We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FAN tastic stay! Excellent hotel with really attentive staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bookmark
You added Mandarin Oriental, Miami to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, Miami
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131 (Downtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #9 of 129 Hotels in Miami
Westhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“FAN tastic stay! Excellent hotel with really attentive staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed for 6 nights in lovely bay view room, which had a quirky semi-open plan bathroom - which could be screened by a blind. Allows you to soak in the large bathtub, and at the same time look out at the bay. Great! This is the first 5 star hotel we have stayed at in the US where the staff are ALL so attentive and it is clear that the hotel is being run along quality Far-East principles, where staff are trained to be helpful and polite. Concierge Paola was a gem, and is a great asset to the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble, and all of her helpful advice about transport, where to eat etc was spot on. Well done. Breakfast servers were also great, and even if the next day we were not at their tables, they still asked us how we were getting on. We would go back in a flash!

Room Tip: Bay view rooms have super views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    788
    249
    95
    42
    37
See reviews for
184
469
70
245
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I have to start by saying that I love Mandarin Oriental hotels. In Miami their property is not an exception, this is Indeed an excellent hotel. Great location, grandeur lobby, first class facilities and Spa, generous sized rooms for what one normally finds in USA and attentive service. The private pool and beach are is wonderful. As well one is just steps away from all the happenings in Miami. This is an expensive hotel but it is possible to find some great deals especially during the low season of summer. I will not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone if you have experience the Mandarin Oriental concept before you will not be disappointed here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

I have always wanted to try the Mandarin Oriental. It was all of that and then some! I had a wonderful time. Great location and overall experience. Take time to walk across the bridge for some great restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

As expected the service was top-notch. The valet says they'll retrieve your car in 5 minutes and they really do (though at $36/ night you'd expect that I suppose- but normally at other properties there is a 10-20 minute wait.)
Rooms are nice though could do with a refresh- like the rest of the hotel. Nice, but could do with a refresh. Nice products in the bathroom from Shanghai Tang.
Balcony was appreciated but very small- but better than nothing.
Pool was quite small for a hotel of this size. Faux beach was cute but its no South Beach though appreciate the effort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. Your constructive comments are very important to us. I am pleased to learn your overall stay was enjoyable.

We focus on maintaining and updating the guest room furnishings and decor while ensuring total comfort for all of our guests and do take your comments into consideration.

Although we are not located in South Beach, we pride ourselves on being a private island oasis away from the high energy of the beach area with a Five-Star Spa and excellent restaurants. The tranquility and surroundings of our pool and beach, although intimate, provide a quiet respite for guests trying to get away from other crowded areas of the city.

Thank you again for your comments. We hope you will afford us another opportunity with a return visit in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We booked a Deluxe Skyline View Room, which according to the room description on the website should have had a "spacious balcony". The room they offered had a balcony one hardly could stand on, so we asked them for a different room.
Unfortunately all other rooms of that type with the spacious balconies had already been taken, except one we could have waited for to be ready in about an hour.
We refused and they upgraded us to a Deluxe Bay View Room, which is basically the same type, but with a view towards exciting Rickenbacker Causeway and Biscayne Bay.
There went our full view of Miami's skyline, the reason why we booked this hotel.
Because of the roomchange our luggage didn't arrive in time and we had to call reception twice to get this finally arranged.

In the room we found cushions stored behind the window curtain and the icebox was still full with a bag of water from former guests.
Nothing you'd expect at a five star location.
Not to mention the awfully loud and not very good revival band who were playing smashing disco hits of the 70s at the private beach that evening.
Nothing you want to listen to while enjoying the "secluded private island setting", probably the reason why there was almost noone at the beach.

Later at night we ordered dinner from room service, which we found overpriced for just being ok. Besides that the bottle of white wine we ordered came without a cooler, but we could have grabbed the ice ourselves, couldn't we?

Be aware that Wifi is not included in the roomrate and if you arrive by car, the only option is using the hotel's expensive valet parking service. At least these guys know how to do their job.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOResponse, General Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Miami, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Mandarin Oriental, Miami on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your constructive comments and feedback.

I sincerely apologize that the experience you had at the hotel was not up to the standards we strive to provide to all our guests. I will address each of your detailed points with the pertinent departments. Please understand that providing excellent service that is gracious, personalized and attentive is our top priority and we continue to train our team of dedicated colleagues on a daily basis.

I would like to inform you that guests who book their reservations on mandarinoriental.com and create a profile receive complimentary internet access during their stay.

I apologize again for the inconveniences and hope you will give us another opportunity.

Sincerely,

Jorge Gonzalez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I am going to make this brief. Everything about my stay was 5 stars, from the room to the staff to the superb cuisine in Azul and La Mer. I complained about the charge for wifi but shame on me for not doing a profile ahead of time. If you don't care about the crazy, trendy, late night scene in SoBe, this is the only place to be. Bar none. One of the best hotel experiences ever.

Room Tip: city views and bay views are both good. I had a room that had both.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I was there with 2 of my friends for a weekend getaway.... The room was spacious and clean.... Great service by the staffs... The restaurant that served fusion Peruvian food was impeccable... The GM Mr Rodney Bailey was very gracious and hospitable.... Everyone there was friendly and courteous .... Much better in my opinion than the Ritz Carlton or the Four Seasons Hotel.... I m a Diamond Medallion Traveller with Delta and I m very impressed with this hotel and it's staffs

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Miami

Address: 500 Brickell Key Drive, Miami, FL 33131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Miami
#6 Luxury Hotel in Miami
#6 Romantic Hotel in Miami
#6 Spa Hotel in Miami
#17 Family Hotel in Miami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Miami 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary in design and with a prominent waterfront location, the luxurious Mandarin Oriental, Miami features 326 elegant guest rooms and suites - offering dramatic views of the bay and the Miami skyline. Amenities include signature restaurants Azul and La Mar by Gaston Acurio, MO Bar + Lounge - a dynamic cocktail lounge, an award-winning tri-level spa, Oasis Beach Club, the luxury boutique Shanghai Tang and extensive meeting and business facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Mandarin Oriental, TripOnline SA, Otel, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Miami Hotel Miami
Mandarin Oriental Hotel Miami
Mandarin Miami
Miami Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.