We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plush, if you fancy it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #8 of 129 hotels in Miami
Cardiff
1 review
“Plush, if you fancy it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

I stayed in the Mandarin for more of a stop over period of 4 days. It was in November and as it was Florida, the weather was great. The hotel is based on Brickell key looking into Miami, as you would imagine the hotel is very plush with exotic bars, resturants and a man made beach. On the Friday night we arrived the reception area was full of large private cars and beautiful people, there was a party on the man made beach. I'm not sure if this was a one-off, if it wasn't you need to be at this party, it was amazing. Our room was on the 7th floor with an amazing view and furnised very extravagantly as your would expect.

We headed out to South Beach on Saturday night, the concierge at the Mandarin was very helpful with his knowledge, advise and contacts! I don't have any faults with the hotel itself other than the distance from South Beach itself, but I do suspect that if you wanted to stay in Miami and weren't in need of an over extravagant hotel then you might consider staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    730
    234
    88
    40
    36
See reviews for
170
435
67
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

Stayed for a long weekend & had a wonderful time. The hotel is beautifully done (elegantly simple with an Asian twist) & the rooms are incredibly inviting. Had a room with a city view, which was perfect. You get a water view, as well as nightime skyline; loved sitting out on the nicely sized balcony (even in the August heat).

Service was good, but a little spotty (it could have been the weekend crew, valet service seemed appreciably better on Monday morning). Housekeeping was spotless & invisible. Restaurant (only ate in cafe 3x) & poolside service was a little slow. Nothing was bad, but didn't seem quite up to the 5* level you expect from top-end hotels.

The location is both an asset and detriment. Its placement on an island off of downtown provides great views & virtually no noise. the downside is that you have to drive everywhere & there are no restaurants or shops within walking distance (you are essentially forced to eat there for a light meal, snack or breakfast). HOwever, I was happy not to have to deal with the noisy, drunken masses of South Beach & more than willing to make the 15 minute drive when I wanted more excitement.

The pool (& poolside sushi bar) were great. Not too crowded, though I don't know if that would be the case in peak season. I agree that the beach area is a little forlorn & appears slightly neglected. It is apparent that they created an artifical beach; I didn't use it at all.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay & would absolutely return.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I stayed at the Mandarin Oriental Miami with my wife as the second of three legs to my honeymoon. The service from beginning to end, from the bellman to check in staff to room service staff were all amazing! The room service was great, awesome food and great service. The pool is of an average size, but has quite a few pool lounge chairs available to use. The private beach is amazing, white sand, great view with beach beds that they setup for you! The only disappointment in regards to the beach is that there isn't any access to swim in the ocean. Other than that, everything is amazing, the rooms are immaculate and spacious. When we checked in they gave us a complimentary upgrade. Also, during our stay they delivered chocolate covered strawberries and spread rose petals over our bed and bath. Overall the experience at the Mandarin Oriental Miami was amazing! One warning however, if you are looking for a hotel on South Beach, this is not on South Beach. I would recommend a stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We chose the Mandarin Oriental for its reputation as one of the best hotels in Miami. We were, however, sadly dissapointed. The hotel did not live up to expectations. Whilst the service and food was good. The pool is tiny with only a few sun beds, there is no beach (unlike the pictures on the website which are incredibly misleading, it surprises me they have not had any consumer related action in that respect), they charge $36 a day to park your car, and it is miles from South Beach. We made an error in the location and that was our fault - we would have been much happier on South Beach, but, nonetheless, the hotel is not a 5* one it professes to be. I would not return to the Manadrin Oriental and would not recommend it to people going on HOLIDAY to Miami. It's a business hotel and nothing more.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MiamiBest, Management at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, August 19, 2009
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. We sincerely apologize that your visit did not meet your expectations and that you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel. Although, we are not located in the heart of South Beach, we pride ourselves on being a private island oasis away from the high energy of the beach area with a Five-Star Spa and excellent restaurants. The tranquility and surroundings of our pool and beach, although not ample in space, provide a quiet escape for guests trying to get away from the crowded South Beach environment. With regards to parking, due to the limited space available for parking facilities in the area, we do need to charge a fee for overnight stays. Most Miami hotels experience the same situation and charge rates equivalent or higher to ours.

I apologize again that your stay was not an enjoyable experience.

Sincerely,
Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdowne, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

Spent three (3) nights at this hotel. Valet is flawless, as entrance is relatively small, so eye contact is easy. As one would expect, the lobby and common areas are Caribbean mixed with Asian flair. Very clean, crisp colors and sight lines—very relaxing. Check-in is sort of a scavenger hunt (to the left), but not ridiculously so.

Rooms are the best I have been lucky enough to sleep in. Cream and brown throughout with an all-marble bathroom with separate shower and water closet. Sleeping quarters and bath are not really separate rooms, but I actually liked the design (think a large pass-through). Balconies are a great place to relax and it is hard to imagine a bad view—either the City of Miami (Brickell Financial District to immediate west, downtown to the north), the Port of Miami/Miami Beach (due north), or the Atlantic Ocean (due east and south). Turndown service is a sight for tired eyes and does those little things such as turn on soft, relaxing music. Asked for small space in honor bar for personal snacks and housekeeping obliged.

As for the hotel grounds, they are beautiful to look at. The problem for us was what to do. The pool sure cost a lot to build and is visually impressive, but is it small and in an odd spot. Drink service at pool was bad. There is a small (fake) beach at the tip of the hotel, but with a seawall at the end, you cannot swim—making it more of a “night” spot than a “day” spot. Service at beach was almost non-existent. There is not a whole lot more to the property, as it sits on tightly packed (and security gated) Brickell Key. Ate at Azul, which was great, but not memorable (given the tab).

If you stay here, you had better be comfortable navigating the City of Miami. Coconut Grove, downtown, Miami Beach, and Key Biscayne are all right there, but navigation is like any other big city—requires some thinking before calling for the car.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2009

That was our first stay in Mandarin Oriental Hotel. We stayed for 10 days and during that time everything was great.
The rooms are very comfortable and very well equipped ( LCD, Hi-Fi...).
The room were cleaned twice a day so they ware very clean. Bathroom was clean so everything was as it should be.
The stuff is very friendly and helpful. They were nice all the time with smile on there faces, each single time you look at them.
The downside of this Hotel in my eyes are only the prices. We had dinner in Hotel restaurant and we had some Thai food with 2 glasses of red wine.
We payed something over 100$ for that and in my opinion that is too over priced.
Prices are also high when you order a drink in hotel bar. But in Hotel like that what should I await.
Only big minus are parkings, because they offer only valet parking which is not cheap. Its great that every time you go from Hotel there is your car waiting, but I payed more for parking the car in Hotel as I gave for complete rental the car :(
Overall the Hotel and Stuff is great and i would recommend this hotel to everyone that would like to have a good time and have some taste of luxury.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

If you want to be pampered, it's worth it. The facilities were great! the pool, beach, Spa/Gym restaurants. We enjoyed it all. But dont' expect it to be cheap. We had a nice dinner w/drinks at it was about $160 for two. a small pot of coffee in the room as $12.00 before tip. But the service, rooms, view. overall attitude was very nice. If you want to enjoy the time you spend, they will take care of you. I think in a 2 hour period. My girlfriend and I used about 6 towels between going to the beach and having them make up the beds, then going to the pool. and the gym before hand. Bring you credit card and relax!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.