arrived there mid-morning. However, upon arrival in our room we had to complain due to noise coming from next doors sound system, which was booming through our room. The rooms seemed very poorly insulated for sound, this was sorted out after 10 or so minutes and a visit to the protagonists from security.
The breakfasts were reasonable,but I prefer freshly cooked eggs and there was no one preparing these on the buffet, which was disappointing for a hotel of this level, as was the poor seating arrangement inside the restaurant, it was quite chilly and there was little space available inside.
The hotel was also quite noisy at night unusual for a Mandarin, I don't think I would stay here again for the price our pre cruise stay at the Fairmont Turnberry Isle resort was far,far better than this and peaceful.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

Attended a conference with my husband and our teenage son. We had a great stay and found a cute little neighborhood sandwich/grocery shop within walking distance. As others have mentioned the beach is unusual since it doesn't provide access to the water but it is very pretty. We had the pool all to ourselves which was luxious.

My only complaint was the Internet access. It seems the more you pay for a room - the more they expect you to pay for the extras. I was totally shocked that they wanted to charge for wifi in the lobby after we had already paid for it in our room. They promised there policy was going to be revamped ... but a recent check only reflected free Internet with some rates such as Business.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiBest, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, March 9, 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments. I would like to address your concern regarding charges for Internet. Mandarin Oriental recognizes the value of providing high quality internet services, and as such we continue to invest regularly in building the backbone and infrastructure which allows us to provide this. Some hotels do offer free internet access, but the service they offer is very limited (low bandwidth, lack of security, poor signal) which we understand would be unacceptable in a luxury hotel. The internet is more than communications to our guests – whether they are using it to bank online, check investments, book travel, check their security cameras at home, place calls, download music and information, or simply to send e-mails, we assure you that we will continue to invest in this technology to offer our guests the quality of service with the performance and security that you would expect of Mandarin. It is an important service offering that we consider of value to those that use it.

We do appreciate that not all of our guests will take advantage of the many services that the internet can provide. We are therefore also looking at solutions for guests who simply wish to write a short e-mail or check on an airline ticket. In addition, the charges for Internet use are on a one time basis.

Thank you again for your comments and we appreciate your loyalty to Mandarin Oriental Hotels.

Sincerely,
Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Miami
#3 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#3 Spa Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#13 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.