We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Luxury, lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“True Luxury, lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fantastic location on Brickell Key downtown, beautiful property, modern, well designed facilities. Service was outstanding, from the valet parking, front desk, all the way through housekeeping.

The place has a wonderful peaceful atmosphere, with great attention to detail in both the rooms and service. Mandarin Oriental is a trusted luxury brand that always delivers with a subtle Asian vibe. Beautiful views from the rooms, luxury appointments, and the Peruvian restaurant was excellent.

I'd give it the highest recommendation, it was perfect for my needs.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    752
    242
    90
    40
    37
See reviews for
177
448
68
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate, N.Y.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ended up at the Mandarin by chance. Started out in Grand Cayman and the weather there was "pre-hurricane" season . . . meh! We were looking for sunshine and good tanning weather. We hopped a quick flight into Miami and ended up in a great suite that was "stay two nights and get the third free". So we stayed three nights!!! Lovely room, great views from our balcony, excellent service at the pool.
Cons: no waxing/hair removal services at their spa (???) and too many birds dive bombing us at the pool - but I guess that's to be expected.
Pros: Brickel Key was sweet, the walking path around the perimeter was great for a morning jog and everyone at the hotel was super friendly. We got to watch dolphins swimming each morning outside from our balcony. Complimentary coffee in the lobby ends relatively early though, and then you're paying $6 a cup . . . .

Room Tip: the higher up the better. One side of the building faces the pool and can get loud, but the other s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
280 helpful votes 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the third time I have stayed at this hotel. I have enjoyed it every time, but also always seem to leave feeling as if something was missing. Can't quite put my finger on it, but I do know that I expect more for the price paid.

The Good:
+Love the 'private island' that the property sits on
+Great gym facilities and running trail
+Pool temperature is fantastic
+Comfortable bed and nice sized bathroom
+Friendly staff
+Breakfast buffet is awesome

The OK:
+Service, while overall good, not at level I'd expect for property (think property is too large for staffing level). Pool staff should be making the rounds more regularly, etc.
+Luxury hotel = high prices for EVERY possible auxiliary service. Nothing new here, but if you are going to charge $$$ for everything, I expect commensurate service, which is why I am marking them for this
+Valet parking at night can get jammed due to other property visitors

As I said above, can't really complain, and would stay again, but do wish they would dot the i's and cross the t's more to really make this feel 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Mandarin Oriental are one of the world's premium Hotel brands so expectations are set to 'high' before you arrive, particularly if you've sampled some of their Asian properties previously. There is much to commend about their Miami property; the rooms and bathrooms are of an extremely high standard, the 'beach' (no water access from the peninsular but sand under foot) is pleasant enough (but prepare for some hilarious interactions with fearless Iguanas if you have any food down there) as was the pool area and the Peruvian Restaurant (La Mar) is excellent. There were however a few things that let it down.

The Service was a little mixed - from the excellent (Housekeeping, Front Desk and the Front Door team) to the frankly rather poor. I would single out the Bar staff at MO for being particularly inept one evening when they didn't seem especially busy and had little excuse. Example. Not acknowledging when we sat down at a table, placing an order for two cocktails (at the bar) with a member of staff coming back 10 minutes later saying they were missing an ingredient for one of them, choosing an alternative but then getting presented with a bill for all three? An accumulation of easily avoidable errors and there were plenty of staff that just didn't seem to be functioning well together - not what you would expect from a MO property at all.

Other irritants? In no particular order; no price list for the mini bar in the room - not a biggie. The SPA not opening before 09:00 for treatments (my wife was looking forward to one) - a lost opportunity. Being told that lunch menus were available from 11:00 (by both the Concierge Desk and hotels own website) when it's actually 11:30 - quite important when you want to grab a bite before heading to the airport at Noon. Finally this hotel has, without doubt, the most irritating lifts I have ever ridden in, anywhere on Planet Earth. They bleep and chirp incessantly as they move up and down the building serving no purpose other than making you wish you could choke the clown who designed them and move to a lower floor where you could take the stairs. Bemused glances exchanged with fellow guests and apologies from staff when they happened to be riding in them too suggest it's time to get the maintenance team to start cutting some wires....

Probably worth a final word on the location at Brickell Key. It's probably suited more to business travellers than tourists - those who want to spend time around Miami Beach anyway ($25-$30 each way taxi ride) - but there are some advantages to being 'Downtown' - not least some great Restaurants including 'La Mar' at the MO itself and 'Zuma' which is a 10/15 minute stroll away and is evidently one of the hottest tables (and Bars) in town.

In summary, while the Miami MO has quite a lot going for it, it fell a bit short in a few areas - at least from our perspective - and having stayed in their flawless Tokyo property last May (and their KL property a few years earlier too) there's quite a gap, based on this experience anyway, between the properties in Asia and what you'll find in Florida. A little disappointed.

Room Tip: Higher floors mean better views but more time in those darn lifts! ;-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Mandarin in Miami is probably one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. Here is the summary

- The stuff is super-friendly. I was given a free upgrade without even asking for it.

- The room is superb. The quality of mattresses is perfect, you fell asleep in no time. The service is great, in one word everything is great. One thing was especially great - the view on the harbor. I could spent hours just sitting on the terrace and staring into the ocean

- Everything what was recommended by the concierge was a 100% match to my expectations.

- This hotel is especially great for romantic trip

- The dining is great as well. Especially the Peruvian restaurant.

Definitely will return again. Thanks to the hotel management for pleasant memories

Room Tip: Do not ask for the room with the view. You won't leave the hotel in this case and you will spend...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For full disclosure, this is NOT a cheap hotel to stay at, but no Mandarin in the world is: and I like it that way. What you get for its high price is IMPECCABLE service, top notch food, and all the things you’d expect for a 5 star hotel. The property is valet only, much like most of the hotel in downtown Miami, and you’ll constantly see Bugatti’s, Bentley’s, and Rolls Royce’s parked out front. Seeing high ranking or well-known individuals walking through the lobby is a regular occurrence. I’ve stayed multiple times, in multiple type of rooms, but my favorite by far was the Dynasty Suite. Nice sized living room, with a separate bedroom. The bathrooms in this hotel are gorgeous, and the bedding is something straight out of heaven. The hotel has a very nice infinity pool with Brickell condos and the bellies of airlines taking off overlooking it. Something else they have that is a welcomed treat is their private beach! Though you can’t go for a swim, the sand is still as clean and soft as any you’d find on South Beach. That’s not to say there aren’t SOME down sides. Paying 900$ a night for a suite, I shouldn’t have to pay for WiFi. That was a tad annoying. And the pool closes at night, so no 2am dips with your lady. I have been to both restaurants on site, but they recently re-did the Café. Haven’t had the chance to eat there yet. However Azul has to be the best restaurant in Miami. Go and see what I mean. Overall, whenever I find out I am going to Miami for something, I check the rates of this hotel first: NO questions asked. Book it, you’ll be glad you did.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 3 great nights. Perfect location, we preferred the surrounding area compared to Miami beach / Lincoln Road area (cooler bars, excellent places to eat, not so pretentious). Had a room on the 18th floor with a great view over the bay. Infinity pool and second to none service from all staff. Our best nights in Miami were ordering room service to the room and enjoying the view, and going down to the hotel bar for cocktails before eating at the excellent Peruvian restaurant below. If it's a little slice of luxury wanted this is the place!

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#16 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Venere, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;